We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada do Boqueirao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada do Boqueirao
Ranked #2 of 153 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This pousada run by an Italian lady is a fantastic place, incredible breakfast with the Italian touch ! the staff is very very nice and they are all friendly, they prepared breakfast to us at 5.00 a.m. on our check out day ! I would not esitate to came back here next time.The room was spacious and with a stanning view, the breakfast area was beautifull, all the pousada was beautifull and charming.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    47
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
43
100
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This pousada made our trip to Salvador extra-special. It is beautifully furnished and has a great view, and good location. All staff were extremely helpful, and Nino, the owner particularly. He organised bus tickets for us to Chapada Diamantina which were impossible to book over the phone or online. We had a huge room, and loved the breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustrianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

It was a very nice stay in Salvador, Nino, the guy who owns the pousada was very helpful and gave us great tips for the rest of our trip. The building of the pousada is beautiful with amazing interiors. Breakfast on a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea.
nice nice...

Room Tip: I guess rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnu00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Tthis Pousada was nice enough, we staid for a couple of days and were due to stay for one night again before our flight home. A word of warning, although we cancelled the reservation 3 days before they went ahead and charged us full price for the room using our credit card details that they had stored. Be careful not to give them your card details online as they will use them to charge your card without your approval should you need to change or cancel your reservatio.. I found this most unprofessional and I suspect is due to the fact that it is not actually doing very well and is tyring to hawl in as much money as possible, at the expense of good service.
When we staid before the room was OK, the view is of the industrial harbour and the army base.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottiepoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boqueirao, Manager at Pousada do Boqueirao, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
The allegation that we process guests’ credit cards without undue authorization is incorrect and unjust. All credit cards transactions are processed upon signed authorization from our clients.

The reservation in question was made by another guest, sharing the room with the complainant. The reservation was confirmed, and upon written signed authorization, dated July 08, 2011 from the accompanying guest authorizing my hotel to process the credit card to value of 01 full daily rate, we subsequently processed the credit card.

All reservations are subject to our clearly stated cancellation policy, where any cancellation made after expired deadlines will be subject to penalties. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated on our reservation form, in large print and highlighted in bold letters, immediately above the space on our reservation form where clients sign and authorize payment.

The aforementioned signed document was sent to our office by return on the same dat
e July 08, 2011 in JEPD format, (a document format that does not allow any alterations). We retain this document in our files, as well all other relevant documentation relating to the reservation in question, along with the cancellation received 2 days before arrival date, (and not 3 days), when the deadline for cancellation had expired, and subsequently, as per clearly stated cancellation conditions, the penalty was justifiably charged due to the late cancellation.

In closing we feel it pertinent to mention that any unauthorized use of credit cards are reimbursed by the credit card company involved.

Nino Cabrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Pousada Boqueirao is a wonderfully warm and charming colonial B&B with a gallery like feel, just up a small hill in magical Pelourinho. The location is perfect for walking and discovering the sites, restaurants and shops, although I do not recommend walking at night on ones own. The breakfasts were a master creation of delicious indulgence to awaken your taste buds... I am still salivating! a must stay while in Salvador!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

I have probably stayed here 10 times both for business and pleasure. I've stayed in most of the rooms and keep coming back, preferring it to more convenient business hotels (Pestana, Othon). The view is unique, the breakfast too, rooms comfortable, not luxurious but overall a fabulous place to rest, escape from the bustle of the city and wake up to a delicious breakfast and spectacular views.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCDaydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

This is an excellent hostel, which might give you a bad impression from the outside (at least that's what I thought at first). As soon as you enter, a huge area awaits you, plus the staff are so well trained (bet due to the owners being Italian!) Restaurant / Lounge area is situated port / sea view. Quiet neighborhood, in Pelourinho area, within walking distance to bars & restaurants.

Food is superb!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 113 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 113 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Bahiacafe Hotel
#6 of 113 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Convento do Carmo
#20 of 113 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#22 of 113 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Boqueirao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Boqueirao

Property: Pousada do Boqueirao
Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 48, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Boqueirao 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada do Boqueirao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Boqueirao Hotel Salvador
Pousada Do Boqueirao Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing