We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$92
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
HolidayInn.com
US$92
View deal
Vio.com
US$88
View deal
Expedia.comUS$92
PricelineUS$92
Hotels.comUS$92
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,356)
Filter reviews
2,356 results
Traveller rating
1,039
979
262
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,039
979
262
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iracema beach excellent stay room service comfortable stay beira mar small pool mode augusto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,356 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2022 via mobile

Overall: True professionals at heart. Location location location! Hotel is situated right on the Iracema beach. Property is not far from great restaurants, nightlife, beach and paths to walk, run and also exercise.

Staff: All staff were always attentive and in problem solving or stay enhancing mode. Pleasant interactions always.

Room service: Room service was excellent. Margarita was always pleasant and consistent. Always checking to see if anything was missing. I truly appreciated the attention to detail of the room.

Breakfast: Restaurant in premise was excellent. Breakfast was great and restaurant team were pleasant and ALWAYs helpful. Property also has two restaurants, one Italian and one French. Both locations were frequented by tourists and locals.

This property really works hard in ensuring a great stay. The team truly added value to my stay.

Thank you very much for a pleasant experience at Holiday Inn Fortaleza.

Room tip: Ensure you request a room facing the beach.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LBJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holiday Inn Fortaleza, Proprietário at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2022

Dear Guest LBJ18,

Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Fortaleza and sharing your comments with us.
Is a big pleasure to know that you had a great stay and our staff made you fell confortable. We will make sure our staff members will receive these complements.

We wish we can host you soon, when you came back to Fortaleza.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Fortaleza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2021 via mobile

I just checked into the hotel again. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Not your usually small Holiday Inn type. Good air con. Good views. Very friendly staff throughout the hotel. I would highly recommend staying here when I. Fortaleza.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank BangkokRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holiday Inn Fortaleza, Proprietário at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2021

Dear BangkokRyan,

Thanks for sharing this lovely review!

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Fortaleza. It's our pleasure to accommodate you and we appreciate your praise. Our team always goes above and beyond for our guests. You can see why we love having they here so much!

We're looking forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon. Have a beautiful day!

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Fortaleza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2021 via mobile

Rooms are large but in need of renovations. The decor is straight from 1997. All rooms have an ocean view.

Breakfast is extensive and the location is convenient.

Has English speaking staff.

Security staff take health and safety very seriously.

If I returned to Fortaleza I would consider staying here again.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank dls251
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Holiday Inn Fortaleza, Proprietário at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2021

Dear dls251,

We especially appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback during this challenging time. Your health and safety are our top priority as we are committed to delivering true hospitality to every single guest.

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Fortaleza.

We're looking forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon. Have a beautiful day!

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Fortaleza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2020

Location and Access – The hotel is on a prime ocean front position separated from the Praia de Iracema by a busy road. Nearby are many similar high-rise hotels and residences. There are only very limited shopping, restaurant and bar choices within close walking distance. The nearest supermarkets are a 10 to 15-minute walk. Fortaleza centre is 25 to 30 minute walk. Airport is 25 minutes by car – but allow extra time due to a major highway construction project. Close to the Beira Mar with some interesting places and amazing street art. Uber can get you to most places safely and cheaply

Google Earth – The hotel can be seen on Street View

Architectural Style – A brutal high rise 23 storey building clad in blocks of smoked glass and black and white ceramic tiles

I am going to divert from my usual review format as there are issues that have been raised by other commentators on TA which need a response and I think that the hotel management may be in the process of taking action to address these points

Staffing and Hospitality – My first hurdle. I don’t speak any Portuguese. Before arrival email enquiries were responded to quickly, professionally and in English. Check in and Check out on 2 occasions went very smoothly and any requests dealt with satisfactorily including storage of luggage during a side trip to Brasilia. Door and security staff were always very welcoming. Housekeeping – invisible but excellent with room and public areas perfectly clean. Restaurant staff equally hospitable with the egg chef even taking time (as well as cooking) to write on guests’ egg orders “Tenha um bom dia – Luana!”

Restaurant – Breakfast – Part of my stay coincided with Carnaval weekend when the hotel was full. During those few days the buffet breakfast was very busy and free tables were difficult to find. Despite this the buffet was always well stocked. Comments have been made in other reviews about the contents of the breakfast buffet. I have to say I found the variety and quantity of the international and local specialities on offer more than adequate and combined with eggs, omelettes and tapioca dishes cooked to order was more than sufficient to satisfy any appetite. I had dinner only once during my stay mainly due to the limited menu choice and prices higher than in other restaurants

Public Areas – There is a small manicured garden at the entrance and a covered area with seating. The double height reception area looks to have undergone a recent renovation and you would hope to be a sign of things to come. On the ground floor is a well equipped Gym. On floor “J” (first floor) a small pool area, jacuzzi, sauna, play and games rooms. The whole of this area looking very tired and by the time of my departure the pool, jacuzzi and sauna had been demolished and were due to be replaced over a 45 day period

4 lifts serve all floors and I never had to wait more than a few seconds for one to arrive. Corridors leading to guest rooms are fairly bleak and dowdy with ceramic tiled floors. Ideal for wheeled luggage but with a downside of accompanying noise

Guest Rooms – There are a number of options and I selected a suite with lounge, dining area, kitchenette, separate bedroom, 2 bathrooms and balcony

Unfortunately, this is where the comparison with the modern reception area comes to an abrupt halt. It is apparent that the hotel rooms are in a time warp. There had been an unsuccessful attempt at partly updating décor at some time in the past but this clashed with original features. For example, modern dark wood effect panels and furnishings, a complete mis match for the original orange wooden doors. An enormous space but with many design faults. Such as the badly located bathroom light switches, the inability to close the bathroom door with the bath mat on the floor. A large TV in the bedroom but no TV in the lounge. If a family were staying here would they all want to gather in the bedroom to watch TV? Outdated iPad dock. Poorly equipped and arranged “kitchenette”

The WiFi was unpredictable. Excellent at times and at others annoyingly unavailable

Having stayed at some of the most fantastic and some of the worst hotels around the World I don’t want to give too negative an impression. There is nothing basically wrong here. The accommodation was spectacularly spacious and clean, the furnishing and fittings, lighting and A/C were ok, bed and linens were good, Bathroom was acceptable with hot and cold water (although taps. shower fittings do need an upgrade). Overall décor was bland and uninspiring

Comment – The hotel has decided to invest in a considerable project to renew the pool/leisure area. If this is being carried out for health and safety reasons that is a perfectly sound decision. However, if this is just for cosmetic reasons; then the results will look good on the website photos and in brochures, but it will not overcome guest’s disappointment when they are shown to an outdated bedroom. Significant investment is needed to upgrade guest bedrooms to bring them up to contemporary standards. Certainly, a modern interior hotel designer could work wonders with my room

Security – CCTV throughout the hotel. Manned security staff on reception. Supposedly a guest register check for guests returning to the hotel after 22:00. Card key access to bedrooms and pool area. Room safes
During my stay the local police were taking industrial action in the Ceara region and consequently there was a strong military presence in the main tourist areas of Fortaleza

Eco Features – the usual request to re-use towels. Key card to control power and A/C. It looks like the memo from head office about sustainability has not yet been received in Fortaleza. Tea and Coffee cups are polystyrene with plastic lids and plastic stirrers in a plastic bag and drinking glasses also come in their own plastic bags. I went and bought a real cup and coffee jug from a local market. In the bathroom single use toiletries are generously replaced

Value for Money – Bearing in mind this was not the most contemporary or luxurious Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in but, taking into account the space in my suite, the staff and the excellent breakfast the rate I paid was very reasonable

X Factor – As a first time visitor to Brazil I was grateful to be able to reserve accommodation with an internationally recognised brand with the expectation of standards with which I was familiar. In this respect I was not entirely disappointed, but steps need to be taken to comprehensively upgrade rooms and suites if I were ever to return

Room tip: There are so many types of room available - if using a booking website make sure you select one that is appropriate for your needs
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank peterh125
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2020

Hi peterh125,

Thank you for your candid review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are always grateful when a guest takes the time and effort to acknowledge our staff. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconsistencies, particularly with the general upkeep of the rooms. I have taken note of your comments and forwarded these to our management teams. We utilize all comments for improvement of our product and services and will continue to work towards the highest standards for our guests.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and for staying with us. I hope that you will consider us again if your travels bring you back to our area. Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2020

I am of black ethnic origin and stayed in this hotel with white European friends who had a hotel room next to mine. We all have local friends but when it came to me inviting a local friend to visit me in my room for drinks before we went out, the hotel security prevented me from doing so unless I paid an additional amount equivalent to half a nights stay. My white European friends were not stopped by security and forced to do the same and were able to have visitors in their room on a number of occasions throughout their stay. My complaint to the Hotel Manager and to IHG with regards to this racially discriminating experience has been totally ignored. Do not expect to treated fairly if you stay at this hotel and are of the BME community!!!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thompsonp596
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HolidayInnFortaleza, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fortaleza, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Mr Thompson,

As per our email sent to you privately, we would like to reinforce our apologies and say once again that we are truly sorry for the misunderstanding on this situation.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews