We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Ranked #118 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Right next to the main beach at Ipanema with great bars and restaurants all around much better than copocabana area, Aline in reception could not be more helpful she helped us pick the right room for us and she was very attentive and patient with us

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony if possible, not many but worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear guest,

First, thank you for your comments about the hotel.

How nice to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our facilities and location. Special thank for recognizing our staff.

Hope to see you again and welcome you on your next trip to Rio.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016

Very nice hotel at an excellent location, 100m away from the Ipanema beach, close to the Ipanema shopping mile and nearby metro. Walking distance to the Copacabana.

Very good restaurant with the best sushi ever :)

The staff is very friendly and helpful! In this context, special thanks to Aline at the front desk!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dim309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear guest,

First, thank you for your comments about the hotel.

How nice to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our facilities and location. Special thank for recognizing our staff and our Opium restaurant.

Hope to see you again and welcome you on your next trip to Rio.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

First of all the big plus of this hotel - the LOCATION. Just a few meters away from Ipanema beach. Further the nice rooftop swimming pool and bar with great views. Also the rooms are very comfortable and modern, although the bathroom needs some modernization. However note that I was in an already renovated room and not all rooms are renovated and according to some comments I read earlier are fairly old - so try to get into a renovated one. Breakfast is also very nice with a great selection of juices, fruits, hot and cold items and lots of sweets. I had two times dinner at the Asian themed hotel restaurant which was both times very good as well. The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel was the airport transfer that I pre-arranged with the hotel. Of course as it is a pre-arranged and private transfer it is more expansive than with a taxi, but with 220 R$ which is 3x more than a taxi rate I think it is pretty over charged. At least I would expect then a very nice car in good condition. But unfortunately was the opposite - old and dirty car with a crumpy driver who on top of it was driving very unsafe as he was checking his phone all the time. Not the service I expect for that price. Other than that I can really recommend the hotel, just take a taxi from the airport.

Room Tip: Try to get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear guest,

Thank for your great review.

We are glad to hear that you spent a great time in Rio and enjoyed our hotel, its location, itsrooftop and proximity to the beach. At the same time, we are concerned with the service of transfer that is not consistent with our guest service standard. Your comments will be taken into consideration.

Hope to see you back as soon as possible.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during 2016 Summer Olympics. Clean hotel. Very close to the beach. The staff here was very friendly and helpful. I don't speak Portuguese so I had questions about local places. They were always eager to help. I arrived early before my room was ready. They held onto my bags while I did some exploring. They have a restaurant inside, which I made use of a few times. Meals were very good. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank mario g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review at TripAdvisor.

It is really great to hear that you had a wonderful stay in the wonderful city during the Olympics.

Hope to see you in our hotel as soon as you come to Rio again.

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Great service, front desk staff was very coperative. Speak english very well good tours organisers little expensive but no tension of buying tickets and asking for address. Overall I think very well situated few meters away from ipanema beach. Food is great with variety of cuisines. Pool sauna and roof top bar and view was amazing. Very Good for the price I paid.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jawad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your great review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and services. Hope to see you more times in Rio.

Warm regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

A bit pricy , but worth it. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms very clean. Food in resturant yummy. Walking distance to beach & shopping . Roof top view of area breathtaking. Security is very well attended to here.

Room Tip: Not sure-- we had a balcony view of beach. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for you great review about our hotel.

It is such a pleasure to hear that you had a great time during the Rio Olympics and enjoyed all the our city has to offer. Our location is amazing with nice views and near lots of restaurants, including ours, the Opium restaurant of asian food.

Hope to see you againa soon!

Kindest regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel just as the Olympic Games ended.
We stayed in room 301. Which was a twin. It was spacious and very clean. We had a balcony which over looked the Main Street and the beach was 100m away. No problem with noise
Breakfast was very good. Lots of choices both hot and cold.
Staff were very polite and helpful.
Very good value too.
Thoroughly recommend a stay here and a visit to Rio
Ipanema and Copocabana beaches within walking distances of each other
The sights are also within easy reach of each other. Taxis are reasonably priced too.
We felt safe in the areas we visited.
Use common sense. Don't flash the cash or jewellery. Keep to well populated areas etc etc...
Well worth a visit

Room Tip: Level 3 was good for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iplaza, Gerente at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all, thanks for your valuable review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Olympics and for recognizing our staff and the dedication to service they provide to the guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Team Ipanema Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
348 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,495 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema
#92 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#8 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
376 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,198 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#75 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $105 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Plaza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing