We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Super close to the Metro, very nice upscale neighborhood, Whole Foods is close, lot of bar, restuarants and old towne. Shuttle is very handy, great rooms and a solid breakfast. Cannot say enought good things.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lostcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hello lostcolorado!
On behalf of everyone at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, thank you for your 5 star review! I am very happy our proximity to the Metro, location, shuttle, room quality and breakfast were to your liking. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you to Alexandria!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    138
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
130
92
31
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Comfortable, clean, modern, spacious living room, bedroom, & kitchenette.  One of the *best* RI breakfasts. (It's a mystery how RI serves near identical- ingredient breakfasts across the brand, yet some  breakfasts taste markedly better (at some hotels) than others. (Perhaps it's each chef's/cook's special touch.)

Healthy breakfast options, but evening meals are not up to breakfast standards. (The only negative to this otherwise ideal RI.)

Rows of new washer/dryers in laundry room. 

Rows of modern exercise equipment overlooking the commuter train; can be thrilling as train roars by.

Two modern computers & printer with seating at lobby.

Convenient underground parking ($18).

Good location. (Great view of George Washington Masonic Temple.)

A RI you're sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gnomemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi Wtravi1,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review! It was great to read such positive comments about the size and quality of our rooms, and especially your kind words about our complimentary breakfast! I will be certain to share your comments with our entire breakfast team. I also appreciate your feedback about our evening social. This feedback is critical to our goal of continuous improvement, so thank you.
We hope to see you again soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is a family friendly hotel minus the swimming pool. They have a nice shuttle to bring you to the metro which will take you basically anyway in the area. Staff is very friendly and quick to assist if you need something.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi Carley D,
Thank you so much for such a nice review. It's great to hear your positive comments about the complimentary shuttle, and especially the staff service!
Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family of 3 spent four nights here while visiting DC. The proximity to the metro concerned me as the track ran directly behind the hotel. Soundproofing was amazing, never heard a thing.

Pros: complimentary breakfast (dinner too during the week), close to metro, great staff, shuttle service (although we did not use it), they'll do grocery shopping for you

Cons: rooms were not what I had
expected, our bathroom cabinet was missing a drawer when we arrived, there was a stain on the carpet in the center of the room, there was a "C" on the wallpaper above the kitchen sink, the light above the sink didn't work. There was not a safe in the room. The electrical panel was ugly on the wall in the middle of the room. Housekeeping left a bit to be desired-one afternoon we came back to find dirty towels on the floor behind the bathroom door, our first day, they didn't even fold up the bedding our daughter used on the sofa.

We are happy we chose to stay in Alexandria so we were able to visit Old Town as well as D.C. during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Dear Staff,

I wanted to personally thank you for your outstanding and excellent attentions during my stay from 12 February through 3 March, 2012. Your hospitality was superb and I left the area with a genuine desire of residing at this Marriott upon my return.

My thanks to the Front desk staff, Pam, Kelvin, Juliana, Megan and Dawit. Your attentions were day in and day out, 24 hours of outstanding hospitality. Thank you so very much for all the great conversations and time during the three week stay. Your greeting smile continuously lit up that lobby! I hope to reunite with you soon.

My thanks to the breakfast and dinner staff, Miguelina, Mayra and Doug. Mayra, you are a doll, you are a wonderful person and god bless you. Thank you so much for getting me a dish without cheese; an outstanding gesture that will not be forgotten. Miguelina, your attentions in the mornings were the best and I thank you for always being there to see if we needed something. Doug, the sheriff in town has competition with you around. You stick to policy and follow the rules perfectly, don’t ever change my friend, remember, “Two glasses”.

My thanks to the cleaning staff, thank you, thank you, and thank you. Mauricio, my Chilean friend, you have a wonderful crew who deserve many thanks for their impeccable attentiveness. No complaints, none. Thank you.

Le’Chelle Moso, I want to thank you last, but never least, because you are a true blessing in this hotel. You are a wonderful person who understands hospitality and I believe you are the “Glue” that keeps this fine establishment together and running so well; you are the keystone. Your attentions prior to arrival were perfect; meaning your email, the bag of treats, your “Hand Written Note!”, your daily inquiries, etc., everything. You are so wonderful. Thank you so much for all your attentions. I wish you and your little angel so many blessings, may god always shine upon your path.

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart. See you soon.

Room Tip: A tip in choosing a good room. 1. Plan your stay at this location. 2. Ask for a room at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingMan1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi TravelingMan1775,
This is one of the best reviews we've ever received at the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. Thank you very much! We are fortunate to have so many great people working here, so it's terrific to hear them individually named is incredible gratifying.
Thanks again, and I hope we see you soon!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have always had a great experience a this hotel. Modern and inviting. Rooms are spacious and great for individuals and families. The hotel staff is always attentive and friendly. You are greeted immediately upon entering the hotel lobby. This is an excellent location for visiting Washington, DC. There are two metro stations nearby, Eisenhower which is a short walk from the hotel, or King Street by hotel shuttle. Downtown DC attractions are 10 minutes away by metro. There are many restaurants and movie theaters within 2 minutes walking distance from this hotel. Great staff, great facilities, great location. Check it out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hello Reed123!
Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle. I am very pleased you found the quality of our rooms, our friendly and attentive staff, facilities and our location worthy of a five star review!
Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Alexandria area.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I recently stayed at this location and couldn't complain about anything. The location is easy walking distance from two metro stops. The staff offered on multiple times to shuttle me to the stops but the area was very nice so the walk was fine. I forgot to bring my cell phone charger and went to the front desk to ask for a nearby electronics store. They ended up looking around in the back and finding a charger for me to borrow during my stay. The breakfast and dinners were included during the week and had a good variety. The room was very clean and included a full fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher and cook top. The coffee pot was actually full size and made several cups (something that is never seen in hotels anymore).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dalltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenceInnCarlyle, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hello Dalltrav!

Thank you very much for such a great review of the Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle! I am extremely pleased that you found our location, complimentary shuttle, breakfast and evening dinner social to your liking. I'm also glad we were able to help you while you were without your phone charger!

Thank you again for taking the time to write, and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Alexandria area.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
The Westin Alexandria
#12 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Address: 2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Eisenhower East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the growing Carlyle neighborhood just outside of historic Old Town Alexandria, Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle provides the perfect accommodations for corporate and leisure travelers visiting the Washington, D.C. Area. This 15 floor hotel features 181 studio, one- and two- bedroom suites including complimentary Internet access and fully-equipped kitchens. Additional on-property amenities include 1,025 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, state-of-the-art fitness center, 24-hour market, complimentary WiFi in rooms and public areas, and business center with print, copy, scan, and fax services. Along with well-appointed accommodations, guests enjoy complimentary daily hot breakfast and evening social hours (Monday-Wednesday, 6:00pm to 7:30pm). Ideal for extended stays, guest laundry facilities and pet-friendly rooms are available. This Alexandria, VA hotel is conveniently located near two Metro stations, offering easy access to key area businesses and leading downtown Washington, DC destinations. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to the Metro and Old Town Alexandria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Marriott and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South At Carlyle Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing