We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood, seafood, seafood!”

Restaurante Point de Grumari
Ranked #471 of 14,535 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barra de Guaratiba
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is located about half an hour from Praia do Pepê in Barra da Tijuca. It is actually a nice drive to make since you get to see other local popular beaches ("Prainha" is a nice one). Also, you pass the "reserva", which is a special preserved area with lots of vegetation a and a lake. This is one clear chose if your craving for seafood, their specialty. The place is simple but comfy, and they have live local music on the weekends, which puts you in a very Brazilian mood. Most of the menu is for two people, and they also offer meat plates (but in my opinion, is not the best place for this). The plates are big and their most popular one is called "moqueca" (order this if you definitely love all kinds of seafood, FYI: it's not a cold plate). I recommend going on a nice whether day in the afternoon, so you get to see the amazing sunset from up there. Sundays are the busiest days (stay away if you don't like crowding places, or arrive early).

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Mafe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 582 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

The view from the dining area is superb and a wide variety of fresh seafood is on offer but the restaurant is a little pricey; however, you are getting a decent feed.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank GlobalGrappler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2016

The views can't be beat -- the fish was good, the codfish fritters excellent, great juice. If you want to go to a real local place, this is it.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgs212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed the place. It is very laid back and the seafood was very food. I will be returning. The service was excellent and the beer ice cold.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2016

we have been there with the family on a Sunday the place was crowded but we did not have to wait or to book in advance and we got almost immediately our seats.
Poisitive:
1.Excellent view
2. Not major problems for parking
3. Good position, above all if you plan to go to Praijna
4. Decent food, we had moqueca de camarao and namorado
5. service
Negative:
1. price, it is a bit of the high end, we had better moqueca spending less
2. it is not very close to Rio, so if you get traffic it can take a while to get there
Bottom line, before going back there I would for sure try other restaurants in the area.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GiuseppeP552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Point de Grumari also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Point de Grumari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing