We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
30
78
40
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
78
40
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews field facilities spring yubatake dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 172 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017

Walking distance to the Yubatake (hot spring field). Price of room includes dinner and breakfast. There's free van pick up from the bus terminal but need to inform them in advance or ask the tourist office at bus terminal to call for you. Night time story telling (in Japanese) with free mochi. And unlimited use of the onsen (indoor and outdoor). The male and female onsen change in the evening. The time is informed on check in.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcslchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We stayed one night.
As we were traveling in a group of six(6), we thought it is better to book for a place where they have enough capacity (e.g. Large rooms) with genuine experience of Onsen Ryokan (Japanese inn) with large bath and gorgeous dinner with reasonable pricing. Hotel Takamatsu fit this category.
Some other note for this hotel:
- rental colorful Yukata for ladies available
- Onsen hot water is directly pulled over from Yubatake (central hot spring)
-Yubatake is 5 min walking distance
- car park is available (be aware of driving direction)
- dinner comes in set style (though we negotiated to swap to non-fish meal for one of our members who cannot eat fish at all)
- dining is all available at dining room in 11th floor.
- toilet facility is not so new (old unit bath system widely seen in old Japanese hotels/apartments decades ago). There are common use ones in most floors but you may end up using the old Japanese style toilet (where in some cases you need to crouch down for your own use)
- Manju ( confectionary ) available for guests in rooms are amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TokyoTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2016

it is a comfortable hotel. the hospitality was very good, they let us borrow an umbrella. the hotel is located near hot water field(Yubatake). The food was very delicious. It was typical Japanese cuisine specializing in beef. The room is tatami room, it was nice smell. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked through internet. Took the 1 night stay with breakfast and dinner.Overall was very well. I choose Japanese style room which faced the outside wall. Room was very clean enough. But I do recommend to choose the western style room as bit noisy to sleep on tatami in the night. Onsen bath is very good and clean. Staff are nice and my package included the dinner and breakfast. Dinner was Japanese style and breakfast was buffet style. Kusatsu onsen is a great place for u to go relax and I choose to stay for 2d1n is enuf if you do not plan for skiing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snow8301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this through a Japan Railways booking office on an all-inclusive of train, bus, room and dinner deal which was relatively inexpensive and therefore didn't hold out much hope of it being of particularly high standard. My first impressions when walking into the lobby didn't help either as it all looked a little run-down and and just a little "tired". However, the room was nice enough (there are 2 room types I understand and some of them face the interior of the hotel and therefore are a little small and dark ....mine wasn't ). What sets this place apart though is the quality of the service of the staff....completely 100%.
Dinner was good, Japanese style of course, the onsen bathing facilities (shared) are good and not in any way worrying or embarassing (even for a foreigner) and the town is pleasant, but not exactly busy on an evening. Single travelers may be a little short of things to do here in the winter (unless you ski ) as there are only so many times in a day that you can want to take a bath and most of the local attractions involve bathing (it's an onsen town after all ), but that's not the fault of the hotel. Incidentally, most advice online is to take the train, but there are buses too to and from Shinjuku station (try the JR booking office in the station for tickets ) which take only an hour or so longer and are half the price (3000Y approx ) of the train which leaves from Ueno and which still involves a short bus ride .
- Recommended as the staff really do care.

Room Tip: Ask for a Japanese style room with a window if possible
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu-cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews