We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of booking and customer service experience”
Review of Casa Mosquito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mosquito
Ranked #30 of 348 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2015

This review is in regard to my booking experience with Casa Mosquito. I booked a room at this hotel through Mr. and Mrs. Smith for the Olympics in 2016. I paid the 50% deposit with my credit card, and days later realized that the deposit amount was refunded to my card (though not the full amount as the refund was ~$22 less, likely due to exchange rates).

Casa Mosquito nor Mr. and Mrs. Smith reached out to let me know about the cancellation. I then spent one frustrating week trying to get information about the cancellation and was finally told by Mr. and Mrs. Smith that the hotel is not available for my requested dates due to a prior contract. That is understandable, but someone definitely should have contacted me to let me know about the cancellation. I was then told that a Casa Mosquito manager would assist with finding alternate accommodations. I have not been contacted with alternatives, and that was two weeks ago. Lastly, I am still waiting for a promised check to cover the difference between the original deposit charge and the refunded amount.

Poor service from both Casa Mosquito and Mr. and Mrs. Smith!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank TLGF_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2015

Dear All,

I am so sorry for this misunderstanding !
Casa Mosquito are close for the Olimpic Game since last years .
I spoke to Mr and Mrs Smith about you and propose to them to help you to find an another hotel for this period .
I send to Mr and Mrs Smith 5 proposition of the similar categories as us.
If I can help you please send me an e mail,( rosa@casamosquito.com) and it will be a pleasure to help you .

I remain at your disposal for any further informations,

Kind Regards,
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2015

This new place in Ipanema its really different! On the top of the hill, close to Ipanema neighbor, with incredible ocean view! The design of this small butique hotel is amazing and modern. Service is really good, all staff is really attentive. Rooms are pretty big and comfortable. Pool has a ocean view. But, you can get there only by taxi.
Overall i like a lot. Recommend!

Room Tip: Pede um quarto com a vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaKorpusenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour Elena,

Toute l'equipe de Casa Mosquito vous remerciie pour vos commetaires si chaleureux!
Nous voudrons que chaque jour nos clients soit en parfaite harmonie a Casa Mosquito et pour ça nous faisons tout notre possible pour realiser cette envie!

A tres bientot on espere!

Cordialement,
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2015

The hotel is split into two parts, the old house, which we stayed in, and the new annex up the hill behind the house. The design and attention to detail in the old house is excellent and the whilst the annex would have a different feel it also looks very appealing. Breakfast is good, the staff are charming and helpful, and the roof terrace on the annex is spectacular. The location is also excellent - both the Ipanema and Copacabana beaches are a ten or fifteen minute walk away. There is also a Metro stop five minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour !

Merci pour vos commentaires chaleureux!
Nous esperant pouvoir vous revoir vite pour que l'experience Casa Mosquito puisse etre encore plus chaleureuse.

Tres Bom weekend!
Bien Cordialement,

Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Rio is a special place and Casa Mosquito is an excellent choice for some but not for all, thus the average rating. Here is how I would decide:
- if you are into design and unique boutique hotels: go for it
- if you are tired of standard hotel rooms and chain hotels: go for it
- if you look for a very cool location right in between Ipanema and Copacabana: go for it
- if you are looking for lots of service and ease of access: I would not recommend it. The hotel is at a steep hill and has lots of stairs. This gives it both its charm but also its challenge. As for the service, we experienced highs and lows. Highs were very approachable and friendly staff members. Lows were new staff members that even forgot to tell us that the items in the mini bar are free of charge until we checked out.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Alex_Atzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2015

Hello Alex,

Thank you for your comments and we try all the time to do everything that we can do to transforme your day in a special and confortable experience casa mosquito.

If you come back to Rio it will be a pleasure to see you again.
Have a nice day!

Best Regards,

Rosa dos Prazeres

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

What an elegant find! This boutique property sits perfectly between Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. You can easily walk to either one in about ten minutes. The property itself is very home-like but in an upscale, classy way. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Some of our favorite memories of Rio is us sitting on the veranda in the evening enjoying a cachaça concoction of muddled lime, mint and sugar. Or the wonderful dinner we had prepared especially for us in the intimate and warm dining room.

Truth be told, as much as we loved Rio it was the Casa Mosquito that really made the difference. We will one day return. I can't make the cachaca drinks as good as they can, and I want one again badly!

Room Tip: The new suites were being built when we were there. I think they will offer a better view than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015
Google Translation

Bonjour a Vous,

On vous remercie pour vos commentaires et reston toujours tres touchez!
Nous allons continuez a faire des efforts pour que nos clients ce sente bein chez nous.

On esperant vous revoir bientot,
Cordialement,

Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed over New Year for 5 nights in this beautiful guesthouse in Rio. There are many positives to mention:
1) The rooftop pool is absolutely stunning and takes the place to another level.
2) The decor of the whole place is beautiful and the taste is exquisite
3) The staff were very helpful but special mention goes to Daniel for his excellent hospitality and in particular his sublime cocktail making skills.
4) We stayed in the Tom Jobim room which although small, was just what we needed and the view towards the favela as well as Sugarloaf was memorable.
5) Although expensive it's worth it for the view.

The only reason I haven't quite given it 5 stars was due to our welcome. I appreciate we arrived late (around 2330) but it would have been nice to have had someone welcome us other than the porter. Thankfully we are relatively seasoned travellers but I can imagine it might have been more off putting for some.

One other point - you do need a relatively decent level of fitness to get up the hill to the place.

All in all I would return.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VascoHoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Hello,

Thank you for your nice words to casa mosquito.
We are so happy, you were feel good here and we hope to see you again.
To have a drink or a lunch with a wondefull view to sugarloaf ,copacabana or ipanema!

Wellcome again!
Best Regards,
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We stayed at Casa Mosquito over the New Year for our first visit to Rio. It is in a fantastic location between Ipanema & Copacabana up a quite steep winding road. We had one of the rooms in the new building which gave us amazing views (although even more steps to climb). The staff were always extremely helpful & friendly. The New Years Eve party on the roof terrace was a great way to celebrate with fantastic views over the Copacabana fireworks. Would definite stay here again

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building have incredible views, which do require climbing some steep steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Hello Fiona,

Thank you so much for your words.
We still continue to want to offer the best.
We start a new year with a nice energy to share with you and the others clients.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,523 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
368 reviews
Ipanema
JM Guesthouse Ipanema
JM Guesthouse Ipanema
#16 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques Santa Teresa
Casa Marques Santa Teresa
#9 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
125 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
421 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosquito

Address: Rua Saint Roman 222, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: C$333 - C$693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mosquito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An address of huge houses and gardens infused with a discreetly elegant atmosphere. Saint-Roman was an aviator and writer born in Toulouse. That made us realise that we were in the right place’ recalls Planes. They bought the house number 222 and carried out a comprehensive restoration and decoration. Their success and good taste lead them to manage, besides the hotel, a real estate agency named Rio Exception® that, in addition to finding hidden treasures in the city, delivers restoration and decoration services for its customers. Sitting on a hill, the property comprises a large living room filled with books, allowing full circulation into the dining space that leads to an outdoor garden - which has a beautiful fountaind with carps – where breakfast is served. CASA MOSQUITO offers nine rooms, each one of them has its own balcony and unique decor with pieces “digged” in Paris, Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo, besides furniture by Sergio Rodrigues . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Mosquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mosquito Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing