We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goodstay, but I would not call it Grand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Albany NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Goodstay, but I would not call it Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Arrived at the Appleton Airport 1015 pm and called for the hotel's airport shuttle. I carefully researched Appleton hotels and chose this one based on their website's claim of shuttle service (with no posted time exclusions). Guess what? when I called, I was told that there was no service available at that time, so we ended up taking a cab. the woman was apologetic and explained that the driver left for the evening and she was alone. However, the next morning, I was reimbursed for the cab ride.. It appears as though that there is a procedure in place for this as it must happen frequently. If you arriving late, be forewarned.

The hotel itself is nice and appears to be recently refurbished. The smell of new carpet was evident in the hallway. Bed was extremely comfy and all temp controls functioned well. One annoying quirk was that there was only one nightstand/lamp for the king-size bed. Usually, this a two person bed, so lack of second nightstand a real curiosity. The room was equipped with a nice LG flatty with HD channels. Upscale bath soaps/products provided in the bathroom. The shower was nice and featured a copious-flow showerhead.

Breakfast was a notch above the usual continental fare. Five different coffee types available, including a delicious Kona. All breakfast staff were friendly.

Checkouts was easy and the woman had no issues in refunding the previous night's cab fare. We took the shuttle back to the airport..one of the breakfast helpers doubled as that morning's driver.

Yes. I would stay again. I would also consider any of the the other hotels in the close-cluster of Appleton places to stay--many of which we could see from our room window.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbanyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dave-Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Appleton. We are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and gourmet breakfast. As far as the shuttle services goes we were unfortunate to have one of our staff memebers go home sick that evening, but we are happy that our front desk staff was able to reimburse you for your cab fair and take care of your transporation needs in the morning. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    101
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
143
114
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mosinee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Clean, comfortable room with excellent king size bed. TV was crystal clear with HD and plenty of channels. I love going to hotels for hot tubs, but am usually disappointed. This hotel has a great hot tub which is actually hot and quite large. The pool is small, but if you have kids, is shallow throughout (kind of like of big bath tub) and you can keep an eye on them right from the hot tub. Excellent for younger kids. Main desk staff was very courteous. Breakfast was also excellent (waffles, eggs, bacon, in addition to the usual cereal and muffins). Location is also very good if in Appleton for shopping (we were car buying). Mall is right next to it. Plenty of restauraunts, and in our case, car dealerships. Located right next to Hwy 41, so you can be right on your way when leaving. Exercise room has treadmill, eliptical, and stairclimber along with universal resistant excercise machine. All in all, excellent place to stay for whatever you are doing

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review of our property. We are glad you were able to enjoy our nice big Jacuzzi, great location, and all of the restaurants around. We are also glad you were able to take advantage of our free hot breakfast and our fitness center. We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Excellent room and lobby. Ate breakfast on the small patio outside the pool. Exceeded expectations. I want to find a reason to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all the kind words. Glad the weather was nice enough for you to enjoy breakfast outside! We hope to have you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was a very nice place. I was surprised because the price was much better than surrounding hotels, so I was expecting less, but thought what the heck, for one night it will ok.
Well needless to say they exceeded my expectations. Very nice, large room, looks to have been recently remodeled. Quiet, both inside and outside. Breakfast was great. I was expecting donuts and coffee....eggs, waffels, oatmeal....and more. What a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your stay! I'm glad we were able to exceed your expectations! It's always awesome to be able to do that! We hope to see you again on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed hear a week ago and I am very impressed. What a wonderful Business Trip I had and this Hotel made it complete. They have a Great Business Center that helped me get all my reports printed and also they have a fantastic High Speed Internet. I was able to get 15 megs of speed and was flying on the world wide web. They offer cocktails in the evening and a fantastic breakfast in the morning. I already made reservations for next month to wrap some things up for business. There are no complaints of any kind so do yourself a favor and try this Hotel.

Room Tip: My room on the first floor had extremely high ceilings. Very Cool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louis4fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
It is so awesome to hear that you had a fantastic business stay and that we were able to be a part of it. Nothing makes a business trip better than to have all the amenities a business traveler could want! We were glad you were able to take advantage of our high speed internet and business center for your reports. We do have the cocktail and wine bar bar in the new lobby so I'm glad you were able to get down there to try that as well. As always, a great FREE hot breakfast in the morning always helps you start your day on the right foot! We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next stay in Appleton, Thanks for all the kind words! See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I recently stayed at the GrandStay Hotel & Suites in Appleton, WI with four other friends for a ladies' get-away! The hotel is close to shopping and restaurants, the rooms are comfortable and clean, along with friendly and helpful staff at an affordable price. We all agreed that we would stay there again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We are very thankful for your positive review of our property. Guests tend to love our wonderful location for shopping, along with all the wonderful restaurants in the area! There's just about everything imaginable to do in the immediate area! We can't wait to have you back on your next stay!! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I would definitely stay here again. Rooms are comfy. Staff is very helpful. The pool and spa area were also much fun for the family. The pool is smaller than some hotels, but certainly perfect for fun with small kids or even alone as we were the only ones there. The best part is the jacuzzi is very hot! So nice, as many places keep their spas at "warm", thus defeating the purpose. The lobby is tastefully decorated and there is a large breakfast area. One note to business travelers, if you have a secure system it may not work with the broadband here as there is an access page that must be agreed to first which did not have an up to date certificate. I called the internet provider and they were not able to help me bypass this, so my business computer would not allow a connection, however my personal laptop was just fine. Location is right near the Fox River Mall and room keys currently offer a 20% discount at Bennigans across the street or 15% at Fridays.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verti94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandStayAppleton, Director of Sales at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to compliment our property! It is much appreciated! We are glad you loved the Jacuzzi. We always keep it at the perfect temperature for all our guests. We offer high speed internet through a wired connection in all our rooms, as well as wireless throughout the property. Sometimes wired connections work better with people's work computers is they have certain security settings. We are thrilled you took advantage of the key card discount. It can definitely be a nice addition to get a discount on your meal when you stay! Again we thank you for your patronage, and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
1.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
0.3 km away
No photo provided
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
9.1 km away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#7 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
9.0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
Address: 300 N Mall Drive, Appleton, WI 54913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Appleton
#3 Family Hotel in Appleton
#4 Business Hotel in Appleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GrandStay Hotel is a premier Hotel located in Appleton, Wisconsin next to the Fox River mall and surrounded my award winning restaurants and world class shopping. The GrandStay offers elegant and luxurious accommodations for comfort and convenience at affordable rates. Awarded the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for 2011, 2012 and 2013 the GrandStay Hotel & Suites is the place to stay for unparalleled customer service and a convenient location Located only 2 miles from the Appleton Airport (ATW) and next to HWY 41 and College Ave Exit. GrandStay Hotel welcomes family and leisure travelers as well as the Business Guest who find our business amenities and services especially accommodating. We have all your needs with our Wellness Pool/Whirlpool, Fitness Room, Business Center, Meeting Rooms and not to forget our quaint and cozy cocktail lounge to relax with your favorite drink while socializing or watching sports on one of the many flat screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Hotel Appleton
Grandstay Hotel And Suites
Wingate Hotel Appleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing