We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big. Delicious. But, big.”

Coco Bambu Brasilia Shopping
Ranked #12 of 10,993 Restaurants in Brasilia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Cuisines: Brazilian, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big. Delicious. But, big.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Everyone else who has reviewed this place is wholly accurate. This restaurant is huge, but intimate, and the portions are massive, really designed for two people. I can ordinarily eat a head of lettuce on my own in a single sitting, but not with delicious marinated salmon, toasted corn bread and a delicate olive dressing. The food is totally delicious, and they happen to have a terrific wine list, but it should really come in smaller portions. I don't like that food will undoubtedly be wasted so its not the top score. Not necessarily the best place for solo travellers.

Helpful?
1 Thank 09Noah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,452
    1,335
    244
    64
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere and great food in a huge restaurant”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Because of the peculiar urban organization of Brasilia, the good restaurants are concentrated in one or two areas. It's not easy to find a good place to eat close to the 2 hotel areas. Coco Bambu is an excellent solution. Surprisingly located in the BSB shopping mall, it's a huge restaurant where you can go whether you're 10 people or a couple. Cosy atmosphere in spite of the dimension. You may have trouble choosing from the menu: so long that you get kind of repelled or discouraged. Beware: many of the entrees are for 2. We were two and hardly saw the bottom of the casserole with our moqueca (it had a different name, though.) Perfect service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurek_Kucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance and great dine and wine”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I visited this restaurant as a recommendation from a colleague, I am not to fun of eating in restaurant in a mall, but gotta say this one took me by surprise... Very popular, good thing our friend made reservations, has different ambiance, which makes it better... Drinks were awesome, we ordered different plates to have a taste, the pizza was very good, I liked the margharita one... i would come back when I return ti Brasilia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AGMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent quality but hard for non-Portuegese speakers”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My daughters and I went to Coco Bambu in the Brasilia mall and had a great meal, and also an amusing experience. The restaurant itself is really a normal, quite large restaurant whose entry just happens to be from the food court of the mall. But it has great decor, live music (our night a guy singing Frank Sinatra-type songs in english while playing a guitar). There was also at least one large screen TV showing an avant garde dance troupe doing an interesting athletic performance (all a bit surreal).

Regarding the amusing experience, at most restaurants we were able to navigate without speaking Portuguese but for some reason the waiter and menu gave us trouble here. They did bring out an English speaking kitchen worker who just arrived from India but he was not really helping with the menu, just trying to make us more comfortable! Anyway, we ended up not realizing the salads and pizzas were not individual but rather designed for 2-4 people each. The waiter was able to steer us away from getting three salads (enough for an army) but we ended up with a very large amount of pizza (twice as much as we should have ordered), which fortunately we were able to take away and have for lunch the next day.

Both the salads and pizza were outstanding. Really fresh ingredients, excellent flavor, and overall very good value for the cost. Would strongly recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsFarAndWisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food.”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

You'll find "Brasilienses" around. The food is nice. Avoid the wine (expensive) and try the beer; also, juices made with fresh squeezed fruits are a good experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rodualdo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coco Bambu Brasilia Shopping also viewed

 

Been to Coco Bambu Brasilia Shopping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing