We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better- improve!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elegance Praia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were here During Olympic Games. Rooms in design were Not cozy. Elevators worked somehow strange. Breakfast unhealthy with lots of carbohydrates, white wheat And sweets And no HOT watet for Tea- just warm... And at Check out they put on most Room bills some consumptions of minibar we Never had. So we had troubles. Area is nice. Good infrastructure.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank saschafrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016

Located on a very little street at Flamengo, this hotel appeared to be a good choice in such big city. It was far from the southern part of the city but the metro and plenty of taxis became the distance easy to deal. At first sight no big deals but when we get in the experience begun to be better. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier but there was no problem in letting our luggage meanwhile we went to have lunch.
The room was big, very comfortable and with a very large tub. Exceptional bathroom with delicious shower.
The WiFi worked with no problems.
The breakfast was one of two things that disappointed me. Cold and poor.
The other was the noise early in the morning in the room. It was one floor bellow the kitchen and this was very disturbing. Do not accept the room 215!

Room Tip: Higher floors must be less noisy. Do not get rooms near the kitchen, above or bellow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank adrioceano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

All staff members were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in suite - big space. Unfortunately air condition was very noisy and there was no window with daylight inside.
From our experience the hotel is in safe neighborhood. Very close to the metro station.
I think it is better to stay here than in typical touristic places (Copacabana).

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vopetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Location near metro and Flamingo Beach. They have an arrangement with a good Gym free to use in front the Hotel. The breakfast was really good. Big plus that they have free parking, because we rented scouter in Rio, it's more easy then with metro or bus.

Our room was without natural light. The air-conditioner in the room was very noisy. The design of the building is not ideal. Windows open into chimney-like spaces within the building structure. While this gives every room a window to the "outside" (aka to nearby concrete wall), it also acts as a noise shunt so you can hear everything from every other room sharing that window space (even with your window closed). If you are a light sleeper, I do not recommend.

Room Tip: Try to not take room near elevator, because it's too many noise! And don't take room of leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sveatoslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean with good price rates.
Located in a quiet street of Flamengo, in a waking distance to metro, convenience stores and banks.
The rooms are well conserved and neatly keep! New equipments and comfortable and bedding!
Our room and bathroom were a bit dark with an inside view window.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank flavio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Originally built about 1995, the hotel was renovated about one year ago. The rooms are small but clean, the air conditioning is noisy, but the hotel area is fairly quiet. Close to the Metro, Flamingo Beach and some shops and restaurants, the hotel is less expensive than the hotels on the major beaches. The breakfast provided is outstanding with a nice variety of fruit, meats, cheeses, hot entrees and deserts. Generally, the staff was very helpful, but our room was cleaned only once in five days, and we had to ask for fresh towels twice. After the first two days, we discovered there is a switch near the entry door that signals the housekeeper that you either do, or do not want the room cleaned and serviced. We changed the switch to desire room service but the room was only cleaned on one day.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I booked this place a month in advance with a good discount (15%) through booking.com. It's on a quiet one way street (runs from the beach esplanade back to town) in the Catete neighborhood, part of Flamengo. We were well received by an enthusiastic concierge who spoke good English and made sure we were happily settled in. Only snag here was that I had requested a twin room and on opening the door encountered a double bed. Quickly fixed with another room on the same floor. Spacious, modern, TV, mini-fridge, lots of lighting options, electrical outlets, good shower, clean sheets, quiet air conditioning, closet with clothes hangers and a safe. Standard breakfast included in daily rate, fresh juices, scrambled eggs, sliced sausage, ham, cheese, various breads both rolls and sliced, toaster, fresh fruit like pineapple and papaya, usual coffee and milk, yoghurt. Pretty good in all. Computer access in the lobby. Hotel has its own garage parking although it's a bit tight for a pickup through the narrow entrance. The hotel is close to a busy commercial street (Catete, first intersection, 150 m away), which also has a good restaurant (Catete Grill, see separate review). Room service and hotel restaurant provide good options too. Check out was easy, paid on a credit card when you check in. Good stay, helpful staff all round who spoke English and Portuguese.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is the top floor, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maracoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hotel Regina
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
790 reviews
Flamengo
Windsor Florida Hotel
Windsor Florida Hotel
#31 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,118 reviews
Hotel Novo Mundo
#105 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Gallant
#158 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
239 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#88 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
293 reviews
Flamengo
Argentina Hotel
Argentina Hotel
#138 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegance Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegance Praia Hotel

Address: Rua Correa Dutra 19, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-050, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: C$79 - C$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elegance Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Elegance Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elegance Praia Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing