We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Style B&B”
Review of The Appleton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Appleton Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Appleton B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Classic Style B&B”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed at the Quilt-n-Be while attending a wedding in Appleton. We reserved the cheapest room, which turned out to be located in the back corner of the first floor, through the kitchen. It had its own back door however, so we were able to come and go without even going through the house, which was convenient. The room was very large for the price, and the bathroom was sufficient. The bed was very comfortable. The owners were friendly and breakfast was good. We didn't learn much about the history of the house or any other history of the area. The house was a 7 or 8 minute (I'm guessing) walk from the main street through Appleton. The heavily patterned, laced, and quilted house decorations weren't quite to our taste (we're young, if that's an excuse), but there was an interesting collection of glass (crystal?) pitchers on display in the living room. Overall, the B&B was sufficient and suited our needs, but didn't blow us away. Breakfast was very good, but we felt awkward asking for seconds.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoon.17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
27
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsinite
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

For 2 nights we had no hot water to shower! We asked Carol for help to get hot water. No assistance was given to us. Her answer was, "It must be all gone." No adjustment was made to our bill. We also personally like locks on our room when staying at B & B's. No locks available on the room! We have really liked staying at other B & B's each year on our anniversary staycations. Unfortunately, the Appleton Inn has left us sadly disappointed. We do not recommend the English Cottage Room or this inn. We wished that we could have had a picture of the bathroom before reserving. Nothing was displayed on the internet. Now we know why! We have had better bathrooms at campgrounds. Carol was not hospitable to say the least when we expressed our concerns! We felt like we were walking on eggs after we mentioned the no hot water problem(no pun intended for this bed & breakfast!) Hope this review helps save you from the chill of a cold shower!

  • Liked — the idea to be close to the Fox River Mall
  • Disliked — No hot water, no door locks, poor hospitality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BBGuest61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oshkosh wi
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We had so much fun and were treated so well. We are excited to book our quilting weekend again with the quilt n be !!! Awesome . Such hospitality.

  • Liked — So cozy and warm.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leela4favre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2008

My husband and I stayed for our 10 year anniversary, and we had such a wonderful time. We got to stay in the lovely "romance and candles" room that had a fabulous hot tub. The owners are incredibly artistic and friendly. This was our first experience with a B&B, and we would definitely recommend it to others. I'm sure we'll be going there again.

  • Liked — Very artistic and romantic
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichop222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, WI
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2008

If you need a place for a quilting getaway and want to stay somewhere that has all the conveniences of your own home, then this is the place! Beautifully decorated, comfortable beds, a full kitchen, and plenty of space to spread out your projects, a quilter couldn't ask for more! There is a large room designated just for sewing...tables for your machine, comfortable chairs, a design wall to see your quilt tops come to fruition, and a designated place to iron. And there are even several quilting books and quilts lying around to use as sources for ideas and inspiration. Carole's creativity was evident in every room in the house. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, location
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QltCrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2008

I stayed here while attending a workshop at Richeson Art Gallery. Carole & Gordie were excellent hosts. I really liked the homemade granola for breakfast and the electric fireplace (even though I really didn't need it.) My room and bed was very comfortable. I loved the decorations. It was nice coming back to a homey room and living area after a full day of painting instead of a boring sterile hotel room. Kat

  • Liked — Convenient location, great hosts, nice rooms and main area
  • Disliked — I like everything
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newskgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2008

We spent two nights at the Appleton Inn when we traveled to Appleton to attend a recital at Lawrence University. We chose it because of the king size beds, bright colors, wireless Internet, and seating in the room, and we were not disappointed. The decor is so bright and cheery yet relaxing, and our room was sunny and very large and comfortable. It was cold the weekend we were there so we planned to just stay inside and relax most of the time, and this was a wonderful place to do that. Carole and Gordy are just as nice and friendly as everyone else says they are. Very quickly you will feel like you've known them a long time. And the breakfasts were also great. Everything was perfect, and we had no complaints. Oh, yes, we should add that they have a large variety of room types with various amentities so there is something for everyone!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmt_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.4 km away
Radisson Paper Valley Hotel
0.4 km away
CopperLeaf Hotel
CopperLeaf Hotel
#4 of 25 in Appleton
377 reviews
4.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Best Western Appleton Inn
Best Western Appleton Inn
#9 of 25 in Appleton
489 reviews
5.5 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
5.1 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Appleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Appleton Inn

Property: The Appleton Inn
Address: 300 W Prospect Ave, Appleton, WI 54911-6015 (Formerly the Quilt-N-Be Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Appleton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service B&B opened in 1991 in a historic home in a historic neighborhood. All room have modern amenities, WIFI, private baths and wonderful homemade breakfast. We would like to be considered a home away from home with a twist. We wait on you and we enjoy your stay as much as you do. Come and see our beautiful city and enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. Carole and Gordie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Appleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing