We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivenda Paraty

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paraty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vivenda Paraty
Ranked #2 of 290 Paraty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have been fortunate to travel all over the world, staying at an array of different level hotels and guest houses (including the likes of the mandarin oriental, shangri la and raleis and chateau), but have never written a review before; a review on John's little abode however requires special mention. This is a wonderful place to stay. John is a great host and together with his team of staff run a tight ship catering to all your needs. The bungalows are luxurious, and the pool is a lovely treat. Breakfast was a total joy each morning and definitely the best we experienced on our trip to brazil. John even left dvd's on our bed which he thought we would enjoy watching, which was a lovely gesture. My only minor criticism would be the shower which was too weak for me- more rain drops than jets. That said I would not hesitate to recommend this place- it's definitely head and shoulders above many 5*s out there! Thank you again John.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
313
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

What a great place, and all the reviews posted here did this place no justice. Rooms (only 3), are stunning, clean and the attention to detail is spot on. The host John, what a great guy, made us feel at home and was so welcoming and friendly and made our stay even more special.

Loved our stay here and will definitely go back

Room Tip: Dont think twice about this place - go to Paraty and stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImDaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Absolutely loved our time spent at Vivenda. Not only was the accommodation fantastic, immaculate, beautiful and pristine, but John was a god send. His advise and recommendations on where to eat and what to do were spot on. We ventured out using the lonely planet as a guide one day and it was a disaster! Listen to the man, as he really knows some exceptional restaurants to make your stay in this magical town perfect. Vivenda is an absolute haven, closed away within a stunning walled garden, gorgeous swimming pool, and only a short walk along the river to the old town. Breakfast was also marvellous served on our porch every morning!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn_ukLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed with John at Vivenda Paraty for 2 nights. He was the MOST outstanding host and his pousada was absolutely our favorite during our 10 day trip to Brazil.

With only 2 cottages and one guest room, you have so much privacy. The cottages are immaculate and beautiful, with large baths, cool a/c, and super comfortable beds. The private patio by the pool and hammock were wonderful, nestled back in John's beautiful gardens full of palms and orchids.

In the wee hours of the morning, the breakfast fairy shows up and sets you a beautiful table on your private veranda. They serve the most wonderful platter of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, yogurt, granola and even asked if we wanted eggs to order! It was twice what we could eat and DELICIOUS.

The pousada is in a great location, walking or super short driving distance to the old part of town.

Absolutely the BEST choice in Paraty.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuellaG
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Beautiful, spacious accommodation, stunning grounds, lovely pool, amazing breakfast, fantastic host. Really could not fault this as a place to stay. John is lovely and will help with all your tours and with restaurant recommendations for evenings. He seems very happy in Paraty and really enjoys running the pousada. Whatsmore, for those Brits like me who've been away a long time, he has PG Tips for breakfast along with the best selection of local delicacies! Book well in advance as there are only 3 rooms to avoid disappointment. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had an independent bungalow/chalet which was really spacious with its own kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuellaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Just a paradise. Great rooms, Excellent breakfast. Clean, quiet, freindly. John give us all information what we need. Its not Downtown, but just e few minute walk along the river.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

John has a great pousada and honestly we couldn't think of any changes to improve Vivenda. the breakfast was delightful sitting by the pool each morning. John was the ultimate host providing tips on where to explore and where to eat and drink in Paraty. We had a great couple of days and would definitely love to return.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellingwesleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#23 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Pousada do Ouro
#2 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Pousada do Sandi
#5 of 28 in Paraty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maris Paraty
#1 of 290 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Eliconial
#4 of 290 in Paraty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Literaria de Paraty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivenda Paraty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivenda Paraty

Property: Vivenda Paraty
Address: Rua Beija Flor 9 | Cabore, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 290 B&Bs / Inns in Paraty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE GUEST HOUSE Vivenda is situated in a quiet redidential neighbourhood and only a 10-15 munute walk along the riverside to the old town, or 5 minutes by car. Although not in the historical centre of Paraty, this has its advantages if you're looking for somewhere peaceful to relax. Our guest house is small and exclusive with only 2 double bungalows and a double suite, each facing the swimmimng pool and surrounded by a lush tropical garden,allowing the maximum in comfort and privacy. As a result we do not accept children as we feel they need more space to run around and enjoy themselves. Each room is light,comfortable and decorated with examples of local Brazilian crafts and folk art. the result is a rustic-chic style with exuberant tropical touches. To help you feel even more at home we have provided you with a collection of over 350 DVD'S to choose from as well as paperbacks, art books on Paraty and magazines to read while lounging on your veranda or by the pool. there is also free WiFi access. Our bungalows for a maximum of 2 guests, are spacious and very comfortable. Each covers an area of 42 sq meters including the veranda, facing the swimming pool and surrounded by the garden. They are equipped with a spring box King size bed or two singles if necessary, AC, ceiling fan, TV LCD, DVD player, hairdryer, Eco amenities by Natura, bath robes, a small living room area with armchairs and table. There is also a small kitchen area fully equipped with cutlery,crockery, a coffee maker, toaster and fridge for preparing snacks and salads that don't require cooking facilities. Breakfast is served on your own veranada every morning where you'll also find a hammock and wicker armachairs for relaxing. The suite also facing the pool, is attached to the main house with its own private entrance,full use of the veranda with hammock, wicker armchairs and where your breakfast is served every morning. Equipped with a spring box Queen size bed, en-suite bathroom, AC, ceiling fan,TV LCD, DVD player, hairdryer, Eco amenities by Natura and bath robes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vivenda Paraty Hotel Paraty
Vivenda Paraty Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing