We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely personal touches”
Review of Pousada Manaca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Manaca Inn
Ranked #7 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Gerard is a wonderful host and provides great tips and stories about the island. The atmosphere at the pousada is utter bliss. A bit away from the centre of the village, this place is perfect if you need to unwind. We suggest that you take in the island from a gently swaying hammock on the balcony.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the sea - if they're not too busy, they'll definitely give you it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tombola00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed in the Pousada Manaca and had a fabulous, relaxing time. The owner Gerard was very welcoming as were his staff. The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean and had everything you need, including a fridge and a gorgeous balcony to watch the world go by. The breakfast was amazing, everything you could want to start your day and really enough to take you through to dinner time with a buffet of fruits, cereals, cake, cheese and meats and the most delicious fresh juice. The pousada is a very short way from the main part of the town and feels quieter and less hectic but there are some cool bars and restaurants nearby. The cool breeze off the sea makes it feel less hot than other parts of the town.
Ilha Grande is a wonderful place to get away from the bustle of Rio and we went on a fantastic hike to the other side of the island and the Atlantic beach which I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IssyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Pousada Manaca is the perfect location to unwind and forget about your stresses.

We arrived by boat from busy, bustling Rio and were dropped at the small town of Abraao. Pousada Manaca is a short stroll along the beach from the town, but far enough away that it feels separated and quieter.

From our arrival we were welcomed with a smile and shown to our sea-view room, which was basic, clean and well kitted out with a bathroom, fridge and balcony, which included a hammock. The view is over the beach with many boats bobbing in the water.

It's a short 5 minute walk to the town, which has many restaurants and bars, however we preferred the 4-5 bars and restaurants which were just next to the inn. All provide table son the sand and offer an excellent selection of meat and fish dishes.

The breakfast offered is fantastic, providing a tasty selection of fruit, breads, meats, cheeses, granola, etc. The guesthouse is French owned and the quality of the food is superb and plentiful. We found that following breakfast we didn't need to eat again until dinner.

Gerard, the owner, is an excellent source of knowledge and made several recommendations for hikes and beaches. His suggestion of a hike to Lopes Mendes (roughly 2 hours) followed by a day at the beach and a taxi ride back (€5 per person) was the perfect way to spend a day.

It is the perfect example of island life. Travel light as you'll live in bare feet or flip flops with tees and shorts the standard staple. There is a bar very close to the inn that has a large tree on the beach outside that has regular BBQs serving fish and meat selections that we would highly recommend. It's also a great location for a drink at the end of the day.

If you're able to, do take one of the many hikes on the island, whilst boat trips are an excellent way to explore if you're not up to the strenuous walks.

Pousada Manaca was a home-from-home for our 4 day trip and we were sad to leave. There may be grander inns on the island, but in our view its location trumps all.

The wifi is intermittent, but this is the case throughout the island. Just shut down and enjoy the break from digital life.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We stayed here a couple of years ago and I never got around to writing a review. But better late than never. My husband and I were traveling with our 21 month old son and I really wanted to select a place that would be well suited for our needs. Manaca is the place! I am so happy we landed here. First off the owner went out of his way to assist with our transportation to the island from our hotel in Rio de Janeiro. This made for an easy trip and great start to our stay on the island. We stayed in the room on the main level just beside the breakfast area. This was ideal for us while our son napped. We were able to relax outside the room and enjoy the ocean breeze and still be able to hear if our boy woke up. Very nice. The room was a tad small but otherwise fine. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed as well as information to explore the island. We enjoyed many nice hikes to different beaches and everyone we encountered was so friendly. Overall this was a terrific place for us. We have such wonderful memories. I would definitely recommend Ilha Grande and specifically Pousada Manaca.

Room Tip: We chose first floor room with ocean view. It was great for our family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shegaltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I was at Manaca Inn in September 2015 and had a wonderful experience. The location is perfect, 5 minutes from the pier and yet away from the confusion of all bars/restaurants. Right on the beach, you can hear the ocean while falling asleep...I absolutely loved it and would go back tomorrow! Breakfast was great too, with lots of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, cakes, sandwiches etc. It may be the case that staff does not speak English well (I speak Portuguese so it was not an issue), but hey, it's Brazil! It is not easy to find hotel staff that speaks fluent English anywhere. But they are so friendly that it won't be an issue to communicate with your hands, if needed!
I really recommend this place for the ultimate Ilha Grande experience! No complaints whatsoever. Go, go, go!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank saralusini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. The breakfast is delicious, fresh orange juice and eggs made to order along with lots of other options. The staff are really helpful and friendly despite the fact we didn't speak any Portuguese really and they were very patient! My tip would be to spend a little extra and choose the rooms on the first floor- amazing view. Also if you get there by Easy Transfer make sure you get off on the 2ND stop, otherwise you will have to carry your luggage along the beach as they don't have a transport service for bags at the first stop.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Missmaryjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

This is a very nice Pousada on the beach in Ilha Grande.

The breakfast is excellent and way better than most. Gerard, the French Owner, is always on hand to help and offer advice. He is a character, very funny and speaks many languages.

We stayed in room 3 which l think has the best balcony on the upper flor. Great views.

Recommend for a 3 to 4 day stay on the island.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanRossEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
56.8 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
555 reviews
56.9 km away
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
#2 of 96 in Ilha Grande
314 reviews
56.3 km away
Aratinga Inn
Aratinga Inn
#1 of 17 in Vila do Abraao
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.5 km away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
315 reviews
56.9 km away
Pousada Caicara
Pousada Caicara
#6 of 96 in Ilha Grande
237 reviews
37.7 km away
Pousada Dolce Vita
Pousada Dolce Vita
#13 of 96 in Ilha Grande
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Manaca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Manaca Inn

Address: Praia do Abraao, 333, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $107 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Manaca is located at "Praia do Canto" in Abraao, the main village on Ilha Grande, 15 min. walk from the ferry pier. At Pousada Manaca the emphasis is on location, excellent personal service and tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Manaca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Manaca Hotel Ilha Grande
Pousada Manaca Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing