We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada do Boqueirao
Ranked #4 of 155 Salvador B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The pousada looks great. The house is impressive and very well decorated. I was looking forward to enjoyed the suite I booked. Unfortunately, I had to endure the party right in front of my window (or should I say a wooden shutter as there is no real glass window on this side of the building). If you plan to book your next travels, just be aware that internet is inexistant even though they give you a wifi password.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank SebastienSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

This pousada is very special with lots of local paintings and sculptures. Beautiful Building with various stairs and special rooms. All rooms are clean and spacious. It is in the centre of the old town, so 5 minutes walk to all historic places.
The breakfast is outstanding! The girls of the kitchen are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

the breakfast was amazing, many sweet and savory choices, eggs were made to order in many variations and breakfast was served on a terrace with a view on the sea. The service was great, the staff outstanding. We booked a double room with the preference for 2 single beds, they could not provide the single beds but after one night they offered us to change for no extra charge into a 60 square meter room, this was the absolute luxury and we enjoyed out stay there a lot ... here some photos from the place ... If you ever need a place in Salvador, close the the historic center, then I can only recommend La Pousada do Bouqueirao

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anjali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

This was one of the most beautiful pousadas we have ever stayed at - from the outside it looks very modest, and then you walk into what must have been a former mansion, with high ceilings, big verandas that look out into the bay, and terraces in the rooms. We stayed at a standard room with a view of the Bay. (the downside to this is that we also smelled the Bay early in the morning - but the ceiling fan helped to blow that away). The room was small, and though we were shocked that the door to the room terrace didn't close completely and the bed didn't have a mosquito net, there were oddly enough no mosquitoes. The rooms are small and simple, but clean and well outfitted with everything you need: ceiling fan, air conditioner, table, bench, bed, and closet.

Breakfasts were good and plentiful buffet-style. The pousada is only a five minute walk to Pelhourinho.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Bay
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank myracof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Very nice Pousada in a safe and interesting part of in the old town. Also a fantastic breakfast in an artistic surrounding ,with view of the port and the bay. You find good restaurant in the immediate neighborhood. I can recommend Poro, ruined by a very resourceful young lady.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank splendidworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Located in the heart of Pelurinho (where the Michael Jackson song 'They Don't Care about Us' was shot), this Pousada has so much character and heritage, it feels like you're living in a museum.
The breakfast spread is huge and delicious. We'd read reviews that the neighbourhood of Pelurinho (while culturally very rich) was unsafe after dark -but when we were there last month, it was crawling with cops 24x7 (also, the locals were friendly and helpful) so we felt very safe.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KartikeyaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We had stayed here 10 years previously and asked to be booked in here again . Pousada do Boqueiro is no luxury hotel but it has a lovely atmosphere and delightful staff , particularly David and the lady who is in charge of the kitchen . Other guests have mentioned the excellent breakfasts : much of the fare is home made . The views from the breakfast/dining room over All Saints Bay ( forget the cranes on the seafront) are fabulous and the decor is quirky and idiosyncratic . Ask for room number one ( but three flights of stairs high ) , a shower with a view and air-conditioning , essential if you go in Carneval time ! It's a reasonable walk to the historic centre . Plenty of eateries round about and if you don't want to go out you can order substantial snacks from the kitchen before 7 pm . Take plenty of toiletries with you ; only soap is provided . TV in Portugese only , in sitting area .
.

Room Tip: Room one , with separate bathroom . Very quiet as on sea side
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 110 in Salvador
537 reviews
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 110 in Salvador
1,088 reviews
Villa Bahia
#7 of 110 in Salvador
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#16 of 110 in Salvador
205 reviews
Bahiacafe Hotel
#15 of 110 in Salvador
616 reviews
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 110 in Salvador
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Boqueirao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Boqueirao

Address: Rua Direita de Santo Antonio 48, Salvador, State of Bahia 40301-280, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Salvador
Price Range: $48 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada do Boqueirao 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada do Boqueirao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Boqueirao Hotel Salvador
Pousada Do Boqueirao Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing