We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambar Pousada
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Bahia(Salvador)
US$106
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fiesta Bahia Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marazul Hotel(Salvador)
US$63
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Bahiamar Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hit Hotel(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Tulip Salvador(Salvador)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
68
63
19
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
63
19
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 164 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for the week of carnival and had a great time. Staff are all very friendly and most speak good English; the rooms are more than enough space with comfortable beds; and breakfast is plentiful. The best is definitely the location in Barra. You are only 2 streets in from the main carnival strip and it is easy access to everything from shopping to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter but will not get wifi
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed a few years ago for three weeks, with and without my wife and teenage daughter. Nice place, not too fancy, not too funky. Open air feeling, casual. Owned by French woman, staffed by nice young people, mostly young ladies except for the night guys for security which is good. Great buffet breakfast, occasional free live entertainment and in-house buffets and parties for festivals.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank stevenmonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Clean, cozy place, good location (close to beach and bus stop), friendly staff, good breakfast... But felt it was overpriced, at least during peak season, and they ask for 5% gratuity on top of it. Also, no refrigerator, no kitchen access.

3 blocks away from Barra Beach, which is a great beach with nice waves, and a great view at sunset. Numerous restaurant options in the area, although not as many as I expected. Very close to a supermarket.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Nice place, very open-air, clean, nice staff and secure. Good breakfast buffet, weekly parties with music. Small and close to the Farol beaches, music events and festivals.Stayed one month. Beach ambiance and big city neighborhood, not too far from the upper Salvador neighborhoods, a bit far from the Pelhourinho.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I've made a reservation for 11 days. couldn't stay for one single night. The "triple" room was a cubicle, without air conditioning and with a "tiny" window that had to be fully closed all the time, because it led to an inner patio with people, light and music.

So, we tried, but coud not sleep that night.

Next day, first thing in the morning was to find another place to stay. We've found a nicer place, well located, two bedroom, ocean view, etc. FOR THE SAME PRICE.

On check out, the receptionist dared to charge a "early cancelation fee". Arguing that "I saw everything I need on their website". Of course, I did not pay such a fee.

Well, despite of the filthy room, bad location, high price and a bad atmosphere, the breakfas was very good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eucherio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisambar, Owner and manager at Ambar Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2010

Well, we're very sorry about this review, and this for several reasons 1/ our location is one of the best in Salvador, near the beach and near everything tourists can need, and less unsecure than Porto da Barra 2/ our rooms and almost the whole hotel are cleaned everyday with care 3/ on our website and when booking is made, we inform that our rooms are small rooms and only have roof fans 4/ all pictures on our site are REAL, we don't use "large angle" fotos or photoshop, it's all like it is IN FACT 5/ people, light and music in the inner courtyard end at 10 p.m, as we know our guests need to have a good rest.
Anyway, we apologize for this bad experience.
Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews