We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
79
51
15
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
51
15
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummingbird restaurant river view sliding barn door valet parking hotel opened king street great location old town alexandria room category style door ihg properties walkable city nice view of the water quiet side street restaurant onsite flight path usb ports
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 152 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend whilst visiting friends.
The hotel was a great find and will certainly stay here again when next in the DC area. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the rooms and facilities well appointed.
It’s location is ideal with loads of restaurants and shops nearby in the Old Town Alexandria charm.
Valet parking as always is expensive but there is parking right across the road from the hotel which is more reasonable.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ronaldiwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Thanks for sharing your great experience! We're glad to be here for you while visiting the area. Please be sure to take a look at our parking packages for your future stay. Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

My room was clean and amazing! The view was astonishing! The hotel employees are awesome, professional, helpful, and out going! They know how to make you feel at home! I will be back on my next trip! Thank you Hotel Indigo for helping me feel at home!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Shlanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Shlanda, Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We can't wait to see you again. Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend in October. The hotel is in a great location. Easy to get to from the airport and right around the corner from King Street dining and shopping.
Staff is very friendly, helpful and accomodating...especially Jac at the front desk, who helped make our stay extra special.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Jeff - Thanks for sharing your kind words about Jac and our staff. I agree they are an extra special part of our success. Can't wait to see you again soon. Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2018

We visit Alexandria at least once a year, usually in connection with a concert at The Birchmere (a very nice live music venue).

We've been staying at what was a Kimpton property, the Hotel Monaco (now The Alexandrian), but our last stay there was full of petty annoyances.

This trip we decided to give the Hotel Indigo a try, and are glad we did.

This is a new property (open less than two years) and still has that "new hotel smell". Upon arrival (around 3:30 pm) we were told by the junior desk clerk our particular room category was not yet available for check in as the result of a full hotel the night before. The more senior desk clerk checked the room list and immediately found a room for us. I am still not sure what happened there, but the issue of front desk clerk experience will again surface in this review.

The room was comfortable, clean, and is one of the few hotel rooms we've been in with hard surface flooring and area rugs instead of carpeting. The bathroom was nice, with the expected higher-end toiletries, but be aware that it has a sliding barn-door style door. If you want absolute, bank vault-style privacy you won't get it here, but it was not an issue for us.

We had EXACTLY two washcloths, two hand towels, and two bath towels. We usually see more in higher-end hotels.

It was time to head to the Birchmere, but I could not locate a telephone number for the valet stand. I called down to the front desk and was advised by the clerk (the same one that could not locate a room for us) that there was "no phone at the valet stand and you have to come down and and ask and wait for your car".

"Strange", I thought, but we did just that, and the car was quickly delivered by the very friendly and personable guy at the valet stand.

Guess what? The front desk has a radio, the valet stand has a radio, and if you call down to the front desk and give them your valet ticket number, you CAN call down for your car. We found THAT out at checkout.

The Indigo is separated from the Potomac by a gravel parking lot and nothing else - it is on the water. This part of Alexandria is undergoing a great deal of construction. On our weekend stay it was unobtrusive, but during the week I can see how it might get noisy.

If you make it a point to visit the Torpedo Factory Arts Center (and we do every time we're in Alexandria), Hotel Indigo is two blocks away.

In addition to better training for the front desk staff (and more towels), bathrobes and in-room refrigerators would make this place great.

We had and excellent brunch in the onsite restaurant, The Hummingbird (reviewed separately); its always nice to have a viable onsite dining option.

We now have a new favorite Alexandria hotel - The Indigo.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJMAlcyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear GJMAlcyon1, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to be labeled as your new favorite and appreciate the feedback to allow us for a better training to better help our valued guests, like you! Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was chosen as a hotel for wedding guests for a wedding held in Old Town Alexandria. We were very impressed with the room, the service and the restaurant/bar. The hotel was just a block from the center of old town with so many restaurants and shops, located on the Potomac. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Stacey, We're so glad you had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for a Five Star Stay! Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews