We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pousada in Rio de Janeiro.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #18 of 333 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely Pousada in Rio de Janeiro.”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

From reservation to check-out, my experience with Quinta Azul has been overall very good. The staff is very attentive and extremely kind, always available and helpful; their English is superb and nothing was ever a problem for them. Aline, the manager, is a perfect hostess: charming, friendly and very bubbly!
My suitcase got lost on the way to Rio and the airline delivered it at the pousada two days later, at almost 1 am; Jorge was there to receive it and made sure I had it first thing in the morning, as soon as I was awake, even if he wasn't on duty.
The pousada is a true gem: situated in the rustic, yet fascinating Santa Teresa neighbourhood of Rio. We found the surrounding area lively, full of life and with a decadent charm that introduced us to the true face of Brazil's arguably most beautiful city. There is a very good choice of restaurants and bars within a very short walking distance. Taxis are easily available to go into town and to the beaches, but a short and pleasurable stroll down the hill, takes you to the subway station where connections are available to the most popular areas.
The varied and tasty breakfast is served in a beautiful setting, service is prompt and corteous. Wi-fi is available in the patio and the signal is strong and clear.
The rooms are very clean and feature all comforts, bathrooms are spacious and the walk-in showers are a blessing after an all day out. There's some street noise in the upper rooms that is absolutely inevitable, due to the central location of the structure. Nothing that good earplugs can't cancel.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank enryfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very proud to read your fantastic experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.

It was a great pleasure to have guests like you, and our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

I am extremely happy that we full filled yours, and we would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you for this wonderful detailed feedback.

Warm regards from Santa Teresa!

Aline Vieira
Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    115
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
210
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Don't be fooled when the taxi driver does not believe you when you pull in front of this hotel. There is a whole world that cascades down the hill into the jungle below. Yes, this is a quirky setting and some expected hotel amenities are lacking but we felt it was all part of the experience in a way that this part of Rio is all about. The staff is very personable and likable. Jorge speaks Japanese which was a bonus for my Japanese speaking wife. We were moved here from the sister facility (Quinta Rosa) nearby due to renovations so the lack of a real pool was a bit of disappointment. Noise can be a problem from the neighbor's barking dogs, the buses, and the boisterous weekend revelers. Nonetheless, we thoroughly appreciated being imbedded in the lifeblood of Santa Teresa that Quinta Azul provides.

Room Tip: Avoid the first room on the street and the one buried in the middle which must have little daylight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback. Santa Teresa is a very cozy and bohemian neighborhood, within walking distance from Lapa, the best nightlife in the city, with a lot of samba and bossa nova clubs and bars. We are very close to Crist Statue, Sugar loaf and the best beaches.
We also would like to inform you that the room number 1 is getting much stronger soundproofing to offer our guests even more comfort.
We are really happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we can´t wait to host your here again.

Best wishes,

Aline Vieira.
Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We spent three weeks in Brazil in a number of cities and historic towns, with the highlight being Carnival in Rio, where we spent five days. We'd heard dubious reports about the quality of hotels on Copacabana so we decided to choose either Quinta Rosa or Quinta Azul in charming SantaTeresa, where the cobbled streets are still only a short walk from the nearest metro station and city centre. Both the Quintas are English owned, and this becomes very obvious at our choice (Quinta Azul) - the staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke good English. Each evening there was a complimentary drink, and free drinking water was always available - in our other six hotels in Brazil drinking water had to be bought, and was expensive, around £1.70 for 375 ml. There was a very pleasant garden and pool area, and the day we arrived there was a street carnival literally right outside our front door - was very colourful and exciting. Our room was very clean and well equipped, especially the bathroom which was so much better than the ones we met elsewhere, and very tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were very nice, with a good choice, there was free wifi, and free use of a pc if we wanted. All that was missing, in my view, was a kettle in the room, but we were welcome to use the breakfast room to make hot drinks, and we have yet to meet a kettle in any hotel room in South America. The area around was very interesting to explore, and my wife even experimented with a 'taxi' ride from town centre on the back of a motor bike to Quinta Azul, for only 3 Reals, less than 80p. One of the best restaurants in Santa Teresa was just 25 metres away, and there were gorgeous views of the sea within two minutes walk.

If we return to Rio in the future we will certainly try to book at one of the two Quintas. Friends were staying at Quita Rosa, and they were also very pleased with everything there. We would strongly recommend these 'boutique hotels' to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Quinta Azul and we are so grateful to see you amazing review.

It is very important for us to have your feedback and to know that you had a great time with us.

We will be informing all Quinta Azul staff about your nice words in appreciation of all.

We sincerely hope to host you again in a near future.

Warm regards,

Aline Vieira.
Operation Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My partner and I stayed in this boutique hotel for 3 nights over carnival and enjoyed a great stay. The recently designed property looks and feels delightful with some very modern touches that really impress. The service delivered was personal, proactive and very attentive without becoming too much. Despite staying during Carnival and a local street party starting one morning at 7 we always enjoyed restless sleep. A first visit to the Quinta and Rio but not the last.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are really proud to see you had a great time with us on carnival.

We will be informing all the staff about your comments on our service. That is our first challenge! It is great to hear that we reached your expectations.

We wait for you again soon!

Kind regards,

Aline Vieira.
Operation manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at Quinta Azul for 3 nights the week before Carnival. Upon the very friendly and professional check-in we were offered an upgrade to the deluxe room but declined. After a phone call and 5min later we got the upgrade offered at no extra charge! The rooms were clean, nicely designed, breakfast was healthy and just what we needed and the common areas inviting. Ask Jorge to make a Caipirinha for you! After having had a few all over those very simply outstanding.

If you are looking for a place to stay in St Teresa close to the action in Lapa, Quinta azul is highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Literallyafloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Manager at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest,

There is no greater pleasure to read such nice comments about your excellent stay with us!

Jorge is very please to know that you really liked the brazilian caipirinhas.

We hope we can host you again very soon!

Kind Regards from all Quinta Azul team.

Aline Vieira
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

As a tropical girl from Costa Rica I like the calm and relaxing feeling from nature and I love when I travelled and I feel at home, That is what I simply felt in Quinta Azul with all the green trees around, it makes you forget you are in a city. The staff was very nice and friendly, charming place with a lovely common area and wooden deck to enjoy reading a book. We had an incredible and comfortable stay we loved every minute. Accessible public transport and excellent location too. It was my first time in Rio but it won’t be the last neither in Quinta Azul.
PS; It truly was a charming place. We had a unique fabulous time…

Room Tip: Stay in the room on the top is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ines A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Quinta Azual is the cutest place + very clean and nicely done both in the room and the patio/common area.
2. Extremely good customer service, the crew there are very friendly and the will make your stay personal. (they absolutely made us feel at home) Both morning we were 2 hours late for breakfast and they still offered us breakfast and second day they put cut fruits aside for us!

3. I liked Santa tereza a lot, I thought it was beautiful and very good crowd with cute restaurants. the only problem we encounter was the Tram is not working for the past 6 months and since Santa Tereza is up on the mountain with not easy road to get to, if we went to hang out somewhere Taxi drivers always gave us hard time to get us back to our hotel. some gave us bad attitude for even asking them to get paid to get us back to our hotel and some just over charged us. Other than this It was a true Amazing stay for us :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nejla8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#8 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
279 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#122 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
62 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#6 of 333 in Rio de Janeiro
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#11 of 333 in Rio de Janeiro
46 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 333 in Rio de Janeiro
584 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 333 in Rio de Janeiro
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Property: Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 333 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing