We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
US$67
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$61
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$67
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$60
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel New Tagawa(Kokurakita)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
90
180
56
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
180
56
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationshopping areausual japanesegood sizenon smokingsmoking roomamenitiesconferencekokuratokyo
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 341 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Hotel premises are clean and spacious. Facilities are good (used a ballroom for a conference), as is service. Jap restaurant was amazing. Excellent connectivity to streets and just next to Kokura station (there's Colet department store and shopping streets around the station).

Room Tip: Top floor, with views to City.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richiechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

very nice and not too much expensive
a lot of restaurants inside the hotel but near the city center for a huge choice of restaurants. you have to pay to access the pool and the gym
rooms are very confortables, a very good hotel

Room Tip: room with ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean-sébastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

This is a good hotel, close to the train station, huge reception and a good view from the room, many restaurants within the hotel, and the service is good. The down side is the price is high considering the value; the city Kokura is not a major city with many attractions and the building / room is getting old. Also I was shocked to learn that even hotel guest has to pay 5000yen to use their gym. This level of price for the guest is the same as 5star hotels in Tokyo or even higher.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Hiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Fantastic location – walking distance via covered walkway to supermarkets (for grocery shopping; some also sold cooked food), shopping malls and Kokura train station. The airport shuttle bus drop pick up and off points (note: drop off and pick up are not at the same place) are also within walking distance, and all but a few steps are sheltered. There are also plenty of eateries – in the shopping malls as well as along the roads. Kokura Castle and a convention centre were also just a short walk away. To be fair, there are some other hotels also very near the train station (including one at the train station itself) but this one is the biggest and probably the most luxurious.

Winning points included generous sized and clean rooms, equipped with hair dryer, bedroom slippers, bathrobes, good quality toiletries (viz shampoo, conditioner, shower/bath gel, a bath tub, something foamy which is a 3 in 1 – hand soap, facial cleanser as well as shaving cream), a small kettle for boiling water to make tea with, green and roasted tea sachets. If you need to be woken, you can either set the alarm on the room digital clock or arrange for an automated wake up call by dialing 41 followed by the time you desire. For me, the only thing missing from the room was an in-room safe.

If you want your room cleaned, you need to make it available early, because the cleaning service stops at 1.30pm. If you miss that time, you can ask for a change of towels, emptying of trash – there is no time limit on those.

They gave 2 pillows per person. One was a normal pillow, the other was filled with something that felt like drinking straws cut into about 1cm long pieces. It was unusual but I found that it supported my head and neck well, thereby contributing to my good sleep while staying there.

There were several restaurants at the hotel but we only ate at the cafe and that was for the breakfast that was included in the price (entry to the café was by coupons issued at check in). They had a good variety, though more Asian food than Western. On one of the mornings, it was full, and they had staff waiting at the escalator (which we had to take to get to the café) to usher us to a make shift breakfast room where they had laid out food albeit not the full range as at the cafe. We appreciated this, because at some other hotels we had stayed in, when the breakfast place was full, the guests had to wait for a table, instead of being shown to an alternative venue. On our last morning, because our flight was very early in the morning, upon our prior request they packed a breakfast bag for us (comprising a triple deck sandwich and a bag of chips) which they passed to us when we surrendered the breakfast coupons for that morning.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonDScript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

My Japanese friend helped to book this hotel as he thought it has harbor view. We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. To be very honest, we don't feel conformable at this hotel. The hotel seems quite popular to host wedding party, so i guess they don't care too much about room. The room is quite dirty, especially carpet (see attached picture). The fitness center and pool are NOT for free. It's really ridiculous as this hotel uses pool picture everywhere to do advertising, but eventually guests cannot use it.

When we stayed first night, there're some kids running and jumping for hours from upstairs. I called front desk at 11:30pm. one staff said they gonna check. but nothing changed, i then called at 12am again and told front desk to request to change room. They then realized something seriously, one staff came to my room to check, and later agreed to change to other room. I guess it's short of room at that night, so we moved to Executive floor.

When we checking out, we found JPY2000 to be added at each room charge. The reply from staff was " due to room upgrade". I definitely refused to pay this over-charge as it's not our fault. The staff quickly deleted this charge and said "sorry". However, it already leaves negative impression which is "they are not honest".

The staff attitude is ok.

I do hope hotel management can take consideration when seeing my feedback.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WillDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews