We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sensational last day to wrap up our Rio experience during Carnival!”

Rafael Torres Lopes Tour Guide
Ranked #4 of 468 Tours in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A sensational last day to wrap up our Rio experience during Carnival!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

After 4 fabulous days in Buenos Aires and 10 days on a cruise ship visiting various ports in Brazil, we had a full day left to spend in Rio until our flight left late that night. We had already visited the famous spots in Rio but wanted a different perspective of the area. Rafa wasn't available for us but he arranged for Marcone who created a wonderful tour to Niteroi, a quaint fishing village, an art museum, a special stop to watch para gliders and a fun supper in Rio along wiht many other treasures. The 6 of us were very comfortable with all our luggage in the large transport and driver he brought to guide us around. Marcone's sense of humor, grasp of English and the area made it a very memorable trip for all of us.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    15
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buda, Texas, United States
1 review
“Best Guide in Rio”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a great time when we went to Rio! Rafa organized a ride from the airport for us to our hotel. The day of our tour we got to see many places in Rio that we would not have been able to see on our own. Also found a few secret spots on his tour to do later. Rafa was very informative and even took us out for a night on the town after the day trip. We were in South America for 2 weeks and wanted to see more! He referred us to another guide he works with in Iguazu, Mike. He even assisted us in getting tickets there last minute. Over all we had the best experience with Rafa and we would suggest if your going to do South America contact Rafa first! He will look out for your best interest and always pointed us in the right direction!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good selection of sites but careful what you ask for”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Overall, a good experience but the guide provided was not Raffa himself but his associate Vanessa who is a Canadian resident doing this on a part-time basis without real knowledge of the city.

Other cautions :

1. Be very specific of your expectations. If you want six- star service with restaurants to match, say so or you will get a very local approach which, though charming, may not suit your needs. Beware of street food - on marshland tour, we were offered purchases of some frozen treats locally made which in retrospect have associated health risks ( not sure this was thought through)

2. Check on mobility challenges - We were shuttled up to see Christ the Redeeemer which required a lot of stairs. Taking the train wou,d have cost more mo ey but avoided some of the stairs (not offered as an option and we were also not aware of this)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne_in_Muskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was an AWESOME day in RIO!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had several hours to spare in Rio passing through and arranged with Rafael to meet his good friend Diana Persi. Diana picked us up at the airport and our priority was the Corcodova, the Christ. Before we went up, she took us to a helipad to get the best view of the Christ for pictures and a 360 degree view of Rio, pointing out all the areas to us. We then went to the Corcodova, up close. Afterwards, she drove us to several areas of the city showing us an area that was changed by a man who tiled the steps, we had lunch and walked at Copacabana Beach, went to Impanema Beach and saw much of Rio inone day. She made us feel warm and welcome, taught us much about the history of her city, spoke English very well. We had such a great day together I invited her to Washington DC to see our city.... Rafael did a great job putting us together. I know if you spend some time with either ofthem, you will have a great time in RIO! We did!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I had the joy of spending a full day (really full-not back until 8pm) touring Rio and the surrounding areas with Rafa before our January cruise. We saw everything and anything that might interest us and ate at two terrifically amazing finds! We met with hugs and left as friends! Our wonderful memories of beautiful Rio are all because of Rafa. He tailors the day to YOUR wishes, not the rote sightseeing tours often offered by guides. He figures out the shortcuts to his beloved city and spares nothing to share it with tourists. He even takes photos for his own collection. In short, try your best, your very best to engage Rafa.

Helpful?
Thank BarbaraZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rafael Torres Lopes Tour Guide also viewed

 

Been to Rafael Torres Lopes Tour Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing