We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, facilities a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location, facilities a bit tired”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the double cabin close to reception. Room was good, bed comfy, shower was iffy. Room was quiet but would not have been, had it been high season. This is a BIG complex. Cooking facilities were awful. Resaurant/bar was friendly and provided evening food at reasonable prices. Staff were all friendly and spoke english.
Breakfast was poor as bread/cake wasn´t always fresh and fruit was sparse.
The location is great for the Brazilian side of the Falls, but it is a way from Foz do iguazu town and the main road, but there is a local bus to take you to the main road.
The pool was good but the whole place was in need of TLC.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedonttravelenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    105
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
52
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The staff are very helpful and the setting is very convenient for the Brazillian falls. There is nothing nearby which means you are tied the place if you lack transport. That means you can be relient on the hostel for meals. Sometimes there are some staffing issues which can lead to slow food orders.
The big problem with this place is the noise. Visitors have commented on it in the visitors book, but nodoby seems to do anything about it. What is the sense in having 2 TVs and and a music system on at the same time in a small area. The TV should not have the volume so loud to enable people in the pool to listen to their favourite soap at the inconvenienece of other guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhyShouldIStayHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The Hostel is as good as its price. Because it is located in the backwoods it provides a pleasant atmosphere with lots of gulls which relaxed me.The extra meals (lunch, dinner, snacks) offered were excellent and cheap. However the kitchen offered was very poorly equipped with little dishware and a insufficient refrigerator. Not a good smell in my opinion (old food). Breakfast was OK. I was lucky to have found another woman who was also travelling solo but I wouldn't recommend it for solos since the atmosphere is mostly family type. There were excellent (as I was told) and poor bathrooms. At least the collective bathroom for the dormitories I used smelled of sewage. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I would start by classifying this “hostel” more as a resort, than a hostel. The grounds are incredible, sprawling and come complete with a decent on-site restaurant/bar, soccer field, pool and more hammocks than you can imagine. Though, note that the pool is not treated with chlorine or salts, as it is should be, which we felt was unhygienic and opted not to make use of the pool. Shame. We stayed in a double room with ensuite and found the room to be clean and spacious with great working AC and comfortable bed. Kudos to the staff for being so friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Restaurant staff were very accommodating and gladly prepared eggs and a salad for me for dinner. I really wish we could have spent an extra day there. About the location – the hostel is located on the way to the falls and near the airport, but is quite a ways from Foz do Iguacu. If arriving from Argentina, and you only plan on spending the night to see the falls, contact the hostel to find out the best way to get from the border to the hostel. If you take the bus, as we did, you’ll end up in town, which is well out of the way, and then have to catch a bus that goes back towards the falls (Cataratas) and get off on route. It’s more annoying than anything else, but we managed to figure it out, even without speaking Portuguese. Once you get off at the hostel stop on the highway, there is a free shuttle that will take you the rest of the way, so there’s little need to walk the distance in the Brazilian heat. There’s a coconut stand, so grab one and enjoy a refreshing drink while you wait. We took an early flight, so didn’t get to enjoy the breakfast, so can’t comment. Since the hostel surrounded by farm land, the stars are amazing and fun to spot Southern Hemisphere constellations. Finally, as for the falls, Cataratas, you need max half a day, so travelling from Argentina to the hotel, then falls is totally doable, provided you start your journey early. We managed, even with our transport blunder that took us out of the way to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieGirl_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Excellent place to stay away from it all. Great food and very helpful staff indeed!

They also do very reasonably priced tours to both sides of the falls and offer lots of information.

A very reasonably priced place to stay and one of the best on our South American trip- its an absolute must. You feel as if you're millions of miles away from civilization, though you have everything you need!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrutusWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuggi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We booked a cabana for 3 nights in Paudimar Campestre. Paudimar replied emails very well and service over all was very very pleasant. Unfortunately it wasnt a pleasant experience to come there in the month of June. Of course we wanted to visit Foz when there is a lot of water in the falls, but to stay in a hostel was not the best choice due to the lack of isolation in the cabanas and the rooms. It was an ice cold experience which we should have considered better before booking 3 nights at Paudimar. In case its summer, feel free to go there, you will love it because they even have AC equipment installed in the rooms, but in the winter time, forget it, forget it! If you want to have a snack, you will have to sit outside. Breakfast is as good as outside as well. Internet, its located outside. Game to play, outside. And believe me, you dont want to sit around in your room having a snack, its colder than outside. So the option left over is to go to the town, which is far from the hostel.
Price was ok, 90 Reales for 2 persons a night including breakfast. Breakfast was ok, dont expect anything WOW, but you will get satisfied in case youre not picky.
Location when it comes to the Brasilian falls is excellent.
So all in all, service was very very good, price ok, breakfast was boring.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samito77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This would have to be one of the best set out places we have stayed in a while. It is clean, neat and tidy and well organised. The kitchen, though a little dated, is separate from the other services, so it doesn't interfere with other people. It is kept very clean by staff. Bathrooms as well are clean and stocked with soap and toilet paper.

Other facilities include a swimming pool; a games room with pool and table tennis table and weights. there is also a bar /restaurant area, where you have your breakfast (included in the price) each morning. It too is great: fresh bread, cake, fruit, cookies with butter, doce do leite, juice, tea, coffee, chocolate or milk.

The common room with television, books and dvd's plus adjoining computer area is spacious and really cosy. An excellent wifi connection is also available.

I actually camped on the grassy area next to the building, so can't comment on the rooms, but if they are as good as all the other facilities, then I'd say, if you come to Foz do Iguacu, you should definitely stay here. Very enjoyable indeed.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accomodationreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#44 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
423 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#45 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,388 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
490 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Paudimar Campestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Paudimar Campestre

Property: Hostel Paudimar Campestre
Address: Alameda Caibi 201 | Remanso Grande, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-843, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Paudimar Campestre 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hostel Paudimar Campestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Paudimar Campestre Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil - PR

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing