We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ambar Pousad is great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambar Pousada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambar Pousada
Ranked #23 of 153 Salvador B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ambar Pousad is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed a few years ago for three weeks, with and without my wife and teenage daughter. Nice place, not too fancy, not too funky. Open air feeling, casual. Owned by French woman, staffed by nice young people, mostly young ladies except for the night guys for security which is good. Great buffet breakfast, occasional free live entertainment and in-house buffets and parties for festivals.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stevenmonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    62
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
43
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Clean, cozy place, good location (close to beach and bus stop), friendly staff, good breakfast... But felt it was overpriced, at least during peak season, and they ask for 5% gratuity on top of it. Also, no refrigerator, no kitchen access.

3 blocks away from Barra Beach, which is a great beach with nice waves, and a great view at sunset. Numerous restaurant options in the area, although not as many as I expected. Very close to a supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Nice place, very open-air, clean, nice staff and secure. Good breakfast buffet, weekly parties with music. Small and close to the Farol beaches, music events and festivals.Stayed one month. Beach ambiance and big city neighborhood, not too far from the upper Salvador neighborhoods, a bit far from the Pelhourinho.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2010

I've made a reservation for 11 days. couldn't stay for one single night. The "triple" room was a cubicle, without air conditioning and with a "tiny" window that had to be fully closed all the time, because it led to an inner patio with people, light and music.

So, we tried, but coud not sleep that night.

Next day, first thing in the morning was to find another place to stay. We've found a nicer place, well located, two bedroom, ocean view, etc. FOR THE SAME PRICE.

On check out, the receptionist dared to charge a "early cancelation fee". Arguing that "I saw everything I need on their website". Of course, I did not pay such a fee.

Well, despite of the filthy room, bad location, high price and a bad atmosphere, the breakfas was very good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eucherio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisambar, Owner and manager at Ambar Pousada, responded to this review, 27 January 2010
Well, we're very sorry about this review, and this for several reasons 1/ our location is one of the best in Salvador, near the beach and near everything tourists can need, and less unsecure than Porto da Barra 2/ our rooms and almost the whole hotel are cleaned everyday with care 3/ on our website and when booking is made, we inform that our rooms are small rooms and only have roof fans 4/ all pictures on our site are REAL, we don't use "large angle" fotos or photoshop, it's all like it is IN FACT 5/ people, light and music in the inner courtyard end at 10 p.m, as we know our guests need to have a good rest.
Anyway, we apologize for this bad experience.
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

A great location to stay at and a wonderful breakfast of homemade yogurt and whole wheat bread. Very clean and well run.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryInVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

It was our first pousada to stay in Brazil. I booked it on internet and no deposit was required, which is quite rare. My e-mail with confirmation was enough.
We asked for transportation service and a taxi driver was waiting for us at the airport.

The first room we stayed in was at the first floor, quite shady and at night we could hear noises from the bars in te street, but it was quite ok with us.

We spent there about 5 days, then rented a car (again, it was enough to ask at the reception and the next day the car was at the door as they cooperate with local rent offices) and went for a trip to the south part of Bahia.

After the trip, we were back at pousada Ambar and this time we were given their best room, I believe. Even if you had to climb very narrow stairs to get there, it was worth each step. The room was spacious, bright and had a private varanda with an ocean view (over the roofs of other buildings, but anyway). We loved it and if we will ever go back to Salvador, we will ask for this particular room :)

The pousada is located in Barra, just 2 streets from the Farol Beach. It's also close to the bus stops which can take you to Pelourinho or just the opposite direction, to famous Itapoan Beach.
Shopping Barra is very close as well.

The staff were extremly helpful, provided tourist information and gave a lot of clues. Thanks to them we could visit the whole city on our own. Breakfast was delicious, there were variety od fruit and juices.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brasilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 km away
Pousada O Ninho
Pousada O Ninho
#15 of 153 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 km away
Pousada Corais da Barra
Pousada Corais da Barra
#31 of 153 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde
Hotel Pousada Papaya Verde
#9 of 153 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
D'Boa Hostel
D'Boa Hostel
#35 of 153 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel Pousada Salvador
Hotel Pousada Salvador
#10 of 153 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 km away
Pousada Marcos
Pousada Marcos
#37 of 153 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambar Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambar Pousada

Property: Ambar Pousada
Address: Rua Afonso Celso 485, Salvador, State of Bahia 40140-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ambar Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Âmbar is a charming guest house with regional décor and colourful atmosphere, located just 50 metres from the popular Barra Beach. It offers a 24-hour front desk, excellent tropical breakfast and free Wi-Fi. The accommodation at Âmbar Pousada is simply furnished and provides a fan. Rooms have a private bathroom, and dormitories offer several shared ones. With a homely atmosphere, this guest house is 200 metres from Barra Lighthouse, and 6 km from Pelourinho historical district and Salvador city centre. Salvador Bus Station is 8 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Ambar Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambar Pousada Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing