We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenojiya - The best Ryokan in town, with its own natural onsen spring.”
Review of Tenojiya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenojiya
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We loved this place!! It was a bit retro, soooo comfortable, the staff were really really lovely and professional - it was obvious our comfort came first. The food was AMAZING; 9 course banquet breakfast and dinner. We asked for all vegetarian - not normal for Japan, but beautifully done. They even came looking for us through the streets cause we hadn't turned up for dinner! It's a very short and lovely walk to the Hot spring at the centre of Kusatsu, and close to nature walks - a very quaint town and worth visiting - it's where the Japanese go for their holidays! We had an authentic experience and felt like we were truly on holidays and in old Japan, the room was lovely with our own private Japanese garden, the futons were incredibly comfortable, as were the amenities of the room. We were so well taken care of that we will go back to Kusatsu just to stay at Tenojiya. Lastly they have their own natural spring in the Ryokan which is absolutely beautiful and I believe is the only one in town that does.. we went down late at night and had it all to ourselves!! There are stairs but we didn't mind and it is an older Ryokan but we felt that made it full of character and gave it oodles of charm. We hope you enjoy staying there as much as we did.

Room Tip: We don't have a tip to provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vivienne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

This ryokan is known to be famous for the meals they serve. Without a doubt, the kaiseki course served for dinner is one of the best ryokans I have ever stayed in. My girlfriend couldn't stop saying 'Oishii~ Oishii' which literally means so tasty in Japanese.

As we arrived at the ryokan sleigh-riding through the heavy snow on our way, we were immediately greeted by one of the ryokan staff the moment we parked our car and they kindly help remove luggage from the car. What a warm welcome!

We were served with hot tea and a light snack after we were escorted to the room. And a moment later, Ookami-san, ryokan general manager came to greet us. What a lovely smile!

The ryokan is situated in the heard of Kusatsu onsen and is within close proximity of all the attractions. However, due to bad weather condition and snow, we were pretty much stuck throughout the entire night as well as morning. So we had a plenty of time to visit hot springs as many as we could throughout the night. Good that it's 24hrs open. The main bath is on the 3rd floor and it's swapped between the rock bath on a daily basis.

Tenojiya is a bit old and outdate when it comes to interior, but the hot springs is one of the best. They have some rooms to improve such as equipping the bath with hair dryer as well as separating shampoo and conditioner instead of using the combined one. In addition, small face towel would also be nice, but not a biggy since you can bring one of your own from the room.

One thing that disappointed me a bit was the fact that only one set of Yukata was available. You would wear the same Yukata for bed as well as the next day. It didn't seem so appropriate for the level and quality this ryokan belongs to. This is definitely something to improve in the future.

Overall, our stay was enjoyable mainly due to fascinating meal they serve.

Next morning, when we were about to depart from the ryokan, Ookami-san kindly came out to say goodbye to us and she even helped remove some of the hardened snow stuck on our front mirror rental car along with other staff members. That was surely something memorable! Keep it up Tenojiya-san!

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve one of the upper rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teddybear1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
3  Thank chikichikin62521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank yochan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 江崎恒成
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Miwa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Satoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusatsu-machi hotels
Kusatsu Onsen
Hotel Ichii
Hotel Ichii
#3 of 133 in Kusatsu-machi
259 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Naraya
Naraya
#10 of 133 in Kusatsu-machi
154 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Yumotokan
Yumotokan
#66 of 133 in Kusatsu-machi
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kusatsu Onsen
Osakaya
Osakaya
#18 of 133 in Kusatsu-machi
62 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Kusatsu Onsen Boun
Kusatsu Onsen Boun
#4 of 133 in Kusatsu-machi
153 reviews
Kusatsu Onsen
Mukashigokoronoyado Kanemidori
Mukashigokoronoyado Kanemidori
#7 of 133 in Kusatsu-machi
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenojiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenojiya

Address: 360 Kusatsu, Kusatsu-machi, Agatsuma-gun 377-1711, Gunma Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Agatsuma-gun > Kusatsu-machi > Kusatsu Onsen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 133 Hotels / Ryokan in Kusatsu-machi
Price Range: $809 - $1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ikyu Corporation so you can book your Tenojiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing