We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vila Pedra Mar(Ilha Grande)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Lagamar(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$42/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Praia da Crena Inn(Ilha Grande)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Armacao dos Anjos(Ilha Grande)(Great Value!)
US$35
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pousada Naturalia(Ilha Grande)
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Asalem(Ilha Grande)
US$137
CheapTickets
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
194
69
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
69
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssound of the wavesthe ownercakessea viewcomplimentary breakfastfresh juicespent three nightsrio de janeiroa wonderful stayrainy daymain villagegerardpousadabrazilislandluamar
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 277 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2016

We stayed in the Pousada Manaca and had a fabulous, relaxing time. The owner Gerard was very welcoming as were his staff. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean and had everything you need, including a fridge and a gorgeous balcony to watch the world go by. The breakfast was amazing, everything you could want to start your day and really enough to take you through to dinner time with a buffet of fruits, cereals, cake, cheese and meats and the most delicious fresh juice. The pousada is a very short way from the main part of the town and feels quieter and less hectic but there are some cool bars and restaurants nearby. The cool breeze off the sea makes it feel less hot than other parts of the town.
Ilha Grande is a wonderful place to get away from the bustle of Rio and we went on a fantastic hike to the other side of the island and the Atlantic beach which I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IssyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2016

Pousada Manaca is the perfect location to unwind and forget about your stresses.

We arrived by boat from busy, bustling Rio and were dropped at the small town of Abraao. Pousada Manaca is a short stroll along the beach from the town, but far enough away that it feels separated and quieter.

From our arrival we were welcomed with a smile and shown to our sea-view room, which was basic, clean and well kitted out with a bathroom, fridge and balcony, which included a hammock. The view is over the beach with many boats bobbing in the water.

It's a short 5 minute walk to the town, which has many restaurants and bars, however we preferred the 4-5 bars and restaurants which were just next to the inn. All provide table son the sand and offer an excellent selection of meat and fish dishes.

The breakfast offered is fantastic, providing a tasty selection of fruit, breads, meats, cheeses, granola, etc. The guesthouse is French owned and the quality of the food is superb and plentiful. We found that following breakfast we didn't need to eat again until dinner.

Gerard, the owner, is an excellent source of knowledge and made several recommendations for hikes and beaches. His suggestion of a hike to Lopes Mendes (roughly 2 hours) followed by a day at the beach and a taxi ride back (€5 per person) was the perfect way to spend a day.

It is the perfect example of island life. Travel light as you'll live in bare feet or flip flops with tees and shorts the standard staple. There is a bar very close to the inn that has a large tree on the beach outside that has regular BBQs serving fish and meat selections that we would highly recommend. It's also a great location for a drink at the end of the day.

If you're able to, do take one of the many hikes on the island, whilst boat trips are an excellent way to explore if you're not up to the strenuous walks.

Pousada Manaca was a home-from-home for our 4 day trip and we were sad to leave. There may be grander inns on the island, but in our view its location trumps all.

The wifi is intermittent, but this is the case throughout the island. Just shut down and enjoy the break from digital life.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view overlooking the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2016

We stayed here a couple of years ago and I never got around to writing a review. But better late than never. My husband and I were traveling with our 21 month old son and I really wanted to select a place that would be well suited for our needs. Manaca is the place! I am so happy we landed here. First off the owner went out of his way to assist with our transportation to the island from our hotel in Rio de Janeiro. This made for an easy trip and great start to our stay on the island. We stayed in the room on the main level just beside the breakfast area. This was ideal for us while our son napped. We were able to relax outside the room and enjoy the ocean breeze and still be able to hear if our boy woke up. Very nice. The room was a tad small but otherwise fine. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed as well as information to explore the island. We enjoyed many nice hikes to different beaches and everyone we encountered was so friendly. Overall this was a terrific place for us. We have such wonderful memories. I would definitely recommend Ilha Grande and specifically Pousada Manaca.

Room Tip: We chose first floor room with ocean view. It was great for our family of 3.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shegaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2016

I was at Manaca Inn in September 2015 and had a wonderful experience. The location is perfect, 5 minutes from the pier and yet away from the confusion of all bars/restaurants. Right on the beach, you can hear the ocean while falling asleep...I absolutely loved it and would go back tomorrow! Breakfast was great too, with lots of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, cakes, sandwiches etc. It may be the case that staff does not speak English well (I speak Portuguese so it was not an issue), but hey, it's Brazil! It is not easy to find hotel staff that speaks fluent English anywhere. But they are so friendly that it won't be an issue to communicate with your hands, if needed!
I really recommend this place for the ultimate Ilha Grande experience! No complaints whatsoever. Go, go, go!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank saralusini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The breakfast is delicious, fresh orange juice and eggs made to order along with lots of other options. The staff are really helpful and friendly despite the fact we didn't speak any Portuguese really and they were very patient! My tip would be to spend a little extra and choose the rooms on the first floor- amazing view. Also if you get there by Easy Transfer make sure you get off on the 2ND stop, otherwise you will have to carry your luggage along the beach as they don't have a transport service for bags at the first stop.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Missmaryjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews