We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Arte Urquijo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Arte Urquijo
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This hotel is different. They have just 6 or 7 rooms, well furnished, not big but very comfortable and cozy. The staff is realy professional. The location is excellent and Paraty is a very nice colonial city.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    36
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

The Pousada decor is immaculate but there is 'stuff' everywhere - lots of art, trinkets, ornaments...

The rooms again are immaculate but small, we had one with a balcony inc seats and hammock so spent a lot of time out there. Not a lot of space to hang anything so most of the clothes stayed in the suitcases.

Breakfast is limited but good and staff very helpful, but no English spoken.

A couple of little oddities:
They don't allow shoes in the Pousada and provide sandals to use inside. However unless you're used to wearing this type of footwear they're very uncomfortable. We quickly decided to go barefoot!
The front door is a stable type door (top half open, bottom closed) which because it opens straight onto the street is kept locked and you have to ring the bell to be let in. Doesn't sound too much of a problem but after a short time becomes a minor irritation.

The location in Parity is excellent, in the old (cobbled) section of town but away from the restaurant/bar area, so quiet. Ladies don't even think of high heels or any heels at all, the cobbles are ankle breakers! 5 to 10 mins (safe) walking to the restaurants.

Closest town beach is bleak and has no shade, need to walk over the river for the next (good) beach, about 20/25 mins.

WiFi available downstairs but not in the rooms.

Recommended for people who have an artistic side to their character or who want stay in the historical centre of Parity.

We enjoyed having a convenient, comfortable base but wouldn't want to spend too long here (3 or 4 nights max and get a balcony if possible!).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Come here to enjoy being pampered, generous staff and lovely views from some of the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a tiny little poussada with 4 or 5 rooms. we had one of the two which had a balcony and view (ie the one of the best rooms) BUT they are absolutely TINY..just enough room to walk around the bed, no room to put your thinkgs away-no drawers, a tiny bit of shelf on which we stacked our suitcases on top of each other. All equisitely done, nice bed linen, spotless but SO SO small- and we are a slim couple! The bathroom was the size of a cupboard. you can touch all the walls from the centre of it. The baclony is small-nice with a view (just) to the sea. The owner speaks NO english so cant help with any questions.There is a tiny pool say 3 metres long at most. I would not recommend for these reasons as Paraty is stuffed full of wonderful Pasadas, it almost doesnt matter where you are in the main town as it is all quiet- tho perhaps a couple of streets with bars on might be moisy-check when you book-but Paraty is just a quiet and truly stunnig place and you could easily spend several days using it as a base and going to local beaches. The town can be walked around in a couple of hours and has its own(not special) beach. It is definitely worth coming to Paraty!

Room Tip: there are 2 with views and balcony-but i would look to go elsehwere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celiaann196700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

This was our favorite place we stayed while in Brazil! It is very artsy (the owner is an artist and the rooms and walls are filled with her work). Beware: it is not a great spot for very large people, as the rooms/bathrooms are small and the is no elevator- instead there is a narrow winding staircase that goes up to the 3 floors of the Pousada. We stayed in the Sophie (?) room, which has a balcony and felt like we were in a tree house when we were out there (which we were almost the entire time). Make sure to get a room with a balcony! The people who work there are LOVELY, as is the breakfast in the mornings. They also were around to make us espressos or caipirinhas whenever we asked. We couldn't say enough great things about this gem of a hotel! The owners great care to detail is evident in every inch of the place!

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bandbshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Nice location, confortable bedrooms, cozy place. Great breakfast and afternoon tea.
The staff is friendly, but they could be a little smarter.
When we arrived the air conditioning was in repair, and later that afternoon it was working fine. I would recommend this place and I sure would be back.
The low point is that it doesn't have a parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

This was a place to remember. The pousada is on a gorgeus, quiet street. The decor was so unique and tasteful. I loved my room - it was very comfortable and had a beautiful view. The little touches are just fantastic. The staff are kind, and the breakfasts are really, really good!! I enjoyed nice wine at the little bar, and free wireless in the comfortable lobby with big leather couches. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Historic City Center
Pousada Pardieiro
Pousada Pardieiro
#11 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada do Sandi
#3 of 26 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 26 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Arte Urquijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Arte Urquijo

Property: Pousada Arte Urquijo
Address: Rua Dona Geralda, 79 | Centro Histórico, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Arte Urquijo 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an old restored "sobrado" (two story house) where its architectural style and the preservation of original materials, including stonewalls, wooden furniture and many wooden details stand out. Some of the woods come from species now extinct. The Pousada is located in the historical center next to the Santa Rita Church, with panoramically view of the bay of Paraty and the Bocaina Mountains. It has a secret view of the roofs of the magical town. This is the perfect place for those who come to Paraty looking to unite with nature. Paraty is the most charming historical port town in the country, its geographical location and natural aspects captivate the tourist and inspire painters and photographers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Arte Urquijo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Arte Urquijo Paraty, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing