We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$258
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$276
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$190
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$220
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$547
US$447
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
224
51
17
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
51
17
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrooftop poolipanema beachamazing roombreakfast each morningsmall hotelreal riobars and restaurantsbenjaminfavelabrazilcaipirinhaneighborhoodluxuryuber
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 316 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2015

This new place in Ipanema its really different! On the top of the hill, close to Ipanema neighbor, with incredible ocean view! The design of this small butique hotel is amazing and modern. Service is really good, all staff is really attentive. Rooms are pretty big and comfortable. Pool has a ocean view. But, you can get there only by taxi.
Overall i like a lot. Recommend!

Room Tip: Pede um quarto com a vista
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaKorpusenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour Elena,

Toute l'equipe de Casa Mosquito vous remerciie pour vos commetaires si chaleureux!
Nous voudrons que chaque jour nos clients soit en parfaite harmonie a Casa Mosquito et pour ça nous faisons tout notre possible pour realiser cette envie!

A tres bientot on espere!

Cordialement,
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2015

The hotel is split into two parts, the old house, which we stayed in, and the new annex up the hill behind the house. The design and attention to detail in the old house is excellent and the whilst the annex would have a different feel it also looks very appealing. Breakfast is good, the staff are charming and helpful, and the roof terrace on the annex is spectacular. The location is also excellent - both the Ipanema and Copacabana beaches are a ten or fifteen minute walk away. There is also a Metro stop five minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour !

Merci pour vos commentaires chaleureux!
Nous esperant pouvoir vous revoir vite pour que l'experience Casa Mosquito puisse etre encore plus chaleureuse.

Tres Bom weekend!
Bien Cordialement,

Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2015

Rio is a special place and Casa Mosquito is an excellent choice for some but not for all, thus the average rating. Here is how I would decide:
- if you are into design and unique boutique hotels: go for it
- if you are tired of standard hotel rooms and chain hotels: go for it
- if you look for a very cool location right in between Ipanema and Copacabana: go for it
- if you are looking for lots of service and ease of access: I would not recommend it. The hotel is at a steep hill and has lots of stairs. This gives it both its charm but also its challenge. As for the service, we experienced highs and lows. Highs were very approachable and friendly staff members. Lows were new staff members that even forgot to tell us that the items in the mini bar are free of charge until we checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Alex_Atzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Hello Alex,

Thank you for your comments and we try all the time to do everything that we can do to transforme your day in a special and confortable experience casa mosquito.

If you come back to Rio it will be a pleasure to see you again.
Have a nice day!

Best Regards,

Rosa dos Prazeres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2015

What an elegant find! This boutique property sits perfectly between Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. You can easily walk to either one in about ten minutes. The property itself is very home-like but in an upscale, classy way. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Some of our favorite memories of Rio is us sitting on the veranda in the evening enjoying a cachaça concoction of muddled lime, mint and sugar. Or the wonderful dinner we had prepared especially for us in the intimate and warm dining room.

Truth be told, as much as we loved Rio it was the Casa Mosquito that really made the difference. We will one day return. I can't make the cachaca drinks as good as they can, and I want one again badly!

Room Tip: The new suites were being built when we were there. I think they will offer a better view than the main house.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour a Vous,

On vous remercie pour vos commentaires et reston toujours tres touchez!
Nous allons continuez a faire des efforts pour que nos clients ce sente bein chez nous.

On esperant vous revoir bientot,
Cordialement,

Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2015

We stayed over New Year for 5 nights in this beautiful guesthouse in Rio. There are many positives to mention:
1) The rooftop pool is absolutely stunning and takes the place to another level.
2) The decor of the whole place is beautiful and the taste is exquisite
3) The staff were very helpful but special mention goes to Daniel for his excellent hospitality and in particular his sublime cocktail making skills.
4) We stayed in the Tom Jobim room which although small, was just what we needed and the view towards the favela as well as Sugarloaf was memorable.
5) Although expensive it's worth it for the view.

The only reason I haven't quite given it 5 stars was due to our welcome. I appreciate we arrived late (around 2330) but it would have been nice to have had someone welcome us other than the porter. Thankfully we are relatively seasoned travellers but I can imagine it might have been more off putting for some.

One other point - you do need a relatively decent level of fitness to get up the hill to the place.

All in all I would return.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VascoHoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Hello,

Thank you for your nice words to casa mosquito.
We are so happy, you were feel good here and we hope to see you again.
To have a drink or a lunch with a wondefull view to sugarloaf ,copacabana or ipanema!

Wellcome again!
Best Regards,
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews