We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Need refurbishing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Fortaleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Fortaleza
Certificate of Excellence
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need refurbishing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Well, the hotel is located right close to the beach.
I am not sure when it was opened but obviously the money set aside to do some renovations in the room is not being assigned for it.
The rooms have seen better times. During one of my stays during this trip I got a room were the door look was broken of but not properly repaired.
In the bathroom there is a black mould. The shower head is flimsy and does not comply with today's standard.
Holiday Inn hotels should participate in upgrading their rooms to latest standards.
The slowest wire less LAN is for free but in some rooms the signal is very weak.
I can not see why the to be paid for service should be faster and better as they depend on the signal strength.
All in all the hotel is ok but for the price something better is expected and cleanliness must be very much improved.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K49c17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear K49c17,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    813
    201
    24
    10
See reviews for
656
461
76
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pierrelatte, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

very good location for beach lovers, even if I was there on business. The place is safe if you want to have a walk on the avenue along the seaside, as far sa you go towards the market. Nice view from the window on the ocean. Frankly good value for money (120 €). Nice breakfast buffet. Only restriction : if you don't speak portuguese don't try to get explanations at the italian restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Mr. Alain,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding Holiday Inn Fortaleza.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Fortaleza for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Liana Almeida
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Good Location, by the beach and very clean hotel. Room service was really excellent. I was introduced to a new Brazilian drink called the Camprina and kashasha. The restaurant was really good and delicious food awaited us. The morning breakfast is a delight, since the restaurant window oversees the busy road and on the other side of the road is the beach. Sea is blue and clean surroundings. When I had to leave early morning checkout the staff was courteous enough to open the restaurant early as 0500 in the morning to prepare breakfast. That was a nice gesture. Overall a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side give you a clear seaview and the bright city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny04_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience during your stay at Holiday Inn Fortaleza. We are always glad to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Liana Almeida
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

The main issue here it's not only the hotel service but the Fortaleza service level. The employees usually have no interest in do the best and the owners and managers are not supporting and teaching the local people to do the best service. There are excetptions like Geppos Restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaFDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Dear Guest,

The Holiday Inn Fortaleza's main objective is to provide an excellent experience to their customers.
Thank you for bringing your comments to our knowledge and help us, so we can improve our services.
Thank you again and we hope to serve you for the next opportunity!

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I was surprised at how clean the beach was and the beautiful views from my room that faced the ocean. The beach was directly across the street from the hotel and great places to eat and things to do were close to the hotel. I am looking forward to visiting this hotel and taking advantage of the quiet peaceful beach location.

Room Tip: Book the King room on upper floors if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Dear Guest,

The Holiday Inn Fortaleza's main objective is to provide an excellent experience to their customers and comments like your make us feel very proud!
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear that you liked our location and our staff service.
Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I first stayed at this hotel almost 10 years ago and recently returned for 2 nights on a recent trip to Fortaleza. What attracted me back was the ability to use Priority Club points so my 2 nights were free...

As said by many reviewers, it is in a good, but not great location. I found the staff (front desk staff all speak English) to be very friendly and the room to be a good size and very clean. The TV had both local and international channels (CNN, ESPN, and some others) and the shower always had hot water. The AC system was good, and there is a decent-size safe for storing valuables. They have on-site valet parking if you rent a car, but I did not pay attention to the cost.

We had a high-floor and a nice view of the beach. The room was quiet and the entire property was very safe. As with anyplace in Fortaleza, I would not recommend walking alone after 10pm. Prior to that there are always many people walking or roller skating along the beach.

The breakfast was very good. We did not use the restaurant for any other meals because there are too many good places to eat in Fortaleza.

I would stay here again if the price was right, but would also shop around and compare other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agoldman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, responded to this review, 24 July 2015
Dear Guest,

The Holiday Inn Fortaleza's main objective is to provide an excellent experience to their customers and comments like your make us feel very proud!
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's nice to hear that you liked our location and our staff service.
Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
186 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Large room, clan, with nice bathroom. shower could be better. Windows on these high floors are great (from 11th and up). you have to be patient with service, may be slow to do everything, what is normal in this part of the country. breakfast with great variety, only juices are terrible. I prefer better other locations on the beach, this place is not close to many restaurants, markets, drugstore, etc. Overall: on average.

Room Tip: floors from 11th and above have great windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdneves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#3 of 98 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Gran Marquise
Hotel Gran Marquise
#1 of 98 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
1.1 km away
Mareiro Hotel
Mareiro Hotel
#12 of 98 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Seara Praia Hotel
Seara Praia Hotel
#9 of 98 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
0.3 km away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#6 of 98 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#14 of 98 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fortaleza

Property: Holiday Inn Fortaleza
Address: Av Historiador Raimundo Girao, 800 | Praia de Iracema, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-050, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fortaleza
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#4 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Fortaleza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get to know the Holiday Inn Fortaleza. There are 273 apartments, all with sea views, in the categories Luxury, Special Luxury, Superior Luxury and Suite. Our events area holds up to 120 people, with 7 event rooms equipped with telephone lines and broadband internet access. A spacious foyer with sea views is available for coffee breaks and cocktails. There are also a fitness center, swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, games room, kids club (kids' corner) and a baby room. Facing the sea, you will be refreshed by your stay in an IHG Network hotel. We are close to the main tourist sites, as well as business centers and airport. Tailor-made for your visit to Fortaleza on business or pleasure. With completely renovated rooms, structure and concept, the idea is for you to enjoy sophistication with great simplicity. _ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Fortaleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fortaleza Hotel Fortaleza
Holiday Inn Fortaleza Ceara, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing