We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel - but quite far out”
Review of Hotel Cocoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cocoon
Ranked #72 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This hotel is fantastic. As it is quite new the hotel is very modern and the rooms are well presented. The pool area is lovely and the staff are very friendly. However, be aware hardly anyone speaks any English and while pointing and sign language will get you so far, one of our group was vegetarian and ordering anything without meat was not easy. The food in the hotel was amazing and was one of the few places offering Vegetarian meals. There is not much around the hotel but the hotel is across the road from a very clean beach and near a huge supermarket. The hotel offers fantastic trips and we did all ours through the hotel. The big problem with this hotel is that it is quite away out of Salvador. So for our group, who were looking for some nightlife, this meant a 35- 45 minute taxi or bus journey to get into the centre. We also made the mistake of trying to do this journey after a football match - we eventually walked some of the journey. This hotel would be perfect if it was nearer the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comment on Cocoon. You are absolutely right; find garcons who speak English in Bahia is 'very difficult, but our reception speaks english and I hope thay have been helpful in other occasions. In reference to the night life you're right. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but during the day there but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach Also here in our area there some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). So even here we have a bit of nightlife. The next time you come in Salvador I will give you a free entrance for Bali beach club. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the nice comment. Best regards.

Pielruigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is small, the location is not so good, only for one night is fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You are absolutely right: we are a small hotel. But t I don’t agree with you about our locations.
We are on the best beach of Salvador at only 8 km from the airport. Really in our district we haven’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha.
So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the review. Best regards.

Pielruigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

As a former manager for a luxury international hotel chain, I feel qualified to leave this review:

The pluses: Warm staff, great food on the restaurant menu & for breakfast, close to beach, a relaxed ambiance, good music, nice pool, and a very international clientele the week I went.

The minuses: Went during Carnival & didn't realize distance from the historic district of Pelourinho -- it cost 30 USD each way in a taxi & it was 40 min. ride -- a little dangerous when drivers are taking you through some sketchy areas at night. Only one person on staff spoke English during our stay, and she did not work every day. I read reviews on TripAdvisor while staying there & noticed that the owner commented on this fact to other reviewers. but the truth is that during even the busy week of Carnival, there were no regular English-speakers on staff. Ants were also a problem.

The hotel needs to do a better job in their in-room literature on resources nearby in several languages for guests (a nearby supermarket, a shuttle to the mall, possible restaurants close by, etc.). I learned of several of these things near the end of my stay only by chatting with other guests.

I'd recommend this place for any tourists as an antidote to the hustle & bustle of the compact Pelourinho area for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reeniebeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is one of the most useful , real end objective on our Cocoon.
You have absolutely right : we have problem to find workers who speak English, but in the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
Also about the location you have partially right. Our district has’t the best Salvador nightlife. The best nightlife is in Rio Vermelho district but there is no beach. So you have to choose if staying in the chaos of Rio Vermelho with no beach or if stay in our quiet district with a beautiful beach. In our district, Jaguaribe, there are some night places like Bali beach club ( the best samba of the city ') and Oba Oba (the best pagode music of the city). More than this we have some good restaurants like the churrascaria Sal e Brasa , the Japan restaurant Zen Paulista and the famous bahian restaurant Yemanha. So even here we have a bit of nightlife. Thank you for your preference and thanks for the helpful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pielruigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here on a trip to Salvador while living in Sao Paulo. The hotel is wonderful. The staff incredibly helpfu and friendly. The food was wonderful, especially the bruschetta. The rooms very comfortable. The hotel is ultra modern. The pool nice. My only concern is that there isn't much for restaurants and other things in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MplsTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the good review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We're assuming that the theme of this hotel is based on the movie cocoon, since that's what it's called and it has a spaceship theme, complete with a habit of referring to its guests as astronauts. There isn't really anything I can say that is overwhelmingly bad about this hotel, but I find a lot about it confusing. The design sense is interesting if a bit cold, warmed up by shots of bright orange everywhere. There are even some kookie, fun features in the room, like a sliding mirrored wall that hides the bathroom and an orange fridge.
But why have every light, tv included, be on an on/off switch controlled by a key pocket so you can only have everything on or off? The toilet seat is also discolored, a funky yellow which is disturbing. It's in a strange neighborhood in Salvador, with nothing much nearby. The sheets on the bed feel like sandpaper, but the food and this restaurant isn't bad and the staff is full of eye candy. All in all, I'd say a better location, some English-speaking staff and tweaks to the rooms would make this interesting hotel worth a second visit.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ceeholahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. Your review was very helpful for us.
In the last 6 months we have changed some front desk receptionist and now we have 3 of 5 who speak English.
We also change all the toilet seat and al the sheets ( 300 pefil).
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon for check all the news Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I am happy that Salvador has finally a small stylist design hotel with a very good price. Is the first time in my live that I meet a design hotel with a right rice.

I know the city very well and the location is good for Salvador standard, where nothing is really close and there is no perfect location. The COCCON is located very closed to the airport and only at 200 mt from a beautiful beach.
The hotel has a orange pool and wonderful sun beds which we enjoyed very much. Breakfast has a great variety of choice including typical foods from Bahia and natural fruit juice.

Service was always polite and with a big smile.
I did not care much about the decoration of our room, but everything was clean and in order. Very good choice of TV channels, also international.
The only thing we both really disliked was the wine card. Only one type of French wine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gamal_Neto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Starting from march 2011w e have a new chef de cuisine , Dario, and we are receiving a lot of good review about our new gastronomy. Someone is speaking that we have the best Italian restaurant in Salvador. But you are right, we have to improve our wine list and we are working for do this.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Only one week..... not too much for tasting all the comfort that the Cocoon offer...
I leave there a piece of my mind looking the sea im my sweet room, with sea view!
A big kiss at our room cleaner, and all the people that work there....
A very good Hotel, a very good Holiday italian Style.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pulce074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINGI8, Manager at Hotel Cocoon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on Cocoon. You review is very good and we are very happy when our guests are satisfied with their stay at Cocoon.
Thank you for your preference and thanks for the useful review and hope to have you again at Cocoon. Best regards.

Pierluigi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Bahiamar Hotel
#44 of 110 in Salvador
535 reviews
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#34 of 110 in Salvador
419 reviews
Ibis Salvador Rio Vermelho
#19 of 110 in Salvador
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hit Hotel
#26 of 110 in Salvador
404 reviews
Sol Bahia Sleep
#76 of 110 in Salvador
441 reviews
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#4 of 110 in Salvador
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cocoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon

Address: Rua Haeckel Jose de Almeida 238 | Jaguaribe Beach, Salvador, State of Bahia 41613-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Salvador
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: $50 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cocoon 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cocoon & Lounge is located in one of the best beaches in Salvador. Our minimalist style architecture brings the excitement of hosting with comfort. The pool has a large wooden deck and a special lighting system that led to night changes color every 5 seconds and elegant loungers where guests can relax and enjoy it. In our hotel we have one branch of the famous Acqua Cafe Restaurant, considered the best Happy Hour in Salvador has diverse cuisine, with sushis, crepes, Bahian snacks and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cocoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Salvador
Hotel Cocoon Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing