We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Netherlands Carillon
from US$74.00
More Info
from US$79.00
More Info
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
38
52
42
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
52
42
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine corps memorial bell tower the iwo jima memorial wonderful gift during wwii beautiful music arlington cemetery bells chime united states beautiful park worth a visit piece of history interesting history potomac river national mall tulips structure
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I got to see this monument in person while visiting the arlington cemetery. It's an interesting addition to the Marine Corps Memorial general area. There are steps to the top but I'm not sure if you can use them for a safety reasons. This simple dedication on the Netherlands Carillon expresses the gratitude of the Dutch people for American aid received during and after World War II. The carillon itself symbolizes a friendship between the people of two countries, a friendship so rooted in a common allegiance to the principles of freedom, justice, and democracy that it can weather any temporary differences of opinion.

Thank kevinparsakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Rusty. Someone needs to paint the structure. Kind of plain. I’m sure I’m missing something, but it wasn’t worth the stop.

Thank mjbmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The Netherlands Carillon is a really cool piece of history that has been allowed to fall pray to the elements. A gift from the people of the Netherlands in thanks to the American people for liberating them from the Nazis during WWII, the carillon is a bell tower designed by a Dutch architect with the purpose of making it look very different from the Neo-classical architecture of much of DC (which the architect of the carillon considered to be "fascist.") Anyway, in the past, there was a sign saying when the carillon will play. Now, there's no sign. It does play things from time to time but I'm not sure when. You used to be able to climb the carillon too but it's closed off now. And, the tower is rusting badly. It makes me very sad to see that the USG is simply failing to take care of this treasure.

Thank JSTrip_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

We saw this on our way from the Marine Corps Memorial to Arlington National Cemetery. It was gifted to the US from the Netherlands for liberating them from the Nazis. It is an interesting building that goes along with a lot of the WWII Memorial’s.

Thank Chas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We took some guests, one of whom is a Marine Corps Vet to visit the Marine Corps memorial. I was familiar with the Carillion from previous visits but did not mention in advance. As we walked up towards the Monument the Carillion chimed and stopped friends in their tracks to listen with smiles on faces. We took our time at the Memorial and all enjoyed repeat chimes. On Saturday evenings during summer there is a Carillion concert.

Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

When you leave Arlington on the North Marshall Drive side, you walk past this half way up the gently sloping hill path that leads to the Marine Corp Memorial. So it's worth pausing to have a look. It's a thank you to the US from the Netherlands and was dedicated in 1960 to mark the 15th anniversary of the liberation of the Netherlands from Nazi Germany.

Thank DRCsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

This was the 2nd year we visited here to watch the 4th of July fireworks over the Potomac. What a perfect spot.

Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

We came across this as we were walking to the USMC memorial. Was nice and enjoyed reading about it but it looked like it could use a little sprucing up.

Thank Becca_6737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

Gift from Netherlands to thank US for help during WWII Nazi occupation, but not very pretty. It doesn't seem to fit with the other beautiful memorials in Arlington.

Thank donnawood1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

It is pretty and the kids enjoy the lions, but one cannot go up so viewing is just from the park area. Listen as around 6 pm, it plays.

Thank pegw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews