We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$123
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$284
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$401
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
394
607
161
50
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
607
161
50
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barperfect locationbeach chairsocean viewrestaurants and shoppingbreakfast buffettwo brothersfront desk stafftop floorsmall poolyogurtfelt very safevisit riochrist the redeemerumbrellasipanemaposto
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2016

We visited this hotel last year, and they were still doing some renovations to the hotel. But the staff more than made up for renovations. We were upgraded to a room with a view of the beach. We were treated to the most refreshing water every day, I'm still trying to recreate the fruited water at home. The location was excellent very centrally located and walking distance to Copa. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dkkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSolipanema, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016


Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased with your comments at TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

This is an excellent hotel, very well placed for the fabulous beach and for the restaurants and shops of Ipanema. We stayed here twice on our journey round Brazil and had ocean view rooms each time. These are really worth the extra as the views are just amazing. Ipanema is - in our view - more upmarket than Copacabana.

Our rooms were large, clean and everything worked properly. The double bed was king sized and very comfortable. Sleep quality was high. Even though there is a major road between the hotel and the beach the noise levels in the room were very low. Don't let the road put you off - it is very easy to cross to access the beach.

The hotel provides beach towels, chairs and umbrellas free of charge.

Breakfasts were very good, with plenty of choice to suit most traveller's tastes. It gets very busy around 9 am but the breakfast staff were very helpful in clearing tables and replenishing the buffet quickly.

The roof top pool area has recently been refurbished and, though small, has amazing views and a limited number of comfortable chairs and loungers. The cocktails are very good at prices reasonable by world standards (around 5 USD for most). But the bar staff take a while to produce them, so don't expect to hurry in and out.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi was a little erratic on some days.

Getting taxis here is easy. Stand on the road with your arm out and a taxi will stop within a minute. We achieved this day after day. And taxi fares are very cheap: for around 10 USD you can get anywhere a tourist might want to go in Rio. Alternatively, there are lots of busses, or a ten minute walk to the metro station.

We would not hesitate to return to this hotel for another trip to Rio.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have number ending 01, 02 or 03 and are well worth the small additional cost.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandP_Cotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSolipanema, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2016
Google Translation



Bonjour, Noelle!


Nous vous remercions de votre commentaire.

Votre avis nous est très important.

Cordialement,


Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Fair warning: This is a long review. We really wanted to like everything about our stay at the Best Western Sol Ipanema Hotel in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on September 14-16.. The room had an excellent view of the beach, the breakfast buffet was exceptional, and the location ideal. However, an unfortunate incident at the rooftop bar on Tuesday, September 15, left us as unsatisfied guests.
After an all-day tour of Rio, our group decided to watch the sunset from the rooftop bar, which offered an excellent view. The other gentleman with us went to the bar with the drink order. I joined him after another one of our group decided to have a soft drink. When I got to the bar, the other gentleman put a Brazilian Real $50 bill on the bar near a stack of menus. I gave him R$20 to cover my order and I had another R$20 Real bill to pay for the additional drink. While our drinks were being prepared, two young women came to the bar and ordered cappuccinos. When our original order came, the other person with us took the tray and went to our table, leaving the R$50 at the bar. When I got my order, I tried to pay with a R$20 and was waived off by the bartender, who did not speak any English. Thinking that the R$50 left at the bar was enough to cover my later order, I left.
After a while, the bartender brought a folder with a bill. Thinking we had paid the bill and this was the receipt, we waived him off. After we finished our drinks and got ready to leave, the bartender approached me in a very forward manner with the bill in his hand. It didn’t take a genius for me to figure out that this was the bill and that he intended for me to pay it. I tried to explain to him that a R$50 was left at the bar, but, even in our inability to communicate, it seemed to me that he thought there was no such bill. After a few more minutes of language frustration, another guest at the bar, who spoke both English and Portuguese, explained that the bartender hadn’t gotten paid and that was causing the problems. Then, the bartender called to the main bar and got into a lively conversation. The guest who had stepped in with translation said that he was getting an earful from his boss. Then, she told us that this boss was going to come to the roof and take care of the situation. Well, that was really interesting because the bar manager didn’t speak English either. To him, we were trying to get out of paying a bar bill and he proceeded to yell at me – in Portuguese. At this point, we realized that there was a camera in the bar, and it was indicated to us that the tape would be reviewed. He left, angrily.

After another wait, which left us embarrassed and confused, I was ready to pay the bill – which was not a large one – and go to the room, even though we were certain we had left enough money to cover the cost. Finally, the hotel manager, who spoke English came, and we hoped he would resolve the situation. He had reviewed the tape and could not see much, only that the other person with me left the bar with a bill in his hand. He couldn’t tell the value, so it could have been my R$20, or, as the hotel manager assumed, it could have been the R$50. I tried to explain to him what I had seen but he could only go by what he saw. At this point, my wife said, “This is all so stupid.” With that the hotel manager bristled and said, “I don’t appreciate being called stupid.” My wife apologized for the statement and clarified that she did not call him stupid -- just the situation. The hotel manager, speaking in a condescending tone, also could not understand how I could think that the bar would accept cash. “We are a hotel. We do not expect guests to pay at the bar,” he said. Which is fine … but the previous day, we had lunch at the bar’s restaurant on another floor and paid in cash. In addition, I bought a bottle of water and paid with cash … to the same bar manager. It was clear by this time that I was not going to leave the bar without paying, so I signed my name and room and left with a bitter taste because of the experience.
The bill was small, less than US$20, but we were treated as if we were trying to get away without paying our bill, which is insulting. We are staying at a beachfront hotel in Ipanema and to think that I would cheat this hotel out of a small bill is incredible. At some point, I was certain the hotel manager was going to say, “We are so sorry. This is a small matter. We understand there was miscommunication, and let’s just forget this.” That didn’t happen.
But this did. About an hour later, our group left for dinner. When the elevator stopped at the second floor, in stepped the hotel manager, who clearly was on his way home. I would expect a hotel manager at a hotel such as this would review the situation and say something like, “I certainly hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.” Instead, he said nothing, so it was clear to him that this was group of Americans that could not be trusted.
As for the missing $R50, we have no clue where it went. We believe there are three possibilities – the bartender could have pocketed it (unlikely), one of the young women at the bar could have reached over and snatched it (also unlikely), or it got stuck in between pages or on the bottom of the menu or fell somewhere (most logical).
This was a small matter that could have been handled with better communication and understanding of the situation and without embarrassment on our part. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. I did finally get an apology from Best Western after more than one email to it. I never heard from the hotel. Best Western did say that the hotel did do a search for the missing $R50 bill but had no answer as to what happened to is.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odoyle584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2016

This was our first trip to Rio and we could not have been more pleased with this hotel. I work in the travel industry and have pretty high standards when it comes to properties around the globe. I could not have been more impressed with the Sol Ipanema. From early check in (no addtl cost due to a room was available if we wished to take it, which we did), to the staff, restaurant, pool, location, you name it. I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. The location in Ipanema IS where you want to be. Just steps from amazing restaurants and shopping in the Ipanema area. We walked every day all over Ipanema and to Leblon. Forget Copacabana, stay in Ipanema. The hotel itself is bright and clean. Our room was extremely spacious and comfortable for two adults. Mini bar prices were reasonable and appreciated. The shower had hot water which is always a plus for wayward North Americans, even if the temp outside is 90 degrees. The AC in the room worked perfectly. Some days we even had to turn it down or off as we got too cold! We had an ocean view room (#203) and could not have been more pleased. Noise from outside was very minimal. The bed was extremely comfortable. We could have watched the sunsets from our room every night if we liked but we often choose the roof top pool area for those. I guess we arrived the day after the pool had just reopened. We were so fortunate. That pool area is top notch, from the views, to the lounge chairs , to the service. The pool itself is smaller and waist deep but certainly does the job for cooling off and just enjoying the views of Ipanema and Leblon. We spent a lot of time at the rooftop pool area. We dined at the restaurant for dinner once and would have done so other nights if there had not been such an abundant selection of eateries within blocks of the hotel. The ocean front view from the restaurant cannot be beat. Our meals were fantastic and we highly recommend you do at least one night at the hotel restaurant for dinner. Included breakfast was AMAZING and one of the best I have had at any hotel. Large selection of pastries, yogurt, eggs, meats, cheeses, juices, fruits, cereal, I could go on and on. Due to the restaurant being on the first floor and our room on the 2nd, it made it very easy to take the stairs, which we did quite often. Another benefit of booking on the 2nd floor; no waiting for elevators plus you are getting some exercise. We did not want to leave this hotel. If they had had availability while we were there for our entire stay(we checked out 29DEC and went to Copacabana for our last 5 nights), we would have certainly continued our stay. We were in Rio for New Years eve so you must book early (like 8-9 months early) and in a block of 4-5 nights if you wish to stay during this time frame. We cannot wait to return to Ipanema and this will be the only place we will stay. And i cannot stress this enough; pay a little extra and book the ocean front rooms. You will not be disappointed. And the cost is minimal compared to other properties around the world with ocean front rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank ColoradoTravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSolipanema, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2016


Dear Client,

Thank you so much for spend your time sending positive comments about the hotel.

We are very happy to know that our guests love our services. And thank you for your detailed feedback about our property.

We do hope to receive you again.

Best regards,
Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2016

The staff was very accomodating and professional and went out of their way at all times to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms are very good quality; the location is great with excellent access to the beach. I am a frequent traveler and found the staff to be exceptional in every regard.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSolipanema, Manager at Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2016

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for choosing Sol Ipanema Hotel, and for sharing your feedback in Tripadvisor.

Your opinion is very important about our Staff.

We wish to see you again.

Best regards,

Sol Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews