We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 star as much hotel”
Review of Bahiamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahiamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The only thing good in the hotel is the breakfast... old rooms, bad service. The parking is free at least

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafaelol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2007

Before I start this review, please bear in mind that I did not pay for my stay in this hotel, I was booked in by the organisers of a congress in the nearby Salvador Convention Center. My views are therefore qualified by the fact that I was not spending my own hard-earned cash to stay there.

Overall, I had no problems staying at this hotel. In summary, its plus points are: proximity to the convention center, truly excellent breakfast buffet, proximity to the beach, perfectly adequate room facilities. On the negative side, it's nowhere near the centre of town, the on-site leisure facilities are limited (small pool, limited gym equipment, it doesn't have a proper bar) and from the posted prices at reception, it does seem expensive.

I get the feeling that this hotel suffers for falling between two stools, I'm not sure that it knows exactly what it wants to be. I couldn't really recommend it as a family hotel, as the on-site facilites are limted and the beach, while lovely, is not great for kids as the waves are quite large (although a competent adult swimmer will be OK). Yet I'm not convinced it makes a great business hotel, as it is quite small and, according to the other reviews, lacks some facilities. I'm guessing that most of its guests would be attending conferences in the nearby convention centre, and thus don't need many on-site "business hotel" amenities, and yet without many families there staying either.

The hotel is practically right on the beach front, with a pedestrian crossing as well to help you across the very busy road (extremely helpful). The beach is wide and sandy, and in the stretch in front of the hotel, jammed with barracas (beach snack bars) which have their tables lined up down to the tide line. This is because to either side of this ~ 500m stretch, there are rocks which would make swimming much more hazardous. This sandy section is also covered by lifeguards which is reassuring. Swimming here must be classed as OK-to-dangerous, if you are not a competent swimmer then I wouldn't venture in. But for those that do, the surf is invigorating and the beach dips slowly, so although the waves can pound you and sweep you around, the currents aren't so strong that they will whip you out to sea, and nor will they whisk you quickly out of your depth. Also, check with the lifeguards or beach waiters or surfers if there are any jellyfish that day, as they do get blown in occasionally, and the sting is painful (I can personally vouch for that!). If you do get stung, get out of the water straight away and ask in one of the bars for vinegar and salt, which should be splashed on the stung area. That will rapidly soothe the pain. I mentioned surfers, and here seems to be where a large number congregate to enjoy the heavy (and rock-free) surf. They are further out than the general area for swimming, although they occasionally ride all the way in so keep an eye out while in the water.

If you don't want to swim, or between dips, then just sit on a chair under the parasols, grab a cold beer, order some snacks and just enjoy the view. The people here are very friendly, and will help with just about anything (including the all important vinegar and salt remedies!). There are a few intinerant vendors, but they are very low-pressure and not-at-all bothersome.

Nearby the hotel are some decent restaurants (Yemanja and a portugese bacalau restaurant - beware, portions are huge - are the two I tried) and a short walk away (but only walk if you are in a decent sized group, otherwise take taxis) are a couple of bars with a lively evening scene (I went to Happy News, where there is live music at weekends). The Aeroclube is also a short drive away, with all the restaurants and bars you could ever need in one place. Also nearby is a good, 24 hr supermarket (Bompreco) with ATMs inside.

Overall I was happy with my stay at the Bahiamar, but find it hard to recommend to vacationers. There will be better located, better appointed, and better value hotels in Salvador for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Bo_Duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2006

Our company booked a meeting for 60 people. We did not get rave reviews about this hotel from TripAdvisor, but one of our (former) employees gave it a thumbs up so we went with it anyway. Problems included: *older parts of the hotel (rooms and hallways) were not cleaned at thoroughly as the newer part. Since some of our clients were given rooms in that section, it didn't go over well. *meeting coordinator didn't listen well enough to our request for special classroom size and ended up moving us twice after we got there. *hotel was still under repair after storms and the repair of the roof interrupted our instructor -- we had to ask adult students to sit on the floor in another room just so they could hear her. Tripadvisor reviews reflected the problems we encountered, so it is "shame on us". If this had been just a couple's retreat it wouldn't have been so bad, but for paying clients it was embarrassing. We won't rebook!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NewMeetingPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: escolham outro hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rafael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: peça quarto de frente para o mar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marciodiabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Piloto1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Peçam os quartos que ficam de frente para o mar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Araujo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
7 km away
Hotel Cocoon
Hotel Cocoon
#72 of 110 in Salvador
305 reviews
2.5 km away
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
Fiesta Bahia Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
983 reviews
5.3 km away
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#20 of 110 in Salvador
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sotero Hotel
Sotero Hotel
#6 of 110 in Salvador
569 reviews
5.5 km away
Golden Tulip Salvador
Golden Tulip Salvador
#31 of 110 in Salvador
1,303 reviews
9 km away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#34 of 110 in Salvador
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahiamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahiamar Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Mendes da Costa Filho 125 | Jardim de Alah, Salvador, State of Bahia 41750-190, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $54 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahiamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bahiamar hotel offers 129 rooms (Standard, Luxury, Executive and Suites) with cable TV channels, direct-dial telephone, 24 hour room service, in-room safes, broadband access and private balcony, form where you can see the beach. Everything to ensure you a perfect night. Same price for one or two people per room.The Hotel is conveniently located in front of the beach of Jardim de Alah. Close to the Convention Center of Bahia, main restaurants of the city, malls and tourists points.Wireless internet;Free parking place; Restaurant and leisure FacilitiesEnjoy the Marlin restaurant with its tradicional and internacional cusine. The restaurant also offers a fantastic buffet with international and traditional brazilian breakfast included at the daily fee. It is the perfect place for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Recreation area with swimming pool, sauna and restaurant overlooking the sea;Special Breakfast;Grill eats the swimming pool.Conferences and Business RoomsWith meeting and banquet facilities for up 300 people, we have the flexibility to cater to your needs.We also offer a modern Convention Room for 300 people, with a total space of 335m², secretaries and small meeting rooms, toillets, foyer's, sound room audio-visual equipment, air conditioner and energy generator.Our staff is willing to work with you in order to make your private receptions and corporate functions successful events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bahiamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahiamar Hotel Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing