We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
71
71
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
71
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ryokan onsen free of charge japanese style the bus yubatake spring wifi terminal dinner english
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Naraya is obviously very well known ryokan that can give you the traditional Japanese experience in the one of the premier onsen towns in Japan, Kusatsu.

There isnt much else that you can do from Onsen so you really need one day at the destination but the ryokan onsen was satisfying and everything was so clean.

Room Tip: Only spend one day Kusatsu, thats enough
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kangster2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile

This Japanese hotel is located in the heart of this hot spring town. It's location is perfect for Tara who ride to strolling along the city meter in the daytime or in the nighttime. Services are authentic Japanese Style and full of hospitality. The room is nice and quite spacious. It's on-sen is wonderful. We had dinner and breakfast in our private room in the restaurant, which I really delicious and well- presented. Free parking is offered but not easy to access. However, you donate a car in this charming town.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anannit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2017

I had stayed at the hotel for one night.
Service :The hotel offers shuttle bus pick up service for guest at the bus terminal, but you need to inform them your arrival time in advance.The staffs are very helpful and can speak English, so there is no communication problem.
Also, the hotel offers free coffee for the guest to drink during morning time and tea time,
It is very hospitable.
Location: it is perfect, it is close to the sight seeing points.
Wifi; it is strong and free of charge.
Dinner and Breakfast: the hotel offers the dinner and breakfast, but it is in Japanese style , so it is not quite suitable to us.
Price: comparatively, the price is expensive.
Room: it is clean and well equipped
Onsen: inside the hotel, the onsens are quite comfortable.
If not consider about the price, it is a good place to stay during visiting Kusatsu onsen.

Room Tip: Japanese style room is better than western style room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely stay here, with typically excellent hospitality from the staff. The location is excellent, the baths superb. The food is good but nothing extraordinary. You can go on the cheap and find less expensive ryokan but if you want a most pleasant onsen experience, the price is well-worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile

We were booked to stay in this ryokan through a travel agency we engaged. Absolutely no regrets! Location of ryokan was right smack in the middle of the onsen town square. Although staff struggled to speak English, they were still very warm & tried their best to communicate with us. We also booked the private onsen & the staff was very relaxed with the timing you get to stay in the onsen which is nice (unlike another ryokan we went to who were so strict with the timings). The Kaiseki served was lovely, shame it wasn't to our taste so we struggled with the food bit; but this is just a personal preference I'm sure if you enjoy that type of cuisine you'd love it!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews