We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We travled to Virginia and stayed at Afton Mountain B&B the week following Christmas 2011. The breakfast was fabulous, the room was clean and cozy, and the atmosphere in the house was just like home. The evening cookies were outstanding. The location of Afton Mountain B&B is very centrally located in the area; near the interstate, quick travel to Staunton, Waynesboro, and Charlottesville, 15 miles and a beautiful drive to Walton's Mountain, surrounded by the local winery's, and plenty of locally owned restaurants and breweries. Cell phone service was 5 bars. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Loved our room which was The Looking Glass, but will definitely stay in the Mornington Room on our n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

I wanted to take my wife somewhere she could relax and have a great weekend for her birthday. Afton Mountain Bed and Breakfast definitely delivered on that. Orquida and Dan were such great hosts and took care of everything for us. They suggested great places to eat and visit. Our room, The Mornington, was gorgeous! Very warm and inviting. The bed was very comfortable and the whirlpool tub was fantastic. The afternoon treats were so very,very tasty. Orquida's cookies are the best!! We got the Romance Package and it was above and beyond what I expected. The hors d'oeuvres were to die for and the wine really hit the spot after walking around Wintergreen. The whole entire inn was very clean and very inviting. It is definitely a jewel nestled in the mountain. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Enjoyed a nice stay at the Afton Mountain Bed and Breakfast. The owners were extremely nice and very eager to please. I know that it is not a huge deal, but I would have greatly enjoyed a televison in the room. The room was very nice, but a little small. Breakfast was very good, but not as plentiful as we have enjoyed as other bed and breakfasts. The location is great, as you can get to numerous wineries, the Blue Ridge Pkwy, and Charlottesville area very easily.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

If you are looking for a friendly, romantic retreat to relax and enjoy a great breakfast and the personal attention of Orquida and Dan, make your reservation for a stay here soon. The Inn is spotless and filled with small special details that will surprise you. The Nelson county surroundings have lots of activities to take in. We will be back next summer to relax and enjoy the pool and back porch - and more of those great homemade chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We chose Afton Mountain this fall in part because of all of the glowing reviews we read here. Maybe our expectations were too high; we thought it was OK, but I'm not sure I understand all the hype.

The home was lovely and the rooms were clean and comfortable. However, perhaps because the house is older and not as well insulated, we had to kill numerous stinkbugs as well as a huge bee that had found its way in.

The breakfasts were very tasty. We prefer our bacon cooked soft and it would have been nice to have been asked, but that's not a huge deal. The flavor of the cookies was good, but the texture was crumbly and they tasted as though they had been frozen and defrosted.

The rooms were quite nice but ours was a bit on the small side, and having the sink outside the bathroom and a very small shower was definitely not luxurious. Again, if our expectations weren't so high this probably would not have been a big deal, but I was expecting and hoping for more.

Orquida and Dan were good hosts; our stay was fine and we have no major complaints, but maybe these points will help others in terms of bringing this B&B back down to reality!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 9ggmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We arrived on a cold, rainy night and were greeted at the door by Orquida with a warm inviting smile. After a short tour of the downstairs, we were taken to our room where warm chocolate chip cookies and assorted beverages awaited us. The rooms are spotless, comfortable, and inviting. Will be a returning guest whenever in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Looking for the perfect getaway - Afton Mountain B&B is the place to visit. Great food, very clean and comfortable room, and Orquida and Dan couldn't have been more hospitable. Looking forward to returning for our third visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
12.6 km away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
8.9 km away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
781 reviews
10.2 km away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#3 of 16 in Charlottesville
709 reviews
24.1 km away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
27.2 km away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Hwy, Afton, VA 22920
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range: $136 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing