We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aratinga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aratinga Inn
Ranked #1 of 92 Ilha Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
ulster county, ny
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Aratinga is not inexpensive but it is a slice of heaven on an island that makes you understand why the Portuguese thought they found paradise. I stayed in the Orchid room and it was clean and comfortable though I did wonder how it would work for two adults as it is a bit small. The breakfasts were amazing including fruits, juices, cheeses, meats, breads - some whole grains - home made cakes and even tomato and cucumbers which I saw nowhere else. I also never saw another afternoon tea in my travels in South America and having that fresh juice and choice between a sweet and a savory snack was a delight after a busy day. Yes, the location is a bit toward the edge of town and up a hill but to me that added to the place as it got me away from the noise of the Village of Abraao. Rennie had lots of good ideas about how to spend your days while there and lots of tips about where to eat. Since Rennie speaks English that was another plus for me. Fabulous soaps and shampoos were another plus; in my experience in Brasil, they are not always offered. I hope to go back to Ilha Grande and if I do, I will definitely stay at Aratinga again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetpackard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynxie, Owner at Aratinga Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and for your kind words. Yes, it is the little things that make the difference! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our healthy breakfast. We do try to offer a variety to suit all tastes and breakfast preferences. Afternoon tea is a treat in anyone's language and is a very special time at Aratinga and the afternoon spread seems to be getting bigger by the day! Thank you for thinking to mention our guest toiletries. They really are of excellent quality and are from a new range called Terra Brasilis by Realgems. Most importantly, all products are biodegradable, which helps look after our natural environment. I really enjoyed having you stay and do hope that you will be back on Ilha Grande in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    66
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
482
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this Pousada for two nights. We had a great stay and we were very lucky to have Rennie who was a great help and told us what to see and do on the wonderful island of Ilha Grande.

Rennie really looked after us and when we went to the beach she gave us lots of useful things to take with us! We really did feel at home!!

Afternoon tea is also available at the Pousada, it is a real treat coming back from a long day to choose from a selection of delicious homemade cakes!!

We did a lot of travelling around Brazil and Ilha Grande was by far the best place we visited. We will always have great memories and would highly recommend Aratinga Inn to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, clean and hospitable place to stay.

Karolina

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karolina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howrah, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Rennie is a wonderful host and it was a pleasure staying here. Rennie really went the extra mile to make our stay at the island excellent. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rishabh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Rennie is a very very nice person and does everything to please her guests. The rooms are very comfortable and Rennie cares about every detail of the inn. The breakfast is excellent and afternoon tea is an attraction in itself. Rennie helps a lot guests with information about Ilha Grande. I'm sure my stay in Ilha Grande was better thanks to Rennie. Aratinga Inn has exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it to everyone wishing to visit Ilha Grande.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay on Ilha Grande, made all the more enjoyable by staying at Rennie's place - Aratinga. We had a warm welcome and appreciated the loving detail she has put into running her own Pousada. She goes the extra mile both in terms of friendly information, lovingly decorated rooms and sumptuous breakfasts plus afternoon tea/coffee when you get back from the beach! Our stay was over New Year's Eve 2011/12 and Rennie invited all her guests to a party with her local friends, and supplied all the booze and music. Now you can't beat that - can you! I would highly recommend this Pousada to anyone who wants to get the most out of Ilha Grande!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloquifique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had an excellent four nights at Aratinga, which was the ideal base from which to explore Ilha Grande. Every morning started with a delicious, full breakfast, including plenty of fresh fruit and juice, and more cakes and breads than we knew what to do with. Each day we tried a new excursion, guided by fantastic tips from Rennie, the owner. Between our helpful conversations with Rennie and the big book she left in each room, filled with information and advice about the entire island, we were able independently to take advantage of everything within a day's walk of Abraao village, which was quite a lot - secluded and stunning beaches, waterfalls, amazing vistas, wildlife trails, rivers, and small, quiet villages where we sampled the Acai and tested our rudimentary Portuguese. At the end of each day's adventure, we were greeted by Rennie insisting we were not too late for tea, which offered all the pleasures of breakfast but with the added sense of reward for our exertions and the excitement of the tropical transition from day to evening.

Rennie also filled us in on the best options for drinks and dinner, and even where to buy a good, inexpensive bottle of red wine (one of the comforts of home we had begun to miss), to bring to the delicious brick-oven pizza place in town. She was always enthusiastic, available to help us with our plans, and warm and congratulatory when we showed up sandy, sweaty and disheveled from our latest excursion.

Aside from the ways in which the owner makes Aratinga perfect through her presence and all-out approach to service, the lodgings and grounds are lovely, secure and nicely situated between town/beach and the more forested, hilly center of the island. Our chalet felt private and secure, and was new and well-appointed with everything we could want. The shower was powerful, plenty hot when we wanted it, and clean and pleasant to use. The gardens were lush and beautifully kept, and our views from the chalet included both the shaded richness of the gardens and the bright blue expanse of the ocean below. The sounds and sights of colorful birds and small frogs reminded us that we were nestled alongside the Atlantic rainforest. Everything in town was a short walk away - no problem once we had dropped off our luggage.

At the end of our four nights, Rennie could not have been more supportive about where we were going for our final few nights in Ilha Grande. We were very glad to have gotten to know the island through Rennie, and would strongly recommend Aratinga for anyone visiting Ilha Grande for the first time, or even anyone looking to get the most out of the community around Abraao, while enjoying the wilder, more secluded spots that can be reached on day trips. We can't imagine having had a better introduction to this memorable and special part of Brazil.

Room Tip: The Azalea, where we stayed, has an ocean view past the gardens. Aratinga is the place in Abraao to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob_S_in_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at Aratinga over the 2011 Thanksgiving weekend which, as this is not a Brazilian Holiday, meant that the island was calm and not overpopulated with tourists (like ourselves) baying for food, drink and places on the tours.
We arrived after a peaceful Saveiro ride of about an hour from Angra dos Reis. (Small aside: anyone thinking of arriving the night before, sleeping in an affordable city hotel and taking the first boat……. DON’T DON’T DON’T. All the city hotels (not resorts) are absolutely SHOCKING) Having survived the night in an atrocious hotel imagine the pleasure of being met after a short walk from the main beach by the most friendly hotel owner manager that I have ever met after 20 years of travel around the globe.
Aratinga Inn is, in short, a treasure. Tucked away about five minutes walk from the village it is an absolute haven of peace and tranquility. Friendly, attentive staffs are always on hand and the cleanliness of all the rooms is benchmark quality. My wife and I stayed in one of the brand new chalets and for a rustic retreat I must say that Flat screen TV’s and a 300+ library of DVDs was a welcome surprise.
That being said we only watched one DVD over the four days we were there because we were kept so well occupied by Rennie. What a great hostess. We felt so at home that I was delighted to have paid in advance so as not to break the illusion that we were visiting a long lost dear family friend. We were treated as guests in the most personal sense of the word. When wanting to visit the nearby Lopes Mendes Beach we were lent backpacks and body boards bt Rennie and given advice as to the best tour to the area. She even rang ahead to guarantee our places. The same when going on a snorkeling tour.
In fact in the local bars and restaurants to mention that were staying at “Hennie’s” as she is affectionately known by the locals was an almost certain guarantee of fast tracked tables and free drinks!!
It was an enormous pleasure to get to know Ilha Grande. Monaco it is NOT but with its carless streets and friendly eco conscious locals it was also not like the rest of Brazil. More like a through back to a time 50 years in the past. Kids riding bikes in the streets no major worries about crime which, for a place only a couple of hours away from the Mega cities of Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo was incredibly refreshing. This is a place to relax in the old fashioned way. Sit around, chat with friends, walk, swim and snorkel or ride a bike. There are no casinos, modern discos, Water parks theme parks or any other type of tourist trap entertainment. Instead we played and really interacted with our son, discovered hidden beaches with caves and huge rocks where we played pirates, ship wrecks, and even Harry Potter. Result was we had a true family holiday to be treasured. So for that I must say Thank you Rennie and your team for making it all possible!!

Room Tip: The Chalets are Brand New and very nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.2 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.4 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 km away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#10 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
18.4 km away
Pousada Lagamar
Pousada Lagamar
#6 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 km away
Pousada Cauca
Pousada Cauca
#5 of 92 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aratinga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aratinga Inn

Property: Aratinga Inn
Address: Rua das Flores 232 | Vila do Abraão, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil (Formerly Pousada Aratinga)
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aratinga, your haven of peace and tranquility on Ilha Grande. Our guest rooms and chalets are built in harmony with the verdant Atlantic rain forest. All of our guest rooms and chalets are simple and cozy, but we are sure you will agree that they are comfortable and very cozy. They are furnished with solid timber beds, with a top quality inner spring mattresses, latex pillows and quality, imported bed linen. Rooms are appointed with A/C, ceiling fan, LCD TV and DVD player, a bar fridge for your personal use, and all rooms have a sparkling clean, modern bathroom. For those seeking peace and privacy, Aratinga offers double chalets and double rooms, the perfect personal retreat for nature lovers. We do not receive large groups, small children or smokers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aratinga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Aratinga Hotel Ilha Grande
Aratinga Inn Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing