We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Janellas do Mar
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend and couldn't recommend more for a short stay in Buzios. The staff were friendly and welcoming upon arrival. The rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and tastefully decorated. It's a slight walk out of the town but worth it for the amazing views at the top of the hill. Really enjoyed our few days here.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank shortar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 7 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016

POSITIVES: The Pousada itself if really nice- it is done up to a high standard, and has a beautiful garden/patio area and pool. The location is good as it is within easy walking distance to the main town area. Above all else, the views from the top floor and patio area are beautiful. You can see right out over the ocean and the sunset from up there is amazing. The rooms are decorated to a good standard and the bed was comfortable, the balcony in the room was lovely and sitting in the hammock looking out at the ocean was delightful.

NEGATIVES: Our experience at this Pousada was really frustrating. We read several reviews on TripAdvisor before we booked, and could see that there were complaints about noisy refurbishments. Due to the fact that we were looking for a peaceful and romantic getaway, we wanted to be sure that we weren't going to be disturbed. The staff assured us that the refurbishment was nowhere near our room, and that there was no noise as it was only painting. We arrived to find that this was all lies, there was fairly consistent banging and drilling close to the room for the duration of the stay, despite repetitively asking them to do something about it. They did apologize several times and offered us a free meal to apologize, but the noise continued regardless.

The breakfast at Janellas do Mar is good if you get there before 8.30. If you wait until later on then they run out of the nice food and you are stuck with toast and eggs that have been sitting in a heated bowl for ages going hard. There are ants and bees everywhere that crawl all over the sweet breakfast foods as the staff don't cover anything up, they just leave the food standing there. This is a really easy thing for them to fix by simply putting nets over the food and we didn't understand why they didn't do this.

If you go to this Pousada, don't bank on eating here in the evenings etc- they don't have the food that is on the menu. Although if you like pasta and pizza then definitely try La Dolce Vita restaurante in town, it's fabulous.

OVERALL, this pousada has the potential to be fabulous. It is a beautiful building with great amenities that has a breathtaking view and is located in an ideal spot. Unfortunately the owners and staff don't seem to care about their guests enough to make the simple changes necessary for a stay here to be enjoyable. Our trip was far more stressful than it needed to be due to things that could have been easily avoided.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are slightly more expensive but have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

It's in a great spot and the views and terrace are terrific. Some of the older reviews of this place are out of date. The rooms have been renovated and are clean and are ok.

Having said that, the pool is more of a plunge pool and the place was a building site when we were there so it was noisy and full of workmen in the gardens. The overall finish is ok, but needs the extra 10% attention to detail to make it a good hotel. Our bathroom door handle fell off and the bathroom light switch was located in the shower.

Breakfast was pretty good.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

In a swanky town, in the middle of the World Cup, we were pleasantly surprised to find this seemingly colonial place at an unbelievable price. Granted without a car, it may be tough to hike up to the pousada from town or from one of the beaches, but the view is great, and the rooms are nice enough. Throw in the breakfast and wifi, and you would be impressed even if this was 50 kms from town. If you arent willing to pay a millionaire's price in a millionaire's town, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Had the fortune of choosing this moderately priced "pousada" online and one is always weary of booking a place just by looking at pictures online. Upon arrival we were greeted by a courteous staff with local drinks, and were simply amazed at the breathtaking view of the ocean our room had. Inside a natural preserve style land, surrounded by large birds, little monkeys hanging on the trees, we were delighted by the most hospitable host, Dna Helena, the court's owner and an incredibly kind and gracious person. A little further from the beach than the other snobby hotels, this place makes each step of the half a mile walk through beautiful surroundings a no-brainer... Booked already for next year and recommending "Janelas do Mar" hands down, with no reservations...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper deck bungalows at no additional charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinhoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is my first act upon moving hotels; to warn all future customers to go elsewhere. The positives, the view is exactly as advertised and the staff is very nice and tries very hard to be accommodating.

The bad: rooms are disgusting, bed sheets haven't be refreshed in 20 years. They only clean and change the towels every two days. Mold is everywhere. We also shared our room with a few hundred ants Lastly, out first room smelled of manure, so they politely allowed us to change rooms to one that smelled less of manure but had a wondeful bouquet of urine.re- Reading this I can't impress on readers how dirty and grimy this place is. I've backpacked around central America and SE Asia for cOnsiderable amounts of time and this was the worst hotel I ever stayed in and most expensive ($215 dollar a night price tag).

If they do major renovations on the rooms, this place would be very nice. Until someone posts about this I'd say consider Pousada La Chimera right down the road. $75 a night cheaper and all you'd expect for the price. avoid Janelles at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Coachfinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Não há necessidade de pegar o quarto mais luxuoso, a vista dos outros quartos é incrível também.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperJEFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
3 km away
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Pousada Vila Pitanga
#24 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
704 reviews
1.2 km away
Buzios Centro Hotel
Buzios Centro Hotel
#35 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
249 reviews
1.6 km away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Buzios Arambare Hotel
Buzios Arambare Hotel
#73 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
111 reviews
1.9 km away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#31 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
339 reviews
0.8 km away
La Chimere
La Chimere
#2 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Janellas do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Janellas do Mar

Address: Rua Bela Vista 8 | Praia João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#5 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $94 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Janellas do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This ecological Inn is all you want to feel close and in harmony with Nature. Here we are close to the best beaches of Búzios! You can go walking to the center of the Village, delighting the amazing view of the shore. Come to enjoy this place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Janellas do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Janellas Do Mar Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing