We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be disappointed”
Review of Inn of Rosslyn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn of Rosslyn
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
1 review
“You will be disappointed”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights here during the business trip here. The place looks somewhat weird outside, more like a rundown motel than a hotel. They put a lot of stuffs in the room that are either not working or very old: coffee maker is broken, window airconditioner loud as a motorcycle that provides very little cool even at the maximum, water faucet leaking water, tv with only a few channels(even CNN is not included). There is no elevator and I have to drag laggages to the third floor by stairs that are uncovered.

Would NEVER come back again

I would NEVER

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    122
    74
    31
    21
See reviews for
83
80
60
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

this hotel terrified me from the exterior but it is very clean and the staff was extremely nice. also the breakfast was decent and free. what's mind boggling is how they don't spend even a small amount of money so that it is cosmetically more appealing. the front office window is broken in about 10 places, my room had a large section of carpet missing on the floor and a moth-eaten blanket, upholstered furniture was stained and the exterior stairwell was very corroded. the walls were extremely thin and neighbors disturbed me more than once in the night. cabs were called for us on time but our wakeup call was an hour late (problematic on a biz trip). bed linens were scratchy and uncomfortable, mattress was OK. tv had free hbo but fairly limited otherwise. i didn't mind the outdated bathroom, the old tile was actually cute and the housekeeper put the towels in pretty shapes. sort of touching how the staff is trying to make it welcoming even though the physical appearance of the place is offputting. well-located and at least in the week we were there, cheap, but for business travel, not really appropriate, and i wouldn't bring my child there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMIBKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Very reasonable basic accommodation, halfway between two Metro stops. It (nearly) fronts a busy highway but I was not bothered by the traffic noise. Decent free breakfast and decent wifi connection. Five minute walk to the nearest restaurants and ten minute walks to Metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hahnecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Stayed at the inn of rosslyn in march the room was a little dated but the service was amazing the front desk staff went above and beyond. Thomas gave us great ideas on places to eat and go. He also took thee time to print out directions

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hshim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Extremely convenient location. Clean rooms. Very helpful and friendly staff - I have been there a couple of times and Eden and Paul have been great. The breakfast was only a bit disappointing but everything else was good. I definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

For a $70 per night hotel room, it was about what I expected. It's a little far from restaurants and the metro (about 3/4 of a mile to the nearest of either), and the sound of planes flying overhead could keep light sleepers awake. However, the room was pretty clean, and the biggest shortcoming was that everything was just old. There are however, two issues I'd like to address.

The first is that the deadbolt on my room did not work when I arrived. They sent a guy up a little bit after I called the front desk, and he said that he would get it replaced the next day. The next day came and went, and the guy never came back. Also, I accidentally left my "do not disturb" sign on my door, which, with every other hotel I've been to, they still come in later in the morning and clean the room if the sign is still out. Here though, nobody ever showed up, and my room did not get cleaned.

Perhaps the door repair was also related to the Do Not Disturb Sign - I don't know. All I know is that both things ticked me off.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slavrenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Inn of Rosslyn for three nights and were very pleased with the room. It was very clean and served our needs while we were in Arlington for the birth of our grand daughter. The beds and room were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small and retro but also clean and very adequate. The people at the front desk were very nice and accommodating. Don't let the outside fool you as it definitely needs an update and is a motel rather than a hotel and looks like it would not be suitable for many people. As soon as you get in the rooms though they are just like hotel rooms every where. The price of hotels in Arlington are $200-$300 or more. We paid less than $100. and this included a limited continental breakfast. Also, free parking which is rare in Arlington. Best deal in Arlington. We definitely will stay there again when we go to visit our grand daughter.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wvcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Rosslyn/Iwo Jima
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
2.3 km away
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
Inns Of Virginia Arlington
#41 of 51 in Arlington
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Virginian Suites Arlington
Virginian Suites Arlington
#15 of 51 in Arlington
918 reviews
0.3 km away
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
Courtyard Arlington Rosslyn
#30 of 51 in Arlington
525 reviews
4.0 km away
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#21 of 51 in Arlington
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Rosslyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Rosslyn

Property: Inn of Rosslyn
Address: 1601 Arlington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22209-3002
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of Rosslyn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn of Rosslyn carries the traditional charm and style of a family-friendly Inn with guest rooms and monthly Suites, and is located in the residential – urban community of Rosslyn in Arlington, Virginia, just over the Potomac River from Washington, D.C. The Inn of Rosslyn is conveniently 1-2 blocks from Capital Bike Share and the Rosslyn Metro Subway, respectively. Just 1/2 mile from Washington, D.C., the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, historic Georgetown, the Netherlands Carillion, Iwo Jima Memorial, Ft. Meyer, National Cemetery and Arlington House, the Inn of Rosslyn is literally surrounded by history, government, and businesses alike, and makes your business and leisure travel to Washington and Northern Virginia both exciting and manageable. You will find that the Washington Mall, the Smithsonian, Crystal City and the Underground, historic ‘Old Town’ Alexandria, Reagan National Airport, and the National Harbor are just minutes away making travel to your destinations as well as to shopping, restaurants, night life, and sight- seeing a breeze.The Inn of Rosslyn is comprised of three stories of recently renovated guest rooms with beautiful furnishings, well-appointed amenities, refrigerators, and full baths complete with sparkling genuine tiles, ‘cool-shot’ styling blow-dryers and lighted vanity mirrors in every room. Guest rooms are exterior with convenient FREE parking and FREE WIFI.Spotlessly clean, comfortable and affordable, you will be happy you chose The Inn of Rosslyn to be your home away from home when you come to Washington and Northern Virginia. Your comfort and your happiness is our mission. Don’t be left out - make your reservation early as availability is limited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn of Rosslyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Rosslyn Hotel Arlington
Hotel Of Rosslyn
Inn Rosslyn
Of Rosslyn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing