We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,599)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveller rating
636
687
202
49
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
687
202
49
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopacabana beachrooftop poolbreakfast buffetchrist the redeemerbeach servicebeach frontbit datedsmall pooltop floorsuperior roomfront desk staffexcellent locationcomfortable hotelbeach viewsouth americadecent sizehotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2018

Fantastic location, with beach chairs, umbrellas and towels available right accross from the hotel.
The breakfast was outstanding.
The principal negative point is that the room was small, and not the cleanest I´ve ever had, but having said that, the lady cleaning it was very nice and incredibly helpful.
Also, we had no problem getting a late checkout.

Room Tip: If you can, pay more for the sea view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irish_FredBrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorMasetti, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the time spent in our hotel.
Regarding the size of the apartment, the hotel has different categories that may be bigger or smaller, so on your brief return to the Marvelous City, let us know about this need for a larger apartment that we will be very happy to offer satisfactory options.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Greetings,

Victor M. Soares
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2018

This is a primo hotel. The rooms are modern and well equipped. The in room mini bar and snacks are well below the normal price for a hotel of this category. The breakfast had a wide variety of selections. The front desk was so helpful, especially on giving us information about what to do on a rainy day. There was a small pool on an upper floor with plenty of sun chairs and a spot across the street on the beach for hotel guests only with sun chairs and towels. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room with at least a side view of the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorMasetti, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Windsor Excelsior Hotel.
We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time expended in our hotel.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Victor M. Soares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Very basic hotel as expected but the wifi was very poor, worked in the hallway. Twice I was told a maintenance person was on its way to help with different things and both time no one showed up.
Hotel is confortable, with valet parking service.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorMasetti, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2018


894/5000
Dear Mr. Javier,

We would love to take the time to share your experience with the Windsor Excelsior.
We believe that the situation with the internet has been punctual and resolved with brevity.
The Windsor Excelsior stands out for the excellent location, quality lodging services and variety of options in the restaurant, mainly breakfast. We hope you have enjoyed other services including the rooftop pool with bar service and a wonderful view of Copacabana beach.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Regards,

Victor M. Soares
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a few small issues:
A little problem at checkout where my husband tried to question a man at the front desk about an issue and the man suddenly couldn’t converse with us in English. Seemed a bit odd. The eggs on the breakfast buffet were not hot enough to eat despite being in a warming dish. On our last morning we went out the front door to ask for a cab and were directed down the street to the corner taxi stand; they didn’t do that any other time we’d asked for a taxi.

We had room 803 which has a fantastic view overlooking Copacabana Beach. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a refrigerator in the room. The rooftop terrace has an incredible view. You can see Christ the Redeemer from the rooftop. Breakfast buffet has a large selection. Most employees were incredibly kind. The location across from the beach was great.
Overall a very good value for the money.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dixiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorMasetti, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at the Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the time spent in our hotel.
About your comment regarding the reception service I will check, because all our receptionists speak more than two languages.
About the eggs at the breakfast, it is constantly replenished even when not consumed in order to maintain quality. Our restaurant also offers freshly made omelets and scrambled eggs, just ask the waiters.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Greetings,

Victor M. Soares
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018

I arrived very early in the morning and was offered to get my room immediatley for half the price of one night including breakfast. A great option since I could get some sleep and didn't have to hang around for many hours but could after the sleep eat breakfast and start exploring Rio. Hotel is located just opposite the beach that have sunbeds/umbrellas and towels for the guests at no cost, fantastic! The pool area on the roof was great, had a bar and you could if you wanted to eat there too. Amazing views of Rio from up there. Room was spacious, maybe not the most modern, but clean and had everything I needed, was very comfortable there. Breakfast was excellent, had a huge choice from hot and cold dishes, always looked after and refilled by the staff that were very nice overall at the hotel. Area felt safe even during night. Only problem I had on my stay was that the AC stopped working one day, and when I talked to the staff at the reception desk they seemed a bit unintersted, suggested that I might have the window open which was not the case (I even tried opening/close it a couple of times). Then they sent a guy that checked that, then disappeared, and after a couple of minutes it worked. Same problem the next day, this time the man that came to fix it did some work in the room climbing a ladder in the hallway and after that it worked during my stay :) Not sure what happened since my spanish is too poor to communicate and he didnt speak english, but thats usually the case in South America.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorMasetti, Gerente geral at Windsor Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Monica,

Thank you for leaving this nice comment after your recent stay at the Windsor Excelsior Hotel. We are glad that we could exceed your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Our team will be delighted to hear that they are doing a great job.

Thanks for choosing our hotel and we would be very happy to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards,

Victor M. Soares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews