We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay at Bambu Bamboo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada Bambu Bamboo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at Bambu Bamboo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We truly enjoyed our 7 days at Bambu Bamboo! The staff is extremely kind. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The garden is beautiful and the street very quite. There are tons of activities to do around - horse riding, boat cruises, jeep tours, etc. All infos & reservations are available at the hotel. Great place to disconnect!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    92
    30
    21
    10
See reviews for
84
178
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brasilien
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

A very nice pousada (bed & breakfast), run by Neto, where we enjoyed a faboulous stay. Comfortable rooms , everything very clean with a nice view from the rooms to the garden. The breakfast very tasty and complete with a beautiful view to the river, and observing the birds. The pousada is located in a very nice and quiet area. We def. would came back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eberhard_waehner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

A friend had recommended this hotel in Paraty. When I contacted them the owner said they were full, but could put us up in a condo just steps from the hotel. When we arrived to check in I was disappointed not to be staying at the actual hotel which is very nice and well-appointed. We walked down the street just a few meters and were pleasantly surprised by our huge condo. The place was very tastefully decorated and spotless. It had 3 bedrooms and was very spacious for the 3 of us.

We had breakfast at the hotel each morning which was very typical Brazilian morning fare- fruit, breads, juice and eggs to order and served outside in a lovely covered area.

The owner was an absolute delight and helped us with everything, including multiple lifts into town daily. We were traveling with a very indecisive friend and he was very accommodating and friendly even though she with her constant booking and canceling of spa treatments and excursions.

You’re a good 15 minute walk or more from town. Although it is very safe we always got taxi home which didn’t cost enough for me to even remember. I liked being away from town as I read a lot of reviews about noise levels from people who had stayed there and we wanted to sleep in.

If you don’t like dogs you need to avoid going here. Actually, I’d avoid Paraty altogether as there are friendly little strays everywhere you turn in this town.

Highly recommend this hotel, by far the best we stayed at in Brazil!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1girlintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We rented a loft (apartment with 2 floors), which is recommendable for a couple wtih kids. The rooms were quite large in comparison with what we saw earlier in Brazil.
Thumbs up for Neto and his wife, because they helped us a lot! Thank you for bringing us last minute to the boat trip when our car broke down! Apart from that, everyting was very nice, and at the level that we expected.
Daniel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank U41364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Ever since my family and I arrived for a week in Paraty, we were astounded at how well we were treated by the staff. The owner Neto and all his staff, especially Sibele, told us the best places to go, eat, and Neto even took us to town several times in his truck. Even though the Pousada is a good walk away from the historic center, it is a) a safe walk no matter what time of day, even if it's kinda lonely sometimes and b) it's beautiful and c) if you walk at a regular pace you can get to centro in max 20 minutes. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the two floor plan (at least ours, we were in a suite) worked really well. The air conditioning worked well and everything was very clean. There is also a wonderful Thai place nearby, Thai Brasil, a rarity in Brazil. From my travels through India, Africa, Europe, the US, and Latin America, this is by far the best I have been treated. They even kept breakfast out for us when we were a little later to wake up! The internet went in and out, which was kinda a downer on rainy days, and also there are about four dogs on the grounds, which I found adorable, but if you don't like dogs that is definitely a consideration. I loved the modern furniture and style and the fact that most of the pousada was outside. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rafalafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This Pousada is about a 10 min. walk from town, which was perfect. It's away from the noisy scene and so peaceful. My partner and I love to walk, but took up the owner on his many offers to run us into town.
From the beginning of our stay until the end, we could not have asked for better service. We received bad news about our home in the USA and the owner invited us to use his phone to assess the situation.
The rooms were spotless. The beds, comfortable. Minibar prices very reasonable. The breakfasts were the best we experienced in Brazil and served in such a picturesque setting. I'd stay here again, for sure, the next time I go to Paraty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Absolutely wonderful stay at this charming and cozy Pousada. The grounds are beautiful, including the pool area as well as the gardens. My husband and I were warmly welcomed by the host and the staff, who go out of their way to make our stay very comfortable including great tips for local sightseeing spots (including quiet beaches & a cachaca distillery) as well as excellent recommendations for local area eats. We traveled with a 13 month old, and the Pousada went above and beyond to make our baby's stay as comfortable as possible, including a deep enough crib (since our baby stands up), a high chair and meals. With a very happy baby, we as parents got to relax and enjoy our stay at Bambu Bamboo. We liked the tranquility and pool time so much that we extended our stay. Hope you enjoy Bambu Bamboo as much as we did!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank junebug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
1.8 km away
Chale Recanto da Praia
Chale Recanto da Praia
#9 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.1 km away
Pousada do Ouro
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 km away
Pousada Villa del Rey
Pousada Villa del Rey
#23 of 28 in Paraty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Santa Clara Hotel
Santa Clara Hotel
#24 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 km away
Pousada Aguas de Paratii
1.5 km away
Pousada da Condessa
Pousada da Condessa
#8 of 28 in Paraty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Bambu Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Bambu Bamboo

Property: Pousada Bambu Bamboo
Address: Rua Glauber Rocha no. 9 | Portal das Artes, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paraty
#5 Spa Hotel in Paraty
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Bambu Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, comfortable and relaxing pousada close to the Historic Centre of Paraty. Highly respected for providing guests with genuinely friendly and personal service. Twelve comfortable suites (Garden Suites complete with private patios and garden). Superior Loft Suites built on two floors complete with two bathrooms and living area. Aircon, quality linens and original art works come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Bambu Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Bambu Bamboo Paraty, Brazil
Pousada Bambu Bamboo Hotel Paraty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing