We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
75
104
42
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
104
42
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful townclose to main squareantique furniturea lot of noisesmall towntwo nightspaintingshangershillmirrorplugcurtains
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 249 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location just off main square and next to market. Wonderful old building with heaps of timber and furniture to match, look out for the grandfather clocks.
Garage opposite was handy for the motorcycle and staff are very friendly.
There is no bar but you can be served from behind the scenes on the terrace or lounge.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sodburyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This nice hotel is located in the heart of Ouro Preto and has a parking lot (which is extremely convenient). Its central location makes easy to visit all major attractions in the city, Breakfast is just fair, service is very good and the decor (rooms and lobby) is very beautiful.
On the other hand, we got a room with a very small window in the roof, which prevented us from enjoying a sight that otherwise would have been very nice. For a 2-night stay, we don't regret the choice.

Room Tip: Beware of second-floor rooms. Ask for a room with a real window.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osvaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I splurged at the end of my trip and booked P.d. Mondego for 4 nites (minimum rental during Semana Santa). Located directly on one of O.P's main squares, this hotel is lovely. I got a single room facing to the back of the house. Not nearly as noisy as other reviews suggest. Actually surprisingly quiet! And the slanty ceiling attic rooms? Well I liked mine! I'm only 5'9, so if you're tall this WOULD be a consideration. Funny, I had a HUGE bathroom,but the toilet was sort of jammed into an under eave location. Again, no issue for lil ol' me, but if you played basketball in h.s., better get a different room.

Very frustrated that the very nice front desk staff doesn't speak 2 languages! at times there was a gentleman or two who did, but the regular (very lovely woman) front desk person was very hard to communicate with (as my Portugese is terrible).

Ouro Preto is like a fine Tuscan hilltop town, romantic and historical and gorgeous!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleTravelLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We knew what to expect, still decide to stay, and we don't regret having stayed. But still, not really worth more than a three.

Building is very nice, piece of history. Breakfast is OK but lot exceptional, basically like most better Brazilian breakfasts. Service is good.

We just got a regular room, on the upper floor, over the reception area. We knew they had no windows. reason being (see pictures) that they could not open windows in the room in this historic building. Instead, they replaced some tiles by transparent windows following the roof slope, which are not very visible from outside. Inside, they added boxes protruding from the rooms, that let light come in from these openings. I would think there would have been better solutions but so it is.

However, that is not the entire story. Rooms are small, From the door, you go down three steps, and there is a step up going to the bathroom, which is kind of dangerous if you need to go during the night without turning the light on, so as not to wake up your partner.

There have been reports that rooms are noisy. We had no problem and slept OK.

So would we go back? Probably, if only for location and the building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bauwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Although our room was not large and I hit my head with the ceiling in the far end of our room, the Pousada do Mondego is located in front of Saint Francis church and less than one block from the city main attractions.
Ouro Preto is one of the most beautiful cities we have visited. Located in a steeped hill all houses are neat, no electric poles or cables and beautiful landscape.
The Pousada serves breakfast but other meals must be in neighbor restaurants. We had delicious Mineira dishes in all restaurants.
The Pousada suggested a tour with van and guide (we were 10 people from 1 to 70) which was a great idea to visit ll landmarks and travel the very steep streets, that on foot were a not do it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews