We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful service and beautiful inn. go to this island!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
Ranked #2 of 96 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed in a beach-front room with a friend for three nights and it was wonderful. 5 minute walk from the village and an amazing view of the harbor. Very clean and comfortably cool. The staff struggle with English but they have a translating program on the computer so we made it work. PLUS, after I left, I lost my wallet in Rio. A saint found it and the only way to find me was the receipt from the Pousada. The Pousada staff went out of their way to get in touch with me and help me (thankfully) reunite with my wallet. Above and beyond.

As an added note: it was kind of hard to get to the island until we found a Rio transfer service through GreenToad.com. $50 US each way and much faster and less stress than the public transport options (and actually a bit less expensive).

Room Tip: ocean view room wasn't much more expensive and AMAZING view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Ancoradouro Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

This great little hotel on Ilha Grande is 5 minutes walk along the beach from the main jetty in Abraao. The rooms are simple but clean and the place is well presented. The proprietor speaks some English and couldn't do enough to help. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I loved staying here at Ancoradouro! I could not have asked for a better location-close enough to walk to everything but far enough away to be quiet at night. The room was very clean and I had a small fridge to keep cool drinks close at hand. The safe was very convenient as well. I had a small problem with the shower that was resolved quickly in spite of my terrible Brasilian Portuguese. The small garden was a great place to sit and watch the sun come up. Breakfast was wonderful-all the fruit I could eat. I would move in tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

My partner and I were there around Easter 2010 and were overly pleased with Ancoradouro and their staff. Every email previous to our arrival was answered correctly and politely, and there was someone waiting for us at the ferry terminal upon our arrival. They also recommended a great tour agency for our transfers in-out of Rio. The rooms were great, the location is perfect and the staff is really friendly. So much so that when I got utterly sick the last night, they went to the trouble of calling the local clinic to come and pick me up, and prepared special food for me that night and the next morning. Amazing. I would totally recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocamdour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I think this pousada in Ilha grande has one of the best personnel I found in Brazil. Meme was very helpful to help me to change the schedule, so the owner. The pousada itself is a bit above average (do not forget the standard there), clean and with nice breakfast. The best is the location (close the action of the hostels) and the personnel again. Highly recommended for a good stay in this faboulous place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Staff were super friendly. Breakfast was great. The room was very clean. Overall, a great place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank de_la_fuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We loved it!!!! The sound of the waves at night was the most calming thing ever. My boygriend and I took a room with an ocean view on the first floor.
The hotel is a bit far from the center of the village (15 min walk), but its worth it.
This little beach is so charming! The pousada itself is very nice- a clean, simple, very comfortable design. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We loved absolutely everything about this place. The breakfast was rather small, yet delicious.
I would expect it to be a bit cheaper though - but still - it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie_EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.8 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
289 reviews
0.7 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
478 reviews
0.6 km away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
545 reviews
0.4 km away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#4 of 96 in Ilha Grande
308 reviews
0.0 km away
Pousada Caicara
Pousada Caicara
#5 of 96 in Ilha Grande
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Ancoradouro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Ancoradouro Inn

Address: Rua da Praia 121, A1, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $90 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Ancoradouro Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the "Praia do Canto" along the seafront, you will find Pousada Ancadouro ready to host you and your family in a safe and relaxing environment in total harmony with nature. The welcome begins at the arriving dock where an attendant will be waiting to greet you and assist you with your baggage. Begin your unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Ancoradouro Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Ancoradouro Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing