We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just WOW!”

Camarada Camarao - Rio Design Barra
Ranked #38 of 14,535 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barra da Tijuca
Description: The flavors of the northeastern beaches directly to the elegant gastronomic center of Rio Design Barra. The restaurant Camarada Camarão specializes in seafood. Already established in Recife, where it was founded, the Camarada has won Carioca version for last than two years and has brought flavor and tradition with over 40 recipes that shine shrimp. The portions are always plentiful (for two) and range from the exquisite modern cuisine to old recipes of the Northeast. Revenues and command of the kitchen are handled by the consultant and chef François Schmidt.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

I have to say, this is the best restaurant I visited in Rio de Janeiro. Specialist in Sea Food and Fish it was just amazing!
My wife and I were accompanied by our friends from Spain and their was also amazed!
We order the famous Moqueca de Marisco and my friends ordered the Shrimp served on Pumpkin.
None of us managed to finish the meal.
It was so Good!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank alysonm763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarada C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Camarada Camarao - Rio Design Barra, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Thank you for your rating! She is very important to us. Come and sample other drinks and dishes and be amazed even more! Come back to Comrade forever! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2018

It's on the 3rd floor of a mall and the dishes are very carb heavy. You cannot get one dish per person, each dish has to shared between 2 people. The flavors/taste... not that great. The atmosphere is what you would expect in a mall restaurant. The whole experience was... uninspiring, unfortunately.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank encouragement8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

Pedimos para viagem (e pagamos) moqueca de LAGOSTA e verificamos em casa que substituíram por Camarão.

Beware with this place, not honest and poorly managed. We ordered (and Paid) Lobster take out moqueca which was replaced by shrimp.

No respect for this type of business - not recommended for international customers.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank jasgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarada C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Camarada Camarao - Rio Design Barra, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018
Google Translation

Prezado,

Agradecemos o seu feedback e lamentamos muito o ocorrido . No Camarada prezamos muito pela transparência em nossos relacionamentos e de forma alguma este é um procedimento que praticamos em nosso restaurante. Temos a certeza de que foi um erro operacional e gostaríamos muito de ter a oportunidade de nos redimir por tal erro. Pedimos a gentileza de entrar em contato conosco por meio do e-mail sac@ocamarada.com.br enviando seu telefone para que possamos prestar-lhe os devidos esclarecimentos.

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. At Camarada we value our relationships and transparency in every transaction. This is not something we practice in our restaurant and we are sure it was an operational mistake. We would love to have the opportunity to fix that . We kindly ask you to share your contact with us by sending an e-mail to sac@ocamarada.com.br.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

I honestly had a sad experience, after reading some of the reviews. I had a lot of high expectation from this place, and I was very excited to try, but I got disappointed when I did and here’s why:
- Food menu doesn’t give you the freedom to choose the way you want, everything is for 2 people, so you have to have a partner and no you can’t have your own plate, or at least small plate to share
- Food is pricy for the taste
- sorry I don’t remember the name of what I ordered but it was the plate with the chips fries on top with rice and shrimps ( the taste was like I’m having a potato chips with ketchup flavor ) NO JOKE not worthy at all
- the menu doesn’t really say what’s in the plate, I got surprised with Raisin and ham and some other things in my plate that I didn’t want to
- I got charged for the shrimp pie that I haven’t order, the staff just brought it and served it ( I thought it was welcome service as they served it after the menu. And the staff didn’t mention anything about charging )
- staff doesn’t speak English so get ready to practice your Portuguese or hands signs

Overall I’m not coming back for sure

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Georges A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarada C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Camarada Camarao - Rio Design Barra, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

Dear Georges,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our appologies for your experience. We do have a concept based on the culture and culinary of the North East of Brazil where the dishes are made to share. You can observe that concept throughout our restaurant decor , including our “cafeteria” tables. We do offer a menu with a few options of individual dishes that clearly was not offered to you. In Brazil it is common to be at a restaurant or bar and something is offered to the customer as an appetizer and that is added to the bill. We believe that the language barrier and lack of sensibilty of our staff was na issue in making your experience more pleasent. We have a few employees in our staff that speak Engllish, Spanish and French and peharps they were not scheduled that day. We have spoken to the managers on duty and pointed out all the observations made on avaliation. It was extremelly important for us to hear your feedback and shareit with the staff so they can improve their service, especially with our foreign clients.
You probably had the Arroz a Grega, wich is a typical dish from Brazill and the ingridients are known by locals. Point taken and we will be including full description in our next menu review. We offer more than 40 options of shrimp dishes in our menu and we hope you give us another chance to show you our true Camarada experience.
Once again thank you for your feedback and be sure that we will work on every point made in your avaliation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

The restaurant is located at the Design Barra shopping mall. I invited several Business associates for dinner. The restaurant offer endless options of seafood dishes. Chosen one of their Moqueca dishes. Bare in mind that most of the dishes are for two as they offer large portions. Avarage cost per dinner - approx USD 50.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 4birdsrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camarada Camarao - Rio Design Barra also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Camarada Camarao - Rio Design Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing