We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent basis for a lovely vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagu Mini Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagu Mini Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent basis for a lovely vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Me and my gf spent a few days her and really enjoyed it. Ilha grande is truely paradise.

From the hotel a lot of trekking around the island accessing other beaches was accessible.

The rooms were absolutely lovely and in the environment around we had a lovely stay. Cleaning, no complaints.

The hotel personnel were very nice and helpful with every little thing. The atmosphere in the hotell was very pleasant. They assisted us with booking excursions etc.

The only negative thing I would mention is that the restaurant is overpriced and more or less lousy. They charge the food as if this was a gourmet restuarant while food is neither charming in the Brazilian way nor on an international level. Rather more a mix of things that don't fit to well together. The service was lousy, it seemed as most of the guys serving was doing this for the first time in their life.
We much more enjoyed taking a walk over to the beach towards town and eating a fried fish or other traditional dish with the feet in the sand overlooking the beach during the cosy night.

In total this was our absolutely best vacation. I would definitely recomend people to go there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wittsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    93
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
56
171
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Ilha Grande is a pretty unique destination in itself and without doubt Sagu adds to the experience.

Located about 10/15 mins walk (clamber) outside of town. Some sections are dark at night so take a torch - not as bad as it sounds.

When we were there (4 nights) the restaurant was closed Sun & Mon so town was the only option for dinner. A positive note, on the Sagu side of town there are a couple of restaurants which have tables on the beach and amazingly still had some free!

Breakfast in Sagu is good and the restaurant, when open, very good but expensive.
Free WiFi available in the reception area but not the rooms.

The rooms are large and mainly wood with fan and air con, not spotless but with fantastic views out over the bay towards the town. The grounds, like the rooms, could benefit with a little work, but with a location like this we could easily forgive any small imperfections.

There are beaches near and far - the further you go away from the town the quieter they become. One beach about 30 mins clamber away from town is hardly used but still has its own snack bar! Get on the path from town to Sagu and then just keep going...

Everyone recommends the boat trip to Lopes Mendes which is a beautiful beach but a word of warning for about 15/20 mins this small boat is exposed to the open sea.

Not without faults but the location more than compensates!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Our arrival was a let down, first there was no one to meet us at the pier, until we realised we were sharing the Asalem boat (the neighbouring mini resort). Our reception at the hotel was luke warm, and the room smelt really musty when entering. Also on arrival unfortunately the weather was drizzly, and the tide was in (making the walk into town pretty tricky) - although obviously these latter points are outside of Sagu's control, initially it certainly didn't feel like we'd arrived in paradise! Next day we'd aired the room, the sun was out and we did a great walk over the island to Lopez Mendes (the trail conveniently starts close to the hotel). We used the hot tub once during our three days, which cost 30R per person per hour, although lovely we thought this was quite pricey. The restaurant was a real treat, probably one of the best on the island. However as (I think) the most expensive place to stay on the island, it seemed from walking around that there were plenty of other nice places although they may be a bit smaller, but they would certainly be much cheaper. If you really must stay in a mini resort (although the only difference to pousada's seemed to be the restaurant and the hot tub) the Sagu is more accessible than neighbouring Asalem, where it would be a real scrabble to get into town without a boat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Sagu was a dream come true.. We can't really express how wonderful it was to spend 2 weeks there. A tranquil place, with professional non-intrusive staff. The breakfasts were at the level of any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. The little pier was where we spent most of the days, and where the boat would pick us up for an island tour or to go to Lopez Mendez. In the afternoons, a tutle would come to feed next to the pier for 3-4hours. Schools of fish could be noted around the pier at any time. In the evenings, we would enjoy the amazing food at the Sagu restaurant, usually grilled fish if one was caught that day. And the pina coladas! the best I have had. What else to say? We didn't want to leave. I absolutely recommend it for couples!

We were given the honeymooners' suite, with the balcony overlooking the sea. The room we were in was spacious and had a fitted mosquito net over the king size bed. I am rather picky with cleanliness, so I was very glad to notice that the bathrooms were spotless. We also used the hot tube around sunset one day. Definitely worth it. The style of the hotel is very interesting. Very comfortable and yet elegant.

Room Tip: Room #9 is perfect for a couple that wants some privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Finding the hotel was interesting itself... a nice walk through a beach until finding this amazing mini resort, so reserved and beautiful. Full of nature and with it's own private deck on the sea makes it perfect. The room was amazing, big window with view to the ocean, and the service was perfect. My favorite place to stay in Ilha Grande.

Room Tip: There's a room in the main house with a big window and perfect view to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilaPava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is one of the better located hotels on the island. We were glad not to be on the main beach front because several bars play quite loud music at night. There were some nice hotels in the town too some with pool which would be ok...This hotel is a 15 min walk all along the beach to the very end and then across some headland and then across 2 more small beaches. so for some that might be considrered inconvenient and i wouldnt recommend for people with walking difficulties or who mind getting their feet wet, but for us it was great to get away from the main resort and to the hotel which is right on the waterfront-you are liteallay 2 metres away from the sea where you eat breakfast and lunch. So if you come here bring a torch as altho the walk is mainly lit at night in a couple of areas it was still quite dark. The rooms were comfortable and of a good size with a decked seating area in front. The view is slightly obscured by trees and a cable, if you ask for the rooms at the very top you wouldnt get this. The food is very good BUT the prices are ridiculous-the same price as a very good restaurant back home (France). The hotel has free use of canoes and is next door to 2 small, but nice beaches.staff are friendly. If you go to the island you just have to go to Lopes mendes-3 km of empty inspoiled beach-there is plenty of shade under the trees which line the beach but no facilities. The hotel offers a free transfer to and fro to the boat at the start and end of your stay and if you wanted to avoid walking you can get a boat at other times for about 4 quid. I have put not sure on value as we booked as part of package

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celiaann196700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We loved Sagu! Perfect balance of rustic (in keeping with the island) and what I would call good style. Our rooms and the grounds in general were super clean, well designed, attractive. Room #5 was great for our party of 4. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to my friends! We thought it was a great deal.

Note that the "walk" to town is a short 5-10 minutes but is more like a mini hike than a stroll. You must cross three beaches and some short but muddy trails. At night, these were not well lit for us. A flashlight would have been helpful, but we managed fine, even when carrying bags of desserts bought in town (amazing!!). Just be aware.

Also note that the "hot" tub is actually only a "warm" tub. Perhaps the temp goes higher, but not when we used it!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.4 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 18 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.9 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#2 of 18 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.5 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 18 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Estrela da Ilha
Estrela da Ilha
#3 of 18 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
27.1 km away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 18 in Ilha Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 km away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 18 in Ilha Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagu Mini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagu Mini Resort

Property: Sagu Mini Resort
Address: | Praia Brava, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagu Mini Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Sagu Mini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagu Mini Hotel Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Resort Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing