We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
91
182
58
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
182
58
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationshopping areausual japanesegood sizenon smokingsmoking roomamenitiesconferencekokuratokyo
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 348 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights for a business purpose. The advantage of it was its location that was near train station and conference center, and they were connected by a covered bridge, so it was convenient for us to walk back and forth. What made it more convenient was the train station that had various options for foods and had grocery stores. The hotel was also only 10-15 minutes walk from the center of the city.

The interior of the hotel in general was an old style with a huge lobby. My room was sizable with a beautiful view of the city from 27th floor. Most of its amenities worked well with the exception of hot water for shower that was set at 40 degree Celcius; it could not be reduced. It was rather hot for me. Another thing was I requested for a non smoking room but my room smelled smoke.

The varieties of the foods for breakfast were rather limited, and the taste was mediocre at best. I was invited for a gala dinner at Royal Hall. The foods there were much better. Maybe because it was a special event.

If you are looking for a hotel with strategic location, this may be the one. But if you are looking for an additional value, you may need to consider other options.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank BWS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2017

Hotel premises are clean and spacious. Facilities are good (used a ballroom for a conference), as is service. Jap restaurant was amazing. Excellent connectivity to streets and just next to Kokura station (there's Colet department store and shopping streets around the station).

Room Tip: Top floor, with views to City.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank richiechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

very nice and not too much expensive
a lot of restaurants inside the hotel but near the city center for a huge choice of restaurants. you have to pay to access the pool and the gym
rooms are very confortables, a very good hotel

Room Tip: room with ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean-sébastien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016 via mobile

This is a good hotel, close to the train station, huge reception and a good view from the room, many restaurants within the hotel, and the service is good. The down side is the price is high considering the value; the city Kokura is not a major city with many attractions and the building / room is getting old. Also I was shocked to learn that even hotel guest has to pay 5000yen to use their gym. This level of price for the guest is the same as 5star hotels in Tokyo or even higher.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Hiro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Fantastic location – walking distance via covered walkway to supermarkets (for grocery shopping; some also sold cooked food), shopping malls and Kokura train station. The airport shuttle bus drop pick up and off points (note: drop off and pick up are not at the same place) are also within walking distance, and all but a few steps are sheltered. There are also plenty of eateries – in the shopping malls as well as along the roads. Kokura Castle and a convention centre were also just a short walk away. To be fair, there are some other hotels also very near the train station (including one at the train station itself) but this one is the biggest and probably the most luxurious.

Winning points included generous sized and clean rooms, equipped with hair dryer, bedroom slippers, bathrobes, good quality toiletries (viz shampoo, conditioner, shower/bath gel, a bath tub, something foamy which is a 3 in 1 – hand soap, facial cleanser as well as shaving cream), a small kettle for boiling water to make tea with, green and roasted tea sachets. If you need to be woken, you can either set the alarm on the room digital clock or arrange for an automated wake up call by dialing 41 followed by the time you desire. For me, the only thing missing from the room was an in-room safe.

If you want your room cleaned, you need to make it available early, because the cleaning service stops at 1.30pm. If you miss that time, you can ask for a change of towels, emptying of trash – there is no time limit on those.

They gave 2 pillows per person. One was a normal pillow, the other was filled with something that felt like drinking straws cut into about 1cm long pieces. It was unusual but I found that it supported my head and neck well, thereby contributing to my good sleep while staying there.

There were several restaurants at the hotel but we only ate at the cafe and that was for the breakfast that was included in the price (entry to the café was by coupons issued at check in). They had a good variety, though more Asian food than Western. On one of the mornings, it was full, and they had staff waiting at the escalator (which we had to take to get to the café) to usher us to a make shift breakfast room where they had laid out food albeit not the full range as at the cafe. We appreciated this, because at some other hotels we had stayed in, when the breakfast place was full, the guests had to wait for a table, instead of being shown to an alternative venue. On our last morning, because our flight was very early in the morning, upon our prior request they packed a breakfast bag for us (comprising a triple deck sandwich and a bag of chips) which they passed to us when we surrendered the breakfast coupons for that morning.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NonDScript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews