We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here during our first visit to Bristol for the spring race. I originally made the reservation because they were the only hotel not charging $300 a night for that weekend. Do understand that this WAS race weekend so the rates were pretty high but I was pleasantly surprised at the high quality. The front of the building is really nice and the grounds are well kept. They are in the same parking lot as the Holiday Inn Express, and there is a Wendy's and a Huddle House within walking distance. It's right off the highway so it's easy to see. The front desk guy was great- very friendly and efficient! (Sorry I don't remember his name right now) The lobby was very welcoming- there is a decent size flat screen TV and coffee and fruit laid out.

We arrived pretty late at night after a long road trip and I was exhausted so I just wanted to get to the room, take a shower, and get ready for the next day. There is a fridge and microwave in the room, as well as a coffee maker so we had somewhere to keep our beer cold! If we are only staying in a hotel for 1 or 2 nights we don't usually ask for maid service but they did leave a note on the door telling us that if we needed anything (towels, etc.) to come to the desk and ask for them. The room was clean but I did notice a little bit of water damage on the wallpaper- no big deal (and I am usually pretty picky). The bed was HUGE and super comfy! The pillows could have been a bit bigger and firmer though.

Breakfast was better than continental. They had eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits and sausage gravy, and waffles. There was also cereal and the usual continental breakfast fare. It was good and saved us money since we didn't have to eat out.

Overall it was a great visit and I liked it so much I decided to stay there on my next trip. It will be a little sooner than I thought...if you are coming from MD down 81, be VERY CAREFUL of your speed. Got busted about 3 miles from the exit for the hotel...be aware that anything over 80 is considered reckless driving and they WILL pull you over and give you a summons to appear in court!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that have french doors between the sleep sofa and the beds so if you have kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaritachick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest,

I would first like to apologize for your speeding ticket. No one wants to be pulled over. But, I would also like to thank you for your review. Race weekend can be a little hectic at times, but we do try to make your stay with us pleasant. Our breakfast does have more than the usual items that other chains offer. We do have microwaves and fridges in all our rooms and most of our guests do like the option of having those appliances. Our pillows are purchased according to Choice Hotel guidelines, but we may even change those at some point. We love hearing suggestions from our guests. Thank you for your review and glad you chose our facility. Hope to see you again.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    59
    18
    8
    15
See reviews for
46
53
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was my first time visiting Abingdon, Va, so I was not sure of the area or the quality of the hotel. After reading several reviews I chose this hotel and I am really glad I did. The hotel is very clean and quiet. And the rooms are really spacious and quiet. It was a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is our second time to stay here, so we can ride the creeper trail. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. It is a safe area and you can leave your bikes on the car in the lighted parking lot. Breakfast is so-so and typical pick up food. We didn't think the front desk guy was particularly helpful in giving us ideas for dinner suggestions. Would definitely stay here again as I feel this is one of the best options in Abingdon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank withoutreservation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We were in Abingdon for a family wedding. The Quality Inn reserved a block of rooms for us at a 15% discount and even let us use the conference room as a family gathering room in the evenings. The rooms were large with free internet, a refrigerator, and a giant breakfast buffet each morning. The hotel was very clean. The lobby has lots of tables and chairs as well as sofas that made a nice gathering place for the family. The staff was more than helpful, going out of there way to cater to any need. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a separate sitting room with a sofa bed. Ask for one of these if you have ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinySwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

A little more expensive than some motels, but you get what you pay for. The room was big with 2 queen-sized beds, microwave, fridge, TV, wi-fi internet in room. And breakfast was the best we had in 6 weeks in the USA: hot food as well as "continental" stuff. It's close to the town, which is a charming little place with some history, placed handy to travel the Crooked Road through the back country of Virginia to, say, Galax. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin, Illinois
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The rooms were impeccably clean, and the breakfast offerings were plentiful. The Quality Inn is a newer property, and clearly the staff does a great job keeping the place clean. I would have given the property a five star, except we had a problem making a reservation over the phone because the desk staff (Matthew) was disinterested in helping us take advantage of our corporate discount. His attitude sucked, and he refused to help us investigate what our discount was. We made the reservation online with our discount, and when we checked in, Matthew was at the desk. He was apathetic and defensive when we told him we found the discount on our own and saved $40 off our stay. We would stay there again, but only for all the other positives which outweighed Matthew's lousy attitude.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterblutarsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
great falls, va
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here for a baseball tournament. Abingdon is a very nice small town, and this hotel is just off the highway on the outskirts of the downtown area. Structure is newer than many, and it abuts the Holiday Inn Express, which is quite similar.

Overall it would meet most needs. Breakfast was about average, but the coffee was so weak that you wondered if it was supposed to be coffee. Everything else fine, though. In fact, coffee is tough to find in this entire town. Rooms were fine, interior halls, AC worked, plenty of hot water. No laundry on site though.

Biggest drawback I saw was that smoking was rampant in front of the building, and even at the small pool. Would be a much better experience if they just banned on the property totally. Just nasty, particularly in pool area where children would congregate. Would be one of the best choices around with removal of the smoke and a good cup of coffee.

Room Tip: no bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seasonal-jamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA293, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am glad your overall experience was good. We would have liked your experience to be much better. I understand the smoking was the greatest issue with your stay. We have banned smoking outside the pool area. We are thinking of going to a non smoking facility entirely. We are also looking into adding laundry machines to our facility. I would like to apologize for your subpar experience. Thank you for your review.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
6.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
6.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
19.4 km away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 930 E Main St, I-81 & Highway 58, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites hotel is ideally located off Interstate 81, just two miles from the Virginia Creeper National Recreation Trail. This Abingdon hotel is convenient to many area attractions and businesses,including Emory & Henry College, Abingdon Cinemall and Johnston Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Abingdon
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing