We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
91
182
58
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
182
58
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationshopping areausual japanesegood sizenon smokingsmoking roomamenitiesconferencekokuratokyo
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 347 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2017

very nice and not too much expensive
a lot of restaurants inside the hotel but near the city center for a huge choice of restaurants. you have to pay to access the pool and the gym
rooms are very confortables, a very good hotel

Room Tip: room with ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean-sébastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

This is a good hotel, close to the train station, huge reception and a good view from the room, many restaurants within the hotel, and the service is good. The down side is the price is high considering the value; the city Kokura is not a major city with many attractions and the building / room is getting old. Also I was shocked to learn that even hotel guest has to pay 5000yen to use their gym. This level of price for the guest is the same as 5star hotels in Tokyo or even higher.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Hiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Fantastic location – walking distance via covered walkway to supermarkets (for grocery shopping; some also sold cooked food), shopping malls and Kokura train station. The airport shuttle bus drop pick up and off points (note: drop off and pick up are not at the same place) are also within walking distance, and all but a few steps are sheltered. There are also plenty of eateries – in the shopping malls as well as along the roads. Kokura Castle and a convention centre were also just a short walk away. To be fair, there are some other hotels also very near the train station (including one at the train station itself) but this one is the biggest and probably the most luxurious.

Winning points included generous sized and clean rooms, equipped with hair dryer, bedroom slippers, bathrobes, good quality toiletries (viz shampoo, conditioner, shower/bath gel, a bath tub, something foamy which is a 3 in 1 – hand soap, facial cleanser as well as shaving cream), a small kettle for boiling water to make tea with, green and roasted tea sachets. If you need to be woken, you can either set the alarm on the room digital clock or arrange for an automated wake up call by dialing 41 followed by the time you desire. For me, the only thing missing from the room was an in-room safe.

If you want your room cleaned, you need to make it available early, because the cleaning service stops at 1.30pm. If you miss that time, you can ask for a change of towels, emptying of trash – there is no time limit on those.

They gave 2 pillows per person. One was a normal pillow, the other was filled with something that felt like drinking straws cut into about 1cm long pieces. It was unusual but I found that it supported my head and neck well, thereby contributing to my good sleep while staying there.

There were several restaurants at the hotel but we only ate at the cafe and that was for the breakfast that was included in the price (entry to the café was by coupons issued at check in). They had a good variety, though more Asian food than Western. On one of the mornings, it was full, and they had staff waiting at the escalator (which we had to take to get to the café) to usher us to a make shift breakfast room where they had laid out food albeit not the full range as at the cafe. We appreciated this, because at some other hotels we had stayed in, when the breakfast place was full, the guests had to wait for a table, instead of being shown to an alternative venue. On our last morning, because our flight was very early in the morning, upon our prior request they packed a breakfast bag for us (comprising a triple deck sandwich and a bag of chips) which they passed to us when we surrendered the breakfast coupons for that morning.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonDScript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

My Japanese friend helped to book this hotel as he thought it has harbor view. We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. To be very honest, we don't feel conformable at this hotel. The hotel seems quite popular to host wedding party, so i guess they don't care too much about room. The room is quite dirty, especially carpet (see attached picture). The fitness center and pool are NOT for free. It's really ridiculous as this hotel uses pool picture everywhere to do advertising, but eventually guests cannot use it.

When we stayed first night, there're some kids running and jumping for hours from upstairs. I called front desk at 11:30pm. one staff said they gonna check. but nothing changed, i then called at 12am again and told front desk to request to change room. They then realized something seriously, one staff came to my room to check, and later agreed to change to other room. I guess it's short of room at that night, so we moved to Executive floor.

When we checking out, we found JPY2000 to be added at each room charge. The reply from staff was " due to room upgrade". I definitely refused to pay this over-charge as it's not our fault. The staff quickly deleted this charge and said "sorry". However, it already leaves negative impression which is "they are not honest".

The staff attitude is ok.

I do hope hotel management can take consideration when seeing my feedback.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WillDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located in walking distance from the train station. The lobby area very spacious, checking in smooth without any excitement.

The rooms are very clean but in need of a working over. Everything in grayish/brownish color with old style furniture. The bed very low and not really comfortable. Bathroom again clean but really aged.

WLAN in the room free and working well.

Breakfast buffet Western Style not really providing a wide selection. Staying more than 1 day the food gets really monotonous. The coffee shop in the lobby area with a nice "waterfall" window with prices which are even for Japan high.

Other restaurants not tried as there is a wide variety of restaurants in the vicinity of the station.

Checkout again easy and no excitement.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank bizonroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews