We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful - Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa da Gente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa da Gente
Ranked #9 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful - Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

One of the best and friendliest places I have had the pleasure of visiting. You are welcomed with open arms (and in our case with some caipirinhas). The rooms are clean, view is gorgeous, staff is very very nice and helpful, and the breakfast is absolutely amazing; fresh fruit, fresh juices, coffee/tea, bread, jam etc.The staff/owners will help you order food in if you have trouble speaking Portuguese and don't be surprised if you end up having great conversations with them. It feels like you are at home, with the added benefit of others making your bed, changing your towels, emptying out your trash etc.

This is a place I absolutely recommend to almost anybody. The only ones I would not recommend it to are those having trouble walking stairs/hills as it is located higher up. Many cabs don't know the place, so it will be tricky finding a cab there.

TIP: A cab from./to the international airport to Casa de Gente should be about $30-$40 here (but cabbies will try to charge you $100). Ask to use the meter.
TIP2: A cab from/to the Dumont airport is usually less than R$10 ($5)
TIP3: A cab to the place for the train to Corcovado/the Christ is less than R$20 ($10)
TIP4: If your cab does not know where it is, as to go to the Santa Teresa steps or Arcos de Lapa (both are a less than 10 minutes walk from Casa da Gente)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    58
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
93
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Located near the Selaron stairs, the building has an original architecture with the living-room at the floor level (with a stunning view on Rio) and with all the bedroom downstairs having the windows on a central atrium giving the light.

Pauline, the owner, is always available and willing to give you all the information you need on the city. This is the major difference compared to a standard anonymous hotel.

The breakfast is quite nice (having the stunning view helps !), as is the living room.

We were in a cheap bedroom for 2 (140 reals) with the private bathroom (no aircon) and were a bit disappointed. Indeed the bathroom was on average cleanliness and the room furniture were also average (most noticeable was the fan on the ceil which was making a lot of noise and always about to fell and the window which has a lot of "holes" around letting the noise enter). As far as we were able to see, the other cheap rooms were much nicer. My advice is to go for the shared bathroom room or to go the most expensive room.

Anyway it was adequate for our travel mindset (which was to spend the least amount of time in the bedroom) as Pauline more than make up for that.

The principal annoying thing was the noise from some kind of night club nearby on saturday night. Fortunately they completely stopped around midnight.

We have also a mixed feeling on the location. On one hand it is located 10 mn by walk from the lively center of Santa Theresa, on the other hand it is quite far from any convenient subway station and bus station, and there is literally almost nothing around. And you have quite a steep access (count 10-15 mn of hard walk from the bus station).

So all in all, it was a nice experience, especially thanks to Pauline (and Roberta). But be very careful for the location as it may not be very handy depending on what you want to do in Rio.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cess_venise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

A beautiful space and a true refuge of calm, peace, and creativity. You will be mesmerized by the incredible art and chill vibe when you walk in. A great place to stay whether you are working (very nice space to work + super fast internet) or partying like it's the last night on earth (Rio Scenarium and Lapa are literally a short walk away). Next to the famous stairs from Snoop Dogg's - Beautiful video. By far the best part though is the amazing staff who make you feel so welcome like you are family. Gratidão.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Despegar

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I stayed at Casa da Gente in December 2011, and I've never stayed in a hotel where I've felt more at home. Very clean, beautiful view, beautiful neighborhood, full kitchen, fantastic breakfast and friendly people. If I ever make it back to Rio, this is where I'm going to stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed at Casa da Gente last weekend with two friends and was so glad to have found this hidden gem. It's location is perfect for exploring Santa Teresa and Lapa, with two of Rio's most famous cultural icons in view from the beautiful garden terrance, the stairs of Santa Teresa and the Arches of Lapa.

The service was very friendly, food was delicious and the rooms clean.

Fantastic value and intangible amounts of fun.

Obrigado!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

First, this location was great -- it was up around 200 stairs from Lapa and the metro, and a 15 minute walk (uphill) to St. Teresa, which was awesome (although our calves were sore after a few days).

But the house and rooms could use a little work. It is basically someone's house that they are renting out rooms at. The floors are always a bit dirty, and there are a ton of ants and other bugs. It's perfectly serviceable -- but not some place I would recommend to anyone other than someone just looking for a place to stay.

The hosts were great and offered lots of help and suggestions.

Overall, it was fine, but nothing I'd return to - except for the location.

Room Tip: Good for folks who only care about location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
192 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

We booked this guest house (B&B) for 4 nights as a last resort. Everywhere else we tried in Rio was either full or too expensive (our fault for booking so late). And fortunately it turned out to be a great choice. The room was basic, but clean & comfortable - our room also had a balcony with a good view of the central area (not scenic but interesting nonetheless). The house is built against a steep hill and has an unusual design - you enter at the top, and go down to the rooms. It's located in a quiet cul-de-sac in Santa Teresa (ST) - restaurants are a 20 minute walk away. And its an easy walk down to Lapa with bars and great transport links - the bus and metro in particular are cheap and easy to use. A lot of guide books talk about how dangerous ST is, but its really not that bad, as long as you're sensible i.e. stick to main streets and stay alert. In my opinion this is the nicest part of Rio to stay in - ST has lovely streets to wander in the day time, and Lapa is nearby for bars and music venues. Finally I have to mention Pauline, the wonderful owner and host of this guest house. All the staff were great, but Pauline was especially helpful and good company - she really made this place feel special.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#8 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Gente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Gente

Property: Casa da Gente
Address: Rua Goncalves Fontes 33 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa da Gente is an amazing and ecological house, with a suspended garden hanging high over the roofs and streets of the city center, providing a breath taking view on the Baia de Guanabara. Ideally located in between the bohemian and peaceful Santa Teresa neighborhood and the night lively Lapa neighbourhood, the house provides you comfort, charm and hospitality. Our breakfast is delicious and natural and we have a free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Casa da Gente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Gente Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing