We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
58
108
89
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
108
89
31
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 298 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2016

The hotel is located across the street from the beach and the desk staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a bit better than expected because of a wide variety, but not great quality. That said, the rooms are very very noisy due to single pane windows that do hot seal and the heavy traffic on the main road in front of the hotel. I was assigned a room with no curtains on the windows facing another building - I felt totally exposed! I did switch rooms. The sink almost did not drain and two attempts to fix it failed. The rooms are antiquated and in serious need of rehab. To their credit, they are totally redoing one floor - the problem is that the jack hammer noise during the day fills the hotel so do not try to sleep in or rest during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Vitoria is a peculiar city in which it is located by the sea but it´s difficult to find a hotel in the beachfront. Most of the new ones are located in Praia do Canto (nice district, with many bars and restaurants), which is close to the sea, but not really within a walking distance. So, if you´re looking to staying in the seafront, Camburi beach is the best choice. La Résidence is very well located. You can wake up in the morning, do some jogging or walk around. Also very nice in early evening, crowded with people jogging, playing beach soccer or just relaxing. You should avoid waling around late at night (after 10pm). Seawater is not so clean (although the beach has recently been considered proper for bathing). People do swim in Camburi, but you could consider crossing the bridge and enjoying the beaches in Vila Velha (much cleaner). The downside of Camburi is that you won´t find many options for eating out close to La Résidence (if you have a car, that will not be a problem). Now, about the hotel: I stayed in a deluxe suite on the 10th floor with an amazing view (I could see the sea even lying in bed). Sparking clean room with a charming balcony. Price was good, about 50 euros per day (which is reasonable even for Brazilian standards). Others have said they were given old appartments. So I suppose it is worth paying more and staying in a better one. Staff were helpful and friendly, although some training would be lacking., Breakfast was good, continental, with some local cookies, fruits and juices. I only missed coffee (which is available on payment from a nespresso machine), but there was some hot milk and cappuccino powder. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant, but was not particularly impressed. Valet parking available. Internet available, but slow. I didn´t check the swimming pool not the fitness center (which are not in the hotel, but in another building behind it). So, if you´re looking for a luxury hotel, stay in Praia do Canto. If you want to be close to the beach, La Résidence is a good choice.

Room Tip: Vale a pena pagar mais e ficar em um quarto de frente para o mar
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Brazilians have a florid expression to define a run-down, low-quality and badly managed hotel or restaurant: ESPELUNCA. I's a perfect one to qualify this hotel. I went there for a business meeting held at the hotel itself with other 10 people, and still we got a bad treatment. They stuck us in the very old rooms with noisy and faulty air-conditioning although renovated rooms in the upper floors were available. Front desk was manned by unconcerned, inexperienced and uncaring youngsters. To top it, one person in our group ordered a fish dish in the restaurant and the fish came to the table duly cooked... But still wrapped in plastic film! It's a waste of their great beachfront location, but there are other hotels in Vitória which are well located and are worth your money. Stay away from this one at least until they finish renovation and change their lousy management.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2015

This hotel is in a great location, directly opposite the beach. The road in front is a 6-lane highway, which is very noisy. There is also the usual music noise at the weekends. The big disadvantage is that the hotel is undergoing renovations. In August 2015 the pool is closed, only 1 elevator works, and there is constant building noise during the day. The rooms are okay and they are very clean. The restaurant is questionable and the local don't recommend it.

Room Tip: Consider sacrificing the view of the beach and ask for a room away from the road. There are rooms and apartments, so price up both.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2015

Those hotels were perhaps the standard in 1960, but it is incomprehensible to offer this type of mediocrity today: not only are literally all items and amnities from past decades, but it speaks of an uncaring ownership to offer bare bulbs as room lights, toilet flushing which don't work reliably, TV from 1970s, a refrigator which is old and noisy, no alarm clock, a telephone system were you have to guess what to press for the receptionist, which is answered after 10 rings. Altogether, my rating is: "-5 stars" if that would exist!

Room Tip: You can't get a quiet room as the busy street in front is not sheltered by the one pane windows!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allia H, Gerente at Bristol La Residence Vitoria, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and our services.
This is the best way to grow as a hotel is knowing the needs and desires of our customers.
About suggested items and observations made in the apartment, make sure that will be evaluated and will endeavor to maintain more and more trained staff to better serve them with all the comfort that guests deserve.

Sincerely,


Walas Vargas
Chefe de Recepção - Bristol La Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews