We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
213
91
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
91
22
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 336 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2015 via mobile

It's in a great spot and the views and terrace are terrific. Some of the older reviews of this place are out of date. The rooms have been renovated and are clean and are ok.

Having said that, the pool is more of a plunge pool and the place was a building site when we were there so it was noisy and full of workmen in the gardens. The overall finish is ok, but needs the extra 10% attention to detail to make it a good hotel. Our bathroom door handle fell off and the bathroom light switch was located in the shower.

Breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2014

In a swanky town, in the middle of the World Cup, we were pleasantly surprised to find this seemingly colonial place at an unbelievable price. Granted without a car, it may be tough to hike up to the pousada from town or from one of the beaches, but the view is great, and the rooms are nice enough. Throw in the breakfast and wifi, and you would be impressed even if this was 50 kms from town. If you arent willing to pay a millionaire's price in a millionaire's town, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had the fortune of choosing this moderately priced "pousada" online and one is always weary of booking a place just by looking at pictures online. Upon arrival we were greeted by a courteous staff with local drinks, and were simply amazed at the breathtaking view of the ocean our room had. Inside a natural preserve style land, surrounded by large birds, little monkeys hanging on the trees, we were delighted by the most hospitable host, Dna Helena, the court's owner and an incredibly kind and gracious person. A little further from the beach than the other snobby hotels, this place makes each step of the half a mile walk through beautiful surroundings a no-brainer... Booked already for next year and recommending "Janelas do Mar" hands down, with no reservations...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper deck bungalows at no additional charge...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinhoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is my first act upon moving hotels; to warn all future customers to go elsewhere. The positives, the view is exactly as advertised and the staff is very nice and tries very hard to be accommodating.

The bad: rooms are disgusting, bed sheets haven't be refreshed in 20 years. They only clean and change the towels every two days. Mold is everywhere. We also shared our room with a few hundred ants Lastly, out first room smelled of manure, so they politely allowed us to change rooms to one that smelled less of manure but had a wondeful bouquet of urine.re- Reading this I can't impress on readers how dirty and grimy this place is. I've backpacked around central America and SE Asia for cOnsiderable amounts of time and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in and most expensive ($215 dollar a night price tag).

If they do major renovations on the rooms, this place would be very nice. Until someone posts about this I'd say consider Pousada La Chimera right down the road. $75 a night cheaper and all you'd expect for the price. avoid Janelles at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coachfinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews