We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
13
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Paul and Nazareth are very nice people and a lot of fun to talk to (we ate all our meals with them). The vegetarian food prepared by Nazareth and her staff is excellent-- a great chance to try traditional Brazilian dishes typically made with meat. I'm vegan and Nazareth had no trouble accommodating me.

The house is beautifully designed and decorated, and the views of the mountains are breathtaking. The location is far from the main town of Petropolis (maybe 40 minutes) and the national park, so you may need to bring your own car or plan on ordering taxis if you want to visit those sites.

Room Tip: The 'honeymoon suite' has the best view by far.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonNYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a family vacation in Brazil and spent the first few days at Solar de Ponte Verde. Our stay set the gold standard for the rest of the trip! When we arrived we were warmly greeted by our hosts, Paul and Nazareth. We were treated to a wonderful lunch cooked with clay pots and a wood fire stove. This was just the start of wonderful meals...each one better than the next!

This beautiful house (built with wonderful stone and wood from Brazil) has a gorgeous mountain scenery as a backdrop. Such a pleasure to just sit outside and gaze at the fabulous scenery...and one morning we watched the sun rise from the deck..very spectacular.

This is a great place to unwind and really get to learn about Brazil. Paul and Nazareth are a wealth of knowledge and spend the time sharing what they know about the country. They went out of their way to make us feel as if we were family. In fact the last day it turns out our son had a foot infection, and Paul arranged for him to see his doctor so that we did not have to go to the hospital.

We suggest you stay here at the end of your trip...as it is difficult to find such an amazing place in other parts of Brazil! Thanks again, Paul and Nazareth, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our stay with Paul and Nazareth was one of the highlights of our trip to Brazil. While the drive to the house was steep, the reward was a beautifully designed house in a gorgeous and luxurious setting. Our rooms were comfortable and spotless. I can't say enough good things about the vegetarian meals..it seemed impossible but each one was better than the next. By far the best food we had in our two week stay in Brazil. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the wonderful views.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our stay with B & B in Araras in the “Green bridge house”/Solar da ponte verde. March 2012

After a steep drive through the mountains we came to the house of Paul en Nazareth:
Solar da Ponte Verde. It is a magnificent house to see and looks like it is one with the mountain were it is built on, far away from traffic and people.

We were lovingly welcomed by Paul en Nazareth and they showed us our room, which was beautifully designed and luxurious, aswell as the rest of the house! All colors were perfectly combined as was the furniture! Everything made from wood.

After we had unpacked we had a delicious warm vegetarian meal outside, prepared by a lovely woman and her grandson, who work there to help with everything.

The nature is beautiful and the views endless, very special to experience when walking down the road to the Green Bridge. The house, people and the surroundings have a special atmosphere, were you feel free and comfortable!

In the evening we had a light supper, with lovely soup and bread, cheese and other things (all homemade) on the first floor where also the swimming pool is situated outside. Also there is a big room where we sat to have a drink and watched a movie (dvd) before we went to bed.

The next day we went down the mountain to Itaipava, a little village, to shop. There is for instance a crockery shop, where we bought some things.

Again we had a delicious warm lunch and supper that day and had been lying in de sun on the terrace.

The next day we were sorry to leave again after a very tasty breakfast. But we were especially sorry to leave those kind, loving and very hospitable people who were so caring and sweet!
Their service was perfect!!

Alice Assink
Monique ter Mors
(from Holland)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2012

When city life gets to be too much, do like the emperor did and go to Petrópolis so you can cool off in the mountains and luxuriate in the comforts and delights. Paul and Nazareth are splendid, consummate hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews