We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios
Ranked #29 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The hotel is a chain if I am not wrong. The staffs were great, most of them spoke spanish, portuguese and english. My partner is australian which helped a lot.
The food was exceptional! They have shuttles to the main city town plus Geriba beach is walking distance. I had an amazing massage followed by cocktails by the pool. The room was big and had an outdoor jacuzzi. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Barbara
Every day we listen to our guests' needs in order to improve our services and to achieve our most important goal: exceeding guests' expectations.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon,



Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Immaculate grounds and airy rooms. Surprisingly excellent food, both for breakfast and dinner and will do snacks anytime. Free computers to use if you have to! Just 2 minutes from main beach, which has free sunbeds for hotel guests. Only drawback is that the pool is very small, not big enough for adults to swim. But its pretty for sitting around. About 15 mins walk to main town and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank rockg118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Lovely rooms with walk in bathroom and balcony. Bed in the floor so you need to ask for it to be raised if you have back problems etc. The pool is glorious, surrounded by exotic plants and comfortable beds. Restaurant quite good but overpriced. Short walk through safe street to fabulous beach with chairs etc. Buzios town in 5 mins a cab - safe and buzzing with life.
Only downside was the boat trip... They picked me up just after 8.30 and it then took NINETY minutes to pick people up from about 20 other hotels. You could argue it was a good way to see the town - but not what I wanted. A quick taxi ride at 9.45 would have been so much more pleasurable! The boat trip is actually planned for 10-12.30 - wish I'd known the truth... In the end the boat broke down and as I was going to Rio that afternoon I insisted on getting off and getting a refund. 20 mins in a boat took over 4 hours!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

This is a little paradise in Buzios. Perfect for a romantic trip, but also can work for a family trips. The beach is 1 block away and if you want to go to the city center they offer a bus at night. Rooms are very well decorated and the service is simply great. We loved our stay here and will definitely come back

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annabsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

For Serena hotels , it is really important to know our guests' preferences in order to succeed in satisfying their needs.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon,



Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

I'm currently staying at Serena, our stay will be seven days in total. There are lots of positives : the staff are excellent - all lovely, helpful and friendly, they can't do enough for you; it's in a great location - just a few minutes walk from Geriba Beach, when you get to the beach the hotel has chairs, umbrellas, surf lessons, and a food/drink ordering service, all of which is great. They offer a free shuttle bus service to and from Buzios centre, starting at 7pm. (Though we usually get a taxi back, for 25 reals). The breakfast buffet is fabulous, offering a very extensive selection of fruit, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, eggs, bacon, cheese balls, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffees etc..plus it's available until 11am. The grounds are lovely. They offer a number of excursions - such as trips to other beaches and a panoramic tour of the area.
A few things that weren't so great : the pool has been out of action for our entire stay due to some sort of issue. This is a real shame as some days when the weather wasn't great it would've been nice to just chill out by the pool, in the lovely grounds. But that simply wasn't possible with the work going on to fix the issue - the noise was not conducive to chilling out. Our room was pretty small, and as we were staying here for a week we spoke to reception and were subsequently moved to a bigger ground floor room. I can't fault their customer service in this respect, and the new room was much more spacious, with a lovely big terrace with comfortable seating area.
Overall we've really enjoyed our stay here, the positives far outweigh the negatives and I would recommend Serena.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SFK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear guest
Every day we listen to our guests' needs in order to improve our services and to achieve our most important goal: exceeding guests' expectations.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon,



Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Just spent 4 nights in this charming little hotel. Our room was basic, but clean and had a nice outside patio area. The hotel is very small and intimate, and very popular with young families. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and there is a 24hr reception with English speaking staff. This is very relevant if you don't speak Portuguese or Spanish, as very few Brazilians outside Rio speak English. Location wise, it was very close to Geriba beach (5 min walk, if that), but if the beach isn't your thing, there is nothing else in the immediate area. The hotel itself offers a free shuttle service to the main part of Buzios in the evening, if you like to eat out, but we had our meals in the hotel, which served a really nice buffet breakfast and evening meal. A free Panoramic tour of the area let us see some of the rest of the peninsula, which had some lovely bays and beaches. This was the beginning of our holiday and provided a very nice opportunity to wind down and relax - a far cry from Britain in February! The downside to this hotel is the transfer from Rio - taxi is the only option if you are travelling outside normal hours, although a bus service is available during the day. Either way, it is a minimum of 2 and a half hours, and not cheap by taxi, so you need to budget for that. Our only other concern was the way the bed was made. Although clean, for some peculiar reason the sheets did not fit the bed, which meant the bottom sheet only covered 2/3rds of the mattress. I was too tired the first night to care, but I did wonder why they could not use two sheets if necessary - the realisation that my feet were directly on the matress slightly disturbed me! This aside, it was a great few days.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieVF03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestiondeCalidad, Gerente at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2016

For Serena, it is really important to know our guests' preferences in order to succeed in satisfying their needs.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments on our daily work. They let us know we are successfully achieving our goals.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotels soon,



Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

My friend and I stayed at Serena over the Christmas holidays. If you're looking for a quiet hotel away from the crowds downtown, then this is the place to be. The hotel has evening shuttles downtown, but with the current USD/BRL exchange rate, taxis were pretty inexpensive for us. (Downtown Buzios was fairly quiet over the Christmas holidays, but I can imagine the traffic going downtown during peak summer could be pretty bad.) The property is an oasis, but the upkeep isn't entirely immaculate. Aesthetically, there are small flaws, but at the price we paid, we weren't expecting perfection. Highlights of the hotel are the breakfast buffets and the staff.

The breakfast buffet included scrambled eggs, cold cuts, cheese, breakfast meats, pastries, freshly squeezed juices (pineapple, watermelon, etc.), and great tropical fruits. I know some people would like to have more to choose from, but some protein, some amazing fruit and fruit juices, and some coffee was good enough for us--especially since we were spending all day at the beach.

The staff was incredibly nice and helpful with almost everything. Some of them speak English, and some don't, but we always managed to communicate. Don't expect the staff to wait on you, but if you want or need something, they will get it right away. The biggest flaw with the hotel is the lack of concierge service. Our bad experience occurred prior to arrival at the hotel: we had set a pick up for our friend who was already in Rio with a subsequent pickup at the airport. The problem started when our friend in Rio decided that he no longer wanted to make the trip. I will never know what the conversation was, but there was no car to pick us up at the airport. We find out at the airport that the "concierge" who booked our car was actually in Argentina, and there was no way to get in contact with anyone who could help us find our driver. Almost 2 hours after landing, we decided to take a taxi to Buzios. When we got to Serena, front desk said that they would help figure the car situation, which helped calm us down for the rest of our vacation. On the last evening, the front desk clerk tried to get us to pay for the car we never took, but we refused. He definitely lacked any decorum, and escalated our conversation into yelling pretty quickly, but we stood our ground.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mmt235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.9 km away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#22 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
600 reviews
3.4 km away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
556 reviews
2.5 km away
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
#26 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
730 reviews
0.2 km away
Corais e Conchas
Corais e Conchas
#11 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
612 reviews
3.1 km away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#19 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios

Address: Rua Campo de Pouso 1630, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Serena Buzios)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#10 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#18 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#38 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $164 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios is located just 100 meters from the Geriba beach, being the only resort with an easy beach-level access, providing an easier access to the elderly and younger children. Surrounded by 6,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens, the hotel also features a deck and lit outdoor pool, and a 24 hour bar service. Furthermore, recreational areas, and children's play area supervised by trained staff With complimentary WI-FI throughout the resort, our rooms range up to 70 m2 with king-sized beds, cable TV, Mini bar and a safe deposit box. Most rooms offer a beautiful private garden with a Jacuzzi. Our buffet breakfast stays open till 11 am with hot dishes prepared by our very own on site chefs. Our gourmet restaurant offers a wide range of international and local cuisine with a top notch bar service. Serena also offers a weekly program of live music shows. In addition, our service is also available at the beach providing beach chairs, umbrellas, tables and chairs. The hotel has a stylish modern design, but respects the colonial materials and architecture of the local region. Serena offers free hourly shuttle services to downtown Buzios during the afternoon and night as well as other local beaches. Our guests are also encourages to take water sports lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Buzios Hotel Buzios
Serena Hotel Buzios
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing