We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like you are at your aunty's house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margarida's Pousada
Ranked #36 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2015

This place is awesome because you feel like you are at your relatives' home. Dona Margarida, Sonia and Leonardo are extremely helpful. Fatima and Marileide were also very nice. Basically, the pousada has this family feeling. Enjoy it!! : )

Room Tip: Rio de Janeiro can get really hot around 40 degrees, so bring very light clothes with you and be rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karllinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

The pousada crew are most friendly, care about each person who stay there, you know it is from the heart! The location is perfect just near everything you need. I really really reccomande to stay there if you are in Rio.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Top location, a calm area three blocks from the beach and from the lake. Very expensive during New year holiday. The wifi didn´t work at the top floor. The manager and landlady very helpful and english speaking.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

I stayed at this pousada for four nights in late November. I was a bit nervous as I was travelling alone (w/ no Portuguese) but soon this became my home away home! All staff was very warm and welcoming. The location was perfect – just two blocks away from the famous Ipanema beach and one block from the busy street where you can find many stores, restaurants, and banks where you can withdraw money with an international bank card. A metro station was a little far but it was pretty easy to catch a taxi. A room was very basic (but a shower was very hot and strong!) but you can’t beat the price! Breakfast was nice, too. I was very pleased with my choice and would definitely stay again. I love this place and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yumi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about our week long stay at Margarida's Pousada! The owner, management and staff were so warm and friendly, we felt right at home. We were able to use the kitchen to prepare simple meals and Margarida's cakes for breakfast are amazing! Sonia, one of the front office staff, was always ready and willing to provide helpful tips while travelling around Rio and Brazil in general. A very safe area to stay just blocks from Ipanema Beach! It was sad to say goodbye to people who "took care of us" during our stay and would highly recommend anyone I know heading to Rio de Janeiro! I thank them for their kindness and for such a memorable time there!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

It's a tiny hotel run by a family with friendly staff.Breakfast was included and good. Wifi was free and had good speed. The location was perfect and in a safe district.the only problem was that the owners did not come there before 11 in the morning and the other staff could not speak
English.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandanaCont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Sonja was very helpful in ways more than one.. Her English is excellent and its boon specially when you don't know Portuguese.

The rooms are small and cozy and when you are Rio I guess you need to be out of your room and crash on to the bed only during the night.

Thanks a Lot Sonja & Margarida for making my stay memorable keep the good work.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank Vinod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
#194 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
304 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,210 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#118 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema
#93 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
647 reviews
Ipanema
JM Guesthouse Ipanema
JM Guesthouse Ipanema
#14 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
35 reviews
Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
Beach House Ipanema
#29 of 836 in Rio de Janeiro
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarida's Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarida's Pousada

Address: Rua Barao da Torre 600 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $64 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Margarida's Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Margarida's Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarida`s Pousada Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Margarida's Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing