We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
185
273
200
82
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
273
200
82
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotomac riverking streetold towngastro pubextra perksfree shuttlereagan airportbraddock roadseveral blockshotel shuttleshuttle serviceblock walkhotel restaurantdc areametro stationrolandcapital
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 788 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2015 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel, nice area around. And they provide a shuttle to go to and from king st, no pool in the hotel but u can use the holiday in pool 2 blocks away.
Microwave and fridge in the room are of big benifit actually.
The only thing is you have to pay 20 $ a say for parking which i found it a little bit expensive

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2015

Stayed here 2 weekend nights in late March, 2015. It is tucked away in the northeast corner of Alexandria over a half mile from King St. The building is not very impressive as the entrance is surrounded by parking with minimal to non existent areas for shrubbery. The lobby is a cold, unwelcoming space with white marble and a dark wood reception desk that could be the entrance to any anonymous office building.

We stayed on the 8th floor with a partial view of Washington and the Potomac River. The room was clean, comfortable and in good repair. The beds were comfortable and the pillows a little firm. Just what you would expect from a hotel of this level. We had a little trouble waiting for hot water, but not the end of the world. At every meeting, the staff were friendly, and helpful. As Holiday Inn card holders we had free wifi which was good.

In short, the room and staff were as expected, but the atmosphere of the hotel was somewhat dreary. It was fine for the price but we would look to stay closer to the center of Alexandria in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Dear Murray S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We apologize that the decor of our hotel's lobby was not to your predilection. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our ability to serve our guest. We are so glad you were comfortable. We are very thankful for comments as they are vital tool in helping us to better serve and assist our guest. We hope we may have you as a valued customer in the future and exceed in our ability to provide a better service to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2015

Good location, shuttle to airport and Old Town, $20 to park, decent bar with board games, only had breakfast, dine in and room service, ok food, better than coffee perks down the street, used the pool at the Holiday Inn - indoor outdoor pool, nice rooms with comfy beds, walk to Harris Tweeter and Trader Joes, don't think you can beat this price.

Room Tip: Even a river view is just ok, not every room on the 9th floor is a river view like the desk clerk says, ha, impossible
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaackerberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2015

Overall the hotel is nice. Rooms are clean. Heat/Air conditioner was not working in either room and would drop in temp over night. Rooms on corners have very small bathrooms but all had great shower heads, great pressure. Had to change room to get two beds vice one and the double beds are small. All you can eat breakfast if pricey ($16.95) if it doesn't come with rate.
Location is in walking distance from old town (few blocks) and directly next to tennis courts and small playground. If you are on the back side of hotel you can see and hear the aircraft coming into DCA.
Hotel shuttle runs to airport every 30 mins and you can catch the metro there to go downtown.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have small bathroom (door hits knees when sitting)
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Gl0balTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2015

Dear 1Gl0balTraveler,

Thank you for your comments and review of your recent stay with us. We again apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2015

I stay in the DC area a lot and sometimes end up outside of town cuz I can't score a room anywhere else. I'm not too picky, but I'm also not wowed too easy. I never leave reviews because business travel is just that - a bed, a tv, a shower, see ya.

This place stands out. It was just bad. I can get over the blah decor and ho-hum amenities. But this place just had too many little weirdnesses to ignore.

- Service. While the late night dudes that checked me in were perfectly nice, the guy on subsequent nights was bad. I had a couple super easy questions and he just couldn't be bothered - to look up, answer, give a hoot.

- Broken stuff. One of the two outlets in the bedside lamp didn't work. The toilet ran off and on the whole time I was there. The vending machine was broken (and when I asked the aforementioned late night desk guy, he indicated that was typical - maybe a note on the thing so people don't waste their time wouldn't be too much trouble?).

- Sloppy housekeeping. I hate to rag on housekeepers. I know they don't get paid much! I blame their supervisors for the genuinely perplexingly haphazard housekeeping. Basically, they made the bed. That's all. They didn't clean/replace any glassware. Or tidy the bathroom. Or clean the coffeemaker (or replace the used supplies - I actually only had coffee one day because they never replaced the coffee kit).

None of this is the worst thing in the world. I survived and all! No big. But I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MrsAndiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

Dear MrsAndirion,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We also thank you for choosing us. Your comments are taken seriously. We are sorry you were completely disappointed with your overall experience during your stay with us. We apologize if our staff service was not exemplary. We are currently getting a capital plan formed to make the necessary improvements to refresh our hotel, so that our guest can have an overall great experience. We do thank you for comment and hope you would consider returning to give us a second opportunity to serve you and accomplish our goal to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews